We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaya Papaya

Kaya Papaya
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Nkhata Bay
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Kaya Papaya is a restaurant, cafe and bar in the heart of Nkhata Bay, Malawi. We offer great food at reasonable prices, ice cold drinks and a warm welcome - we're opposite the football pitch, come and find us!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

i visited this place almost daily during my Nkhata Bay stay. one word. yum.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank freetoeknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juba, South Sudan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Football pitch or Prison hmm! good choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

The food was okay the views of the prison not so good or a dusty football pitch.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tokolosheman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

As we entered the restaurant the barman spotted my David Bowie T-Shirt and immediately put D.B. on the in house stereo system. We ordered some Bloody Mary's and they were just great! After that we had a selection of dishes from the menu, a Thai Curry, a vegetarian dish, a pizza and some spicy potato wedges. Everything was fresh and delicious.
We went back for lunch the following day and were equally impressed by everything we ate then. Highly recommended.
There is a lovely upstairs balcony and if you are lucky you may get a visit from the Kaya Papaya cat or dog, both of whom are extremely well behaved and sociable.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkJeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“Good grub and lovely atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Loved this place...owners are wicked and the food was amazing if you like thai, curry, pizza...and a good few drinks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicNacsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

I just got back from Malawi. Whilst I was there I went to Kaya Papaya for dinner. Its a great restaurant which I would highly recommend. Many of the foods on the menu have been bought from all over the country (you cant find most of the ingredients up north). The prices are really reasonable the there is a great atmosphere. There is a good vibe and if you are in Nkhata Bay its def worth going. They also do great fruit juices!!

Helpful?
Thank LondonRachelN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaya Papaya also viewed

Nkhata Bay, Northern Region

Been to Kaya Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing