We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$10 a night?”
Review of Mayoka Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nkhata Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayoka Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nkhata Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

At this price the place is good value for money (especially when compared with lodges and hotels elsewhere along the Lakeshore) even with shared bathroom facilities. For $20 you can get a room with an ensuite too. However be prepared for a menu that is bland and unexciting despite lots of words like delicious, lovely, best and so on written on to the list of food available, dogs roaming the dining/drinking area (occasionally, if you are lax, stealing your food off your plate), a drunken owner boring everyone except himself to death, not very friendly staff and a cliff edge location that should you not be young at heart you could do yourself an injury! As a backpacker the place it is fine (not great, just OK) but for anything else, and if you can afford it, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oncebitten2xshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 238 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

After a 10 hour local bus trip arriving at Mayoka Village was a welcome surprise. It was the traditional Friday night barbecue buffet that locals and travellers all come for. The setting is beautiful. All the rooms are set into the cliff overlooking the clear blue waters of the bay. The rooms are spotless, with mosquito nets and some ensuite rooms. The food is great and everynight there is a differant special. There is a large common area for relaxing, a floating dock to swim out to, free snorkels and masks and a once a week free afternoon cliff jumping,beach games and fish eagle exursion. We thought we would stay 3 days and ended up staying for a week! We also took advantage of an overnight boat trip and camping to a local village with David. Worth the effort.

Room Tip: Rooms farther away from the main area are quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had been recomended this place and we were not disappointed. it was the best of both worlds, malawi friendliness with a bit of western efficiancy and organisation. a guy was at the bus dropoff to take us to the village. our hut looked out over crystal clear water and was away from the racous bar/restaurant area. the shared dinners were spectacular. hot showers, free snorkaling gear, awesome staff. two small negatives- the food although amazing took ages to come out and we wanted to go for a walk and were given a map but got so lost! loved it tho

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZtripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Mayoka is one of my favourite accommodations over my entire African travels. It has everything you could need. Hot showers with good pressure, clean, easy campsites that are close to everything, well maintained compost toilets, full bar, great kitchen, dinner buffets that are reasonably priced, great staff, a quick walk into town, lots of places to chill out, canoes, a dock. The lake is incredible, we were there in the colder months and it was still comfortable to swim in. Close to Monkey Business where you can go kayaking. Mayoka does boat cruises, cliff jumping, chill on the beach with some locals. We ended up extending our time at Mayoka as we were having a great time, lots of great people travel through here and we met some awesome travel companions. There are also some amazing wood markets farther up the road where we did some small item shopping. Malawians are so friendly and even in the markets are not pushy. It was a fantastic experience.
We camped, but from what we could see, the privates and dorms are all well kept, clean, and reasonably priced. Definitely worth every penny. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelmfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed here in May. The staff is super friendly but the owner was drinking/drunk the entire time I was there - falling over railings, stumbling around - really sad. It got pretty loud one night & I can only imagine how loud & out of hand things get when it's not low season, as it was when I was there.

Aside from that, the place is AMAZING. I went swimming about 4 times a day. They have free tea and biscuits in the afternoon, they have great food, and the place is built into a very steep hill that lends itself to the buildings/lodges feeling very private.

If you're up for a party, go for it. If you want some peaceful times, get a chalet far from the restaurant - or stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: If you're up for a party, go for it. If you want some peaceful times, get a chalet far from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had a brilliant stay here for 3 nights after travelling around Malawi. Place is stunning and built into a cliff so plenty of stairs but the atmosphere is so nice you don't really mind! Stayed in the mixed dorm which was very spacious, clean and good value although it could be a little noisy at night with the bar downstairs! Showers were huge and had hot water! One problem we had was with one staff in particular at the bar who was very rude and at one point refused to bring our food to us we had to go get it ourselves which was odd and not very professional but apart from that great staff!

Advice: Kitchen is slow but thats typically Malawi style so expect a good 1 hour to 2 hour wait for your foor, maybe even order before and come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Avoid it. Terrible!!
1)In their welcome book is written that the Malaria risk is really high. So why the mosquito nets are full of holes?
2)The owner and the staff(!) are drunk at 2pm. They were pissing all around the camp, shouting, disturbing clients, unacceptable.
3)It's full of end year americans that the only one thing they want to do is drinking drinking drinking, and shouting till 4 am.
4)Room manteinance is terrible. lightlamps are missing and not replaced. Door locker is almost broken.
5)my bungalow was next to the toilets. The smoke create by the fire used to heat up the water is IN YOUR ROOM from 4 pm to 8 pm

I arrived late and it was impossible to change the accomodation.
See the photos I attached to trust what I'm telling you!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank marcoferra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nkhata Bay
21.6 mi away
Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel
Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mzuzu
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Njaya Lodge
Njaya Lodge
#2 of 2 in Nkhata Bay
68 reviews
22.8 mi away
Makuzi Beach Lodge
Makuzi Beach Lodge
#2 of 5 in Chintheche
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayoka Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayoka Village

Address: Chikale Beach Road, Nkhata Bay, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Northern Region > Nkhata Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nkhata Bay
Price Range: $2 - $6 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayoka village is an intimate travelers lodge offering individual chalets dotted on a green hillside right on the waters edge. We have camping and dormitories for the budget traveler and lovely en-suite cottages for the mid range market. We have a spacious, friendly and comfortable restaurant and bar area perfect for socializing and relaxing. We grow all our own food in our organic garden and cook excellent food fresh for each order. We offer free snorkeling, canoes, boat trips, wifi and tea and biscuits at 4pm. We collect guests from the bus station and ferries for free Nd love to upgrade people if there is space. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mayoka Village Hotel Nkhata Bay
Mayoka Village Nkhata Bay
Mayoka Village Malawi/Nkhata Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing