We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Relaxing!”
Review of Mayoka Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nkhata Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayoka Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nkhata Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had a brilliant stay here for 3 nights after travelling around Malawi. Place is stunning and built into a cliff so plenty of stairs but the atmosphere is so nice you don't really mind! Stayed in the mixed dorm which was very spacious, clean and good value although it could be a little noisy at night with the bar downstairs! Showers were huge and had hot water! One problem we had was with one staff in particular at the bar who was very rude and at one point refused to bring our food to us we had to go get it ourselves which was odd and not very professional but apart from that great staff!

Advice: Kitchen is slow but thats typically Malawi style so expect a good 1 hour to 2 hour wait for your foor, maybe even order before and come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Avoid it. Terrible!!
1)In their welcome book is written that the Malaria risk is really high. So why the mosquito nets are full of holes?
2)The owner and the staff(!) are drunk at 2pm. They were pissing all around the camp, shouting, disturbing clients, unacceptable.
3)It's full of end year americans that the only one thing they want to do is drinking drinking drinking, and shouting till 4 am.
4)Room manteinance is terrible. lightlamps are missing and not replaced. Door locker is almost broken.
5)my bungalow was next to the toilets. The smoke create by the fire used to heat up the water is IN YOUR ROOM from 4 pm to 8 pm

I arrived late and it was impossible to change the accomodation.
See the photos I attached to trust what I'm telling you!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank marcoferra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Mayoka Village is a wonderful place and you’ll easily meet new friends there, but sadly it’s ruined by the locals who overrun it. These ‘beach boys’ infect the communal area’s and bar during the warm evenings, selling themselves and their postcards, craft stalls, etc.. Girls are repeatedly and rudely hit upon and it's hard to discourage them, it’s such a shame as it spoils the atmosphere.
The rooms are of decent standard but you can find cheaper elsewhere and visit Mayoka for the day, when you can sometimes enjoy a local-free afternoon drink.

The manager Gary is a alcoholic nut-case. I was planning to work there but refused to after a drunken night of him attacking my personality and convincing his staff of many absurdly fabricated lies, after he seemed such a gentle loving caring Christian!
AVOID

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ExplorerDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Mayoka village was one of the most fun places we went to on our travels. On arrival on the Friday night we walked straight into the bar without a reservation and were given a warm welcome and a drink by the owner Gary.

We first stayed in a dorm room which was a decent spacious dorm, but then moved to a chalet by the lake with beautiful views and sun decks below. The chalets are comfortable and good value for money.

Every day at Mayoka there is something to do. There are regular tours (free 1 day of the week) to see the sea-eagles/cliff jumping/beach football. You can use the canoes and rowing boat for free and you get a free night if you and another manage to stay upright in one of the local boats - it's harder than it looks!

There were different nights on when I was there, pizza night, barbeque night, curry night and a few others. All the food was nice or very nice. Sometimes it was a bit slow coming, but it really didn't matter in a chill out place like Mayoka when you were waiting in those surroundings.

It could get a bit drunken at night, but was definitely good fun and not a place you feel inhibited. Aside from Gary and Katherine, the staff are also all friendly and have personality.

Some small annoyances there are you will get a few people trying to sell you their carvings and other organic matter and also a few will try to get free drinks from you and the owner. However, these are small annoyances. The wi-fi is also poor, but it is terrible everywhere in Nkhata Bay and there is no way round this.

Aside from the music and pool competitions, there is also regular entertainment from singers etc with legendary songs such as "how big is the lake, oh the lake is so big"!

When I return to Malawi, I will definitely make sure Mayoka is on my list of places to come!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmazingSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Mayoka Village is right on the lake and has a magnificent view! The bandas were really nice, with a decent bathroom and toilet and good beds. You get a water boiler in your room with free tea and coffee, but breakfast is not included. For 20 USD per night it is perfect! Unfortunally we had a tree blocking our view, but it must have been amazing from the other bandas. If you want to camp, you can only bring a small tent, because the areas are so small and it is really steep. The toilets and showers looked clean and decent.
You walk right into the lake and can borrow snorkelling equiment from the reception. It is worth taking a swim or dive, there is a lot to see!

The service in the cafe was not that good, arrogant staff, it took really long and the owner was drunk all the time. The food was nice, but they had no fish, although it was on the menu. It helps to order your food in advance or eat the dish of the day. Breakfast was nice, but a lot was not available and they forgot half our order.

It is really worth staying there, but don't expect a good service in the cafe.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

There was a mess up with our rooms when we arrived after 2 days of travelling and unpacking into a beautiful water front chalet we were told we had to move! I was really annoyed but it was an honest mistake they were very apologetic and gave us an ensuite stone chalet for the same price. It still had an amazing view, I think the beauty of this place is the location, built into the side of the hill that juts out into the lake it is really unique. Lots of little deck areas that you can swim from and boats you can borrow. Food was good, pricey compared to what you can get in town but the restaurant bar area is very sociable and this place has a great crowd. It loses a star as was a little pricey and is a bit of a hike from other places to eat/drink but we are perfectionists!

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bethan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

What an incredible place. My boyfriend and I travelled around Africa back in 2009 for 6 months. We booked in a 5 night stay at Mayoka Village and ended up staying 3 weeks.

Everything about this place makes you want to stay. We stayed in two different cottages in our 3 weeks there both with shared bathrooms. The rooms are spacious and the decks are great. A lovely place to sit, have a sundowner and watch the beautiful sunsets. The bathrooms are very clean and if timed right you can have a great hot shower! The food was great! The food specials were awesome! Our favourite night was definitely pizza night. Now the best part: The staff are incredible. After 3 weeks we really felt like we had become part of the family. We even booked a trip up to the Nyika Plateau through a man named David who was at the resort often. I am not sure if he is still there and/or still does them but if so definitely worth it!!

Needless to say after extending our stay multiple times we only left because we HAD to. It was very sad to leave and I really hope we can make it back there again. I would highly recommend any one to stay there. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nkhata Bay
21.5 mi away
Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel
Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mzuzu
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Njaya Lodge
Njaya Lodge
#2 of 2 in Nkhata Bay
70 reviews
0 mi away
Usisya Beach Eco-Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Makuzi Beach Lodge
Makuzi Beach Lodge
#1 of 5 in Chintheche
107 reviews
0 mi away
Ngala Beach Lodge
Ngala Beach Lodge
#2 of 8 in Nkhata Bay
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayoka Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayoka Village

Address: Chikale Beach Road, Nkhata Bay, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Northern Region > Nkhata Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nkhata Bay
Price Range: $2 - $6 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayoka village is an intimate travelers lodge offering individual chalets dotted on a green hillside right on the waters edge. We have camping and dormitories for the budget traveler and lovely en-suite cottages for the mid range market. We have a spacious, friendly and comfortable restaurant and bar area perfect for socializing and relaxing. We grow all our own food in our organic garden and cook excellent food fresh for each order. We offer free snorkeling, canoes, boat trips, wifi and tea and biscuits at 4pm. We collect guests from the bus station and ferries for free Nd love to upgrade people if there is space. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mayoka Village Hotel Nkhata Bay
Mayoka Village Nkhata Bay
Mayoka Village Malawi/Nkhata Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing