We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Thai wonder”
Review of Kaya Papaya

Kaya Papaya
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Nkhata Bay
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Pizza, Thai, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Kaya Papaya is a restaurant, cafe and bar in the heart of Nkhata Bay, Malawi. We offer great food at reasonable prices, ice cold drinks and a warm welcome - we're opposite the football pitch, come and find us!
Reviewed May 3, 2014

After weeks of suffering from the local East African food (there is a reason why you don't find East African restaurants around the world!) I had a couple of delightful thai curry meals in Kaya Papaya.

Other than great food for around 6$ + drinks they also have a speedy wifi and friendly service, I was provided with extra rice or noodles a couple of times for 50c extra.

Thank reeop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian-KayaPapaya, Owner at Kaya Papaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

We're delighted that you enjoyed yourself here and we provided you with a welcome break from food on the road... Come and see us again if you're in Nkhata Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 73 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Amazing food, relaxing setting, nice and clean and very friendly owners and staff.
I thoroughly recommend the red beef curry! The pizzas were good too.
Make sure you dine there at least once while in Nkhata Bay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steph-and-Gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian-KayaPapaya, Owner at Kaya Papaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Wow. High praise indeed - we're really pleased that you loved it so much, and our staff loved the feedback. Glad you enjoyed it so much - please do come and see us again if you're ever in these parts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The pizzas were great and a wonderful break from the nsima. The owner and staff were very friendly. Unfortunately they are closed on Wednesdays though.

Thank Mcgle956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian-KayaPapaya, Owner at Kaya Papaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thanks for the lovely feedback. Sorry about the closing on Wednesdays - having tried opening for seven days we've found it's the most efficient way of making sure everyone gets their much needed time off. Come and see us again some time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I visited here a few times during my stay at Nkhata bay and always felt welcome; whether it was just for a quick drink or a full blown meal. Their pizzas are the best in the bay (beats Mayoka) and the Thai cooking is very good as well. Steve the owner is very friendly and always chatting to the customers which is very nice, as are the bar tenders.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank danbarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian-KayaPapaya, Owner at Kaya Papaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thanks for this, Dan - we're really glad you enjoyed yourself in the Bay and that we were part of that. You're very welcome here any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Have eaten at Kaya Papaya many times now since I arrived in Nkhata Bay and I completely agree with the comments below. The food is of a high quality and is reasonably priced. You can expect a very warm welcome from the owners and they have a diverse menu which can cater for any needs. The Saturday special of 3 courses for MK2500 is delightful plus their curries and pizza's, all of which I've had and would certainly recommend. The ambiance and atmosphere is always friendly and comfortable and it would be a great place for any couple. They also serve reasonably priced drinks including imported beers and wines which makes a refreshing change from a 'green', plus cocktails!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RichardMoore_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian-KayaPapaya, Owner at Kaya Papaya, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you Richard - we're really pleased that you're enjoying your time in Nkhata Bay and that Kaya Papaya is part of that. Thanks for the great feedback - we're very happy that our plan for KP to be a friendly, warm and comfortable place to eat and drink seems to be working!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaya Papaya also viewed

Nkhata Bay, Northern Region

Been to Kaya Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing