We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”
Review of Butterfly Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nkhata Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butterfly Lodge
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I loved staying at Butterfly Lodge. It was a beautiful place and run by the loveliest people in Nkhata Bay.

Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank timburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
3
15
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Daintree
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We weren't sure what to expect from Nkarta Bay as we had heard it was a typical 'party backpacker place' and this is what we wanted to avoid, however we had a great stay here! The value for $$ was one of the best we had found in Malawi, after our bad experience at the overpriced Mushroom farm in livingstonia. We had a camp site right on the crystal clear waters of Lake Malawi and made friends with the staff who we are still in contact with today. Make sure you say hello to Kafumu in the bar who taught us the ball game - which we are still quite addicted too! These boys also helped us find the bus down south and gave us some extremely valuable safety information. We took the kayaks across the bay and had swims with the children in the community. A great place to stay and I would definately recommend. - The only downfall is the bAmerican backpacker guy who took my sarong of the tree right in front of our tent and was wearing it when I woke up in the morning!! A great place. Does some great projects for the community too!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandA2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Butterfly Space has to be the most humbling and spectacular place a backpacker (or indeed anyone else) could visit in Malawi. Josie and AJ (the owners) run an extremely efficient and friendly lodge. There are chalets and other small buildings dotted around the site and because of the lodge's position all of these enjoy fantastic lake views from their balconies.

There tingle of peace and serenity constantly surrounding the lodge, but also a buzz of excitement (re: the volunteering projects)which is constantly being emitted by AJ and Josie. However, if you just want to enjoy the surroundings or relax in the lake there are plenty of peaceful little hidey-holes on the site to creep off to to do your own thing.

I can't wait to go back and take as many people as possible off with me, for sundowners in the bar by the lake, compost toilet fun (non mandatory), and the opportunity to get involved with a lovely but struggling Malawian community.

As close to true Africa as you will get in Nkhata Bay, without the noise of the town!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolTansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Butterfly space felt like a home from home, all the staff there are wonderful and Josie and AJ made us feel so welcome. The rooms are lovely with the most beautiful views of the lake, and the kitchen staff serve some of the best food in the bay!
We spent a month volunteering, which was brilliant as we got to meet some amazing people. There is plenty of opportunity to get involved in the local community, whatever your interests. We definitely miss butterfly and all the people there, it really was like living in paradise.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RandW09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Essentially, Butterfly is backpacker accommodation near Nkhata Bay, Malawi. But it is more than that; it is a collection of interesting chalets on the shore of lake Malawi (from our chalet, you could literally jump into the lake) within walking distance of Nkhata Bay, run very effectively by Josie and Alice. The food is good, the prices are cheap and the company is great. We were a group of four aged travellers (all sixty plus) but never once were we made to feel out of place at what is a young person's lodge.
Butterfly comprises twenty twin chalets and a six bed dorm, two communal areas for dining and chilling out, a bar with a fridge full of Carlsberg Green, a kitchen that turns out excellent dinners and wonderful coffee. Also there is a competent cyber cafe with five laptops and a lounge attached. The chalets all have power and mossie nets and there is a central toilet and shower block (another bio toilet will be complete by now).
Nkhata bay is a 20 minute walk away and buses run from there to Msuzu, 30 miles away.
The famous lake steamer The Ilala calls at NBay twice a week and runs the length of the lake. This a treat not to be missed, you can steam North to Zulunkhuni, stay over and catch it coming back, Josie will arrange this for you. Another must is a beach picnic. Kumbu will take you there in his boat and en route he will call for the fish eagles to come. Wow! that is something. If you fancy snorkelling or scube diving or trying to master the dug-out, these are all available nearby.
Imagine awaking to the sun streaming into your cabin, having a fresh ground Malawi coffee, going for a cool early morning swin in one of the World's top ten lakes, then tucking in to a Full English Breakfast, all before the sun has cleared the palm trees. If that doesn't whet your whistle, you're beyond help!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nkhata Bay
21.6 mi away
Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel
Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mzuzu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Njaya Lodge
Njaya Lodge
#2 of 2 in Nkhata Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
54.1 mi away
Ngala Beach Lodge
Ngala Beach Lodge
#2 of 7 in Nkhata Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Makuzi Beach Lodge
Makuzi Beach Lodge
#2 of 5 in Chintheche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkukuti Resort & Conference Centre (CBR)
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Lodge

Property: Butterfly Lodge
Address: Nkhata Bay, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Northern Region > Nkhata Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Nkhata Bay
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Butterfly Lodge Malawi/Nkhata Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing