We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pestana Inhaca Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Inhaca Island
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Christmas break”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We travelled to Inhaca as we were visiting our son who was working in nearby Maputo. We would probably not have chosen it otherwise, but it was convenient. It was as described by our travel agent, Imagine Africa, UK and met our needs.

However - although it was clean, tidy, and did what it said - there was something lacking, which as a family we could not quite identify. The accomodation, although clean and fair quality was dark and of basic design. It reminded us of some of the hotels we have stayed in in Cuba - sound but lacking interest and modern style. Staff were fine, food adequate but not exciting.
Trips as advertised, to diving etc were very expensive. The daily free speed boat to Portguesa Isla is good fun and takes you to white sand and clear sea. The beach by the hotel is a local port - however this is great for people watching - especially from the little bar just up the beach - good value food/ drinks here - also at Lucas Restaurant in village just outside the hotel. The flight we took both ways is very exciting - it was a 4 seater Cessna on the way back - what an experience!!

I could see that you might be disappointed if you had chosen this specifically, but we had a lovely relaxing 5 days and a fun Christmas on the beach so it did us fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madwife007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    35
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
25
34
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape town, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I tried to book the hotel during the festive season for a romantic getaway and luckily could not get a place to stay. We took a day trip from Maputo to the Island and was dissapointed on arrival. We were stopped at the main gate from entering the property by the gate keeper as, in his words, "we are full" ( keeping in mind we went there for lunch ). From what we saw on the internet, the property was definately not what was advertised. The grass needed serious attention, the pool was dirty and heavily chlorinated. The service at the pool side was poor, the staff we dealt with did not understand English which made communication difficult. There was also no manager is sight to speak to and service in general was dismal. I cannot comment on anything that the rooms had to offer, but first impressions last and I am not sure i would want to visit this hotel. Hopefully there is more to this place that what meets the eye, but our entire party was dissapointed with what we saw.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diekudus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is one of those hotels that make you blow hot and cold over it. By world standards, it's rather expensive for what you get but, by Mozambican standards, it's actually a decent deal. On the plus side, there's the proximity to Maputo, the overall cleanliness, the decent breakfast and dinner buffets included in the price, as well as the free snorkeling and trips to Portuguese Island. There is also, let's not forget, Inhaca itself, a very nice place to spend a relaxing vacation (with the added bonus of very few tourists, even during the week before Christmas). On the minus side, there's nothing particularly bad but, at the price you pay for the room ($360 / night for 2 adults and a child), you'd think you would get, oh I don't know, something more than just basic, clean rooms. I guess, what weird with the place is that it feels like a place for families (i.e. no frills) but it's expensive and there's nothing really for kids to do. Again, though, you have to compare the place with what is on offer elsewhere in Mozambique and [gasp] South Africa, where you pay a fortune to be treated like a mild source of annoyance. Overall, then, as long as you don't expect fireworks, the Pestana Inhaca is recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KZGKyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We went on honeymoon, and the presentation offered, was not at all what was experienced. The staff was friendly and doing their best with limited resources. The main lodge is facing the beach, but no rooms have a sea view. Our room was dark and depressing, even if you switched on the light, during the day, it remained dark. The room overlooked a very basic and undernourished garden. Bed was hard and worn through. The bar lunch menu and drinks are VERY expensive. The meals were very basic, and no fresh seafood was offered, as was expected. There was no entertainment at all - no live music ever. The snorkelling was offered without any information or basic training for the inexperienced swimmers, and the guide did not even accompany us on the boat. Overall a disappointing experience, especially for a honeymoon. We left after 2 days.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monica155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Inhaca Island hotels

leicester, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Flight from Maputo was amazing in a 5 seat Cessna! Room was big and confortable, drinks are quite expensive. A great place to get away from it all for a few days but not much longer I would say - location is great and there's lots going on to entertain you on the beach.

The most amazing thing is the musical entertainment with tea, that guy is a musical genius on the piano, trumpet and harmonica!

Just one point to note. We flew on from Maputo to Cape Town but got to airport only to find flight cancelled and we were marooned for the day/night in Maputo - this was awful! Check your flight before leaving the island and make sure you wrap your bag at the airport - they have some light fingered employees who stole from half of our cases at Maputo departures

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Propidol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The hotel is well located, facing inhaca beach with a large swimming pool in the front.
Rooms are very big and louxurious.
Food quality and variety is average. By dinner time you get live music. It was also included in the room fee one trip to a small island nearby "Ilha dos Portugueses", which is a tiny paradise.

Hotel has a variety of organized tours around the island, which are also very expensive.

Overall I think is a nice hotel but very expensive for the quality you get.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pretoria
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Getting there is an adventure whatever choice you make - local ferry (cheap), private ferry (US$100) or flight (our choise at US$120, with scheduled departures in a small 8-seater plane - an experience in itself). Ferry trips are about 2 hours and stop right at the lodge and flight is 15 minutes and you are picked up by the lodge manager, Janet. After a weekend here you'll feel asif you've had a full week's break. The hotel is about a 3 star, made up for by very friendly service and snorkelling at nearby Portuguese Island included in the package. The speed boat trip is fun, and you can swim, sunbathe, walk or just do nothing (as we did!). There is no real 'beach' to swim at outside the hotel since its more of a port for local fishing vessels but the hotel organised a trip to Santa Maria - those fancy Seychelles pictures you see and wish you were there? That's Santa Maria, just about a half hour fun drive away from Pestana Lodge. In 24 hours we managed a speedboat trip, sunbathing, reading, snorkelling, poolside cocktails and more reading, a movie (TV with satellite in rooms) and beach walking at Santa Maria. Absolute bliss. The only downside is that the food at the Pestana is mediocre - the braai (barbecued) fish was overcooked and lunches were nothing to write home about - a pity because there's so much fresh seafood available. If this was improved it would get a much better rating from me. The little town (a restuarant or 2 and a small market) is right outside the Pestana and rumour has it that the restuarant has great seafood, but we didnt have time to try it out.

Room Tip: Room choices are closer to the beach, or away from the beach, but none have direct beach access nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinePretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhaca Island
1.8 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 23 in Maputo
459 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.1 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 23 in Maputo
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
Catembe Gallery Hotel
Catembe Gallery Hotel
#1 of 1 in Catembe
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Inhaca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Inhaca Lodge

Property: Pestana Inhaca Lodge
Address: Ilha de Inhaca | Mozambique, Inhaca Island 07000, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Inhaca Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Inhaca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Inhaca Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beach front, amongst coconut palm groves and luxuriant tropical vegetation, Pestana Inhaca Lodge is famous for its wonderful gardens, food and its warm hospitality. The island is a secure and quiet location that is a port of call for yachts, sailing boats and cruise ships seeking out a tropical option in the turquoise and crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Inhaca Island has been protected since 1976 and still boasts huge areas of untouched vegetation and expanses of velvety water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Inhaca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Inhaca Hotel Inhaca Island
Pestana Inhaca Island Hotel
Inhaca Hotel
Pestana Inhaca Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing