We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Curry.. and Pizza!”
Review of Kaya Papaya

Kaya Papaya
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Nkhata Bay
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Pizza, Thai, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Kaya Papaya is a restaurant, cafe and bar in the heart of Nkhata Bay, Malawi. We offer great food at reasonable prices, ice cold drinks and a warm welcome - we're opposite the football pitch, come and find us!
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Kaya Papaya is without any doubt the nicest restaurant in Nkhata Bay. The owners are exceptionally friendly and the curry is absolutely delicious! Also going on a friday night is great for the pizza offer, up there with the best pizza's I have ever had. Plentiful in size and very cheap! They regularly have Peroni beer at the bar as well, a offering a welcome break from Carlesberg, which is the only thing offered anywhere else.

1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian-KayaPapaya, Owner at Kaya Papaya, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thanks Scott - we're really glad you're enjoying the food. And the Peroni! Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 76 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

Friendly bar in the middle of Nkhata Bay town, There was a cool breeze on the first floor seating area. Stairs are steep!

Thank Agalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Loved the thai night (I think it's a Saturday night?) and the friendly service. Surprisingly good thai food. It was 3 courses for maybe just 2500 and it was quite large portions too.

Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great spot to take in life in Nkhata Bay. Good value food and nice staff. Lovely Chicken Satay. Best is the best!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mammamammon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian-KayaPapaya, Owner at Kaya Papaya, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Thanks for the nice review - we also think Best is the best! Hope you make it back to the Bay to see us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Ordered the red curry(!) with beef and it tasted like a can of beef soup with some curry paste and a hint of coconut milk. Far from any resemblance to actual Thai food.

Thank Andreas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian-KayaPapaya, Owner at Kaya Papaya, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

We're sorry you didn't enjoy our food - most of our customers love the red beef curry and the locals return regularly to eat it. We have trained in Thailand and are fully aware that Thai recipes in a Malawian kitchen present challenges. Despite these difficulties we think we're delivering pretty good Thai flavours at good value for money. If you do come back to the Bay we hope you will try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaya Papaya also viewed

Nkhata Bay, Northern Region

Been to Kaya Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing