We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great beach holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pestana Inhaca Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Inhaca Island
johannesburg
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a great beach holiday”
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We spent 4 nights at the hotel in mid-December. The rooms are quite comfortable but would not rate the hotel as 4 star, rather 3 star. Food is okay, nothing to rave about. The beach is not one for swimming in, with lots of local fishing boats. The tide is out most of the day, so no chance of swimming there. The short trip to the Portuguese Island was the only real "beach" experience but the day we went we shared the island with 400 people from one of the cruise ships that visit the island. They have a kiddies room with loads of nice new toys which was great as we were travelling with two young boys. Is right next to the local village. We had dinner at Lucas restuarant but very expensive for what we got but food much nicer than at hotel, so price vs quality. 3 nights is sufficient. There is only 1 flight each day from Maputo to Inhaca. The flight leaves Maputo at 15:45 and then departs from Inhaca at around 16:30. Due to bad weather, the flight from Inhaca to Maputo was delayed and we missed our connecting flight to Johannesburg and had to spend the night in Maputo. It was a nice break but would not rush back there in a hurry.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cherylbowes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    35
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
25
34
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Positive:
- Nature location and the hotel staff very kind.
- Rooms are rustic but ok.
- Portuguese island where you can go free by boat, and find a transparent water.

Negative:
- The salt water pool is very dirty.
- The buffet is weak and you must pay expensive for drinks (even water).
- No animation at all. More than 3 days is boring.
- The beach near resort, are dirty.
- The basics restaurant outside the resort are weak.

  • Liked — Bed
  • Disliked — Rustic
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank J0ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2008

We are purchasing some beach property near Inhaca island in Mozambique and needed to saty here prior to taking a small boat to our property. We spent one night there, The rooms are of above average quality -- large with a decent bathroom. The bed in comfortable. The food is a buffet at night and we found the food of average quality -- good but nothing special. The rates include 3 meals. The breakfast was similarly of average quality. The location is just outside Inhaca village so it feels less like a beach resort than advertised. The beach in front is not good for swimming -- if you want to do water sports you need to boat to areas on the island. Some of the adjacent beaches are very nice and afford goood snorkeling, diving and fishing. The staff are very accomodating. The first price quoted seemed a bit high so I kept pressing for a discount and received about 10% off. It's good value at that. The easiest way to get there is to take the 10 minute flight from maputo Airport. The RT flight was 2000 meticals each (about $70).

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2008

Very good rooms, wonderful beach, good food and nice staff.
If you go to Maputo, take 2 days and dive in to the Indian Ocean...
It´s near, nice and friendly.
For tours you should call Edson !!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Criscv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2008

Overall I was disappointed. I was not expecting great luxury, but had been told the food was good - it wasn't. One of the attractions of Mozambique is great sea food - each night we had a buffet and it was mediocre, with poorly done food, poorly presented and overcooked fish - the prawns ran out.

There was a constant kitchen smell in the dining and lounge areas.

The pool is great except they overdo the salt !

I found the staff unenthusiastic about doing any of the activities on offer if the weather wasn't clear, calm sunshine (which it wasn't for the 2 days we were there). I would have been happy to windsurf/ canoe in a drizzle; or snorkel in less than perfect visibility, have a fish etc, but they were not interested.

Positives: friendly hotel staff, rooms not too bad, comfortable beds, good cocktails. The flight over was fun and the ferry back (2hrs) was relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camelthief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Inhaca Island hotels

Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

Booked the hotel through Pestana homepage. As it was not clear about the transfer facilities form Maputo, wrote the email to them and never got the reply.
Hotel itself is for sure the best on the island, but nothing special indeed. Not more than 3 stars, although they claim 4.
Spacious AC rooms, however no great views trough the window: just either another rooms or distant fence.
Swimming pool is OK, although it is worth the short motorboat trip to the Portugiese island to enjoy the beach, as the beach at the hotel side is not as nice and sometimes quite busy with fishermen boats.
Food is also OK, but do not expect too much. However, the best Prego Nao Pao (beef in bread) in Mozambique.
All in all: OK hotel to spend the week-end, but nothing more.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

First, let me say that I wrote the hotel a letter of praise and complaint and they have been very nice and offered me a repeat stay over the next year and if I can find the time, I will definitely go again.

We arrived on Inhaca by air and were picked up at the airport and immediately felt the positive spirit of the island when the local children chased us down the road racing the open pickup not begging just running for the fun of it.

The facilities of the hotel, both public and our room were all in very good shape, not overly-polished five star but very nice four star. OK, the fan in our room (there was air conditioning/heating too) was noisy but not so much so that we complained to have it fixed.

The first thing we did was swim in the ocean, the beach was lovely, water was very nice perhaps a bit cool but it's winter in the southern hemisphere in June. Next we went to check out the water sports which is why we were there, after all. Unfortunately the Hobie cats and windsurfers had not yet arrived so we scheduled some scuba dives and snorklling for the next few days.

Dinner that night was superb. Lots of Queen prawns, enough so that my wife and I had to struggle to finish all of them (and we are big hearty eaters). In addition there was a buffet with salads, samosas and a stir-fry.

Breakfast the next morning was also buffet with a full-english breakfast, cerials, fruit salad etc. Good stuff and lots of it.

Unfortunately there are very substantial tides at Inhaca and the boats can only go out at high tide so there was only diving in the afternoon while we were there. We decided to sit by the pool and watched the fisherman unload their boats. It was lovely seeing the people from the village help unload the boats (they could walk right out to them as the sand dried).

The pool is very large and relatively deep. It is salt water but there are showers when you get out so you don't dry out with salt on you when you sunbathe. Strangely the pool is cooler than the sea.

When we got to snorkle, we found visibility was not all that good. There were some very nice fish, rays, etc.

The staff were all very nice.

Minuses?

The entertainer at dinner was extremely annoying, we think he had one album by Satchmo and he tried to imitate it using a keyboard, trumpet and scratchy voice.

Diving is much more expensive than we are used to paying in South Africa. Because of the tides you are limited to one dive a day most days. Also because of the tides the visibility can be limited as it churns up the silt.

Dinner can be hit or miss. There is not a wide variety to choose from and mostly buffet style. As breakfast and dinner are included, you might choose to eat lunch in the village. We found Lukas Place to be lovely when it doesn't rain.

  • Liked — Lovely, relaxed enjoyable place
  • Disliked — the awful entertainment
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ibkazin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhaca Island
1.8 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 23 in Maputo
459 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.1 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 23 in Maputo
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
Catembe Gallery Hotel
Catembe Gallery Hotel
#1 of 1 in Catembe
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Inhaca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Inhaca Lodge

Property: Pestana Inhaca Lodge
Address: Ilha de Inhaca | Mozambique, Inhaca Island 07000, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Inhaca Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Inhaca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Inhaca Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach front, amongst coconut palm groves and luxuriant tropical vegetation, Pestana Inhaca Lodge is famous for its wonderful gardens, food and its warm hospitality. The island is a secure and quiet location that is a port of call for yachts, sailing boats and cruise ships seeking out a tropical option in the turquoise and crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Inhaca Island has been protected since 1976 and still boasts huge areas of untouched vegetation and expanses of velvety water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Inhaca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Inhaca Hotel Inhaca Island
Pestana Inhaca Island Hotel
Inhaca Hotel
Pestana Inhaca Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing