We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of my Malawi trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nkhata Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zulunkhuni River Lodge
London, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Highlight of my Malawi trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a beautiful place. It was literally paradise. My friends and I stayed there for 5 nights and never felt bored. There are lots of activities to do (the waterfall hike was unreal) but its also an ideal place to just relax, read a book, go swimming in the lake and sunbath. It's 15 km away from the nearest road, which makes it difficult to get there (we kayaked there and took the ferry back which I would recommend) but the seclusion once you get there really adds to beauty of the place. The stargazing was incredible.The staff were super friendly and the owners were very welcoming, and fun to hang out with. Also the food was great! I would recommend this lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jovinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I visited Zulunkhuni after a hectic New Year's in Nkhata Bay and is was the respite I needed. 5 days doing nothing apart from reading, swimming, eating and sleeping. Zulunkhuni is a gem hidden away from many travellers eyes and that makes it more special. I woke one morning to watch the sunrise over lake Malawi, just me and the monkeys.

I want to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

It felt like paradise, and I was only paying $8 a night. It was unheard of. The owners are incredibly welcoming, the food is remarkable and the views over Lake Malawi are unlike anything you've seen. They offer a lot of amazing activities. I especially recommend the River Canyoning. Overall, my experience at Zulunkhuni could not have been better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyDaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nested in a secluded area on the shores of the beautiful Lake Malawi, Zulukhuni is a quiet paradise. The vegetarian restaurant is truly delicious while the staff is friendly and the rooms comfortable! Definitely a place worth going out of your way for! Make sure to plan your trip around getting back; the ferry leaves only on Mondays and Fridays, and is quite an experience in its own right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Beautiful, secluded and so relaxing! Really friendly and hospitable owners, the perfect place to just go and chill out! A bit of an effort to get out there though, we did a 4 day kayak trip to get there with Monkey Business which I highly recommend and then we took a boat back (the boat leaves twice a week).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a jewel of a lodge nestled in the hillside of lake Malawi with stunning views from your chalet.We were a group of 5 pensioners who hired a private water taxi to travel down beautiful Lake Malawi.We were charmed and seduced by the location and British owner Charlie along with his small staff of local residents fed us fabulous vegetarian meals and looked after all our needs including cold beer.If you enjoy swimming and snorkeling the water will always beckon you.We visited a local village where impressive sustainable community projects are in progress due to the influence of Charlie and the maverick British humanitarian,Rose. Even though this is not luxury lodge and traveling there was off the beaten track this unique eco spot was well worth it!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sunqueenMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I volunteered in Ruarwe this summer for 3 weeks staying in a dorm at the beautiful Zulunkhuni lodge. Not only was the setting paradisal, but the owners and workers were extremely welcoming and relaxed and made the experience as enjoyable as it was. The food, especially the veggie burgers were delicious with a variety of options for each meal time at a reasonable price.

Had an amazing time, and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrietFenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nkhata Bay
0.0 mi away
Kaya Mawa
Kaya Mawa
#1 of 1 in Likoma Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Njaya Lodge
Njaya Lodge
#2 of 2 in Nkhata Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngala Beach Lodge
Ngala Beach Lodge
#2 of 7 in Nkhata Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Makuzi Beach Lodge
Makuzi Beach Lodge
#2 of 5 in Chintheche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkukuti Resort & Conference Centre (CBR)
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulunkhuni River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulunkhuni River Lodge

Property: Zulunkhuni River Lodge
Address: T/A Boghoyo | Ruarwe Village, Nkhata Bay, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Northern Region > Nkhata Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Nkhata Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst granite cliffs, indigenous forest and cascading waterfalls, our low price lakeside accommodation is complemented by a fantastic restaurant/bar, and activities on offer include hiking, snorkeling, fishing, cliff jumping and cultural tours of the surrounding communities. Supporting the local economy, we also offer volunteering opportunities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zulunkhuni River Lodge Malawi/Nkhata Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing