We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely be back!”
Review of Ngala Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nkhata Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngala Beach Lodge
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Initially booked for two nights stay... after less than one day we decided to extend for an extra night! Sandi and Chris the owners of this lodge are impeccable hosts and made our stay very much a 'home from home'. The location is perfect with amazing scenery and wildlife. The lodge itself if very tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. This is a lodge you wont visit once...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 93 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent one week at Ngala Beach Lodge over christmas. It was a wonderful relaxing holiday. Sandi and Chris are great hosts and the staff are friendly and helpful. The beach is great so its hard to choose between spending time around the pool or under an umbrella on the beach. Take a boat trip in the afternoon to the nearby lagoon and you might find some hippos. Or a boat trip to the local hot springs. All good. Pizza night is memorable. The lounge/ bar area one of the best designs around. Rooms are nicely decorated, beds very comfortable. Chalets closer to beach very good. Would recommend this lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Had a weekend at Ngala Lodge and absolutely loved it. Sandi, Chris and all the staff were very hospitable and very informative about all things Malawi. The meals were delicious and everything so fresh. We stayed at one of the cottages on the water front. Everything was super comfortable and spotless. The perfect place to relax and indulge a little or a lot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Had a week in Malawi at Ngala Lodge, Sandi was so helpful with advice over email about visas things to do in the area, organising transport etc which was really apprieciated.
The week was wonderful with loads of home cooked meals with all the local fresh produce and a really great atmosphere in the shared lounge, bar, dining area, that felt like Id known Sandi and Chris for years and the other couples there. Our rooms were lovely with views of the lake and the beds and bedding was very comfortable. The place was very clean the staff lovely and that includes the 4 dogs and 1 cat that are very well trained. The lake is a nice clean area very private and the atmosphere is easy going and very relaxing. The bar was well stocked as well if a drink is required, Id recommend here to anyone who needs a break from it all

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinkks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The lodge was great with wonderful family rooms, beautiful garden and great reception. Delicious 5 days and as a family with a 14 year old son, was there anything we needed. Includes kevin with an eye for detail!
Pool, beautiful garden, szima, great family room, nice talks, no TV, near the fishing village and the football, the lake, near Dwangwa, where all the sugar comes from, and other beautiful places at your fingertips.
An absolute must, easily accessible and a place to remember. Even the monkeys were stopped by every day in the garden. Still a big FIVE in Dwangwa!

Room Tip: every room is okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgb p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed for one night only travelling up the lakeshore road to Mzuzu and on to Karonga. As others have pointed out this isn't in Nkhata Bay but just north of Dwangwa. Nevertheless it is in a beautiful setting and the rooms in particular, in A frame chalets, are terrific. Huge beds, enormous walk in showers, no TV, very comfortable chairs and all overlooking the gardens and the lake.

Dinner and breakfast were both excellent, prepared and served with care. Lovely staff, all very helpful.

All in all, highly recommended and I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rothesayisexotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I recently visited Ngala Lodge as part of a 3 week long Volunteer Work trip with my school from England and I can't express what a pleasant, beautiful and wholesome place the lodge is! Set on the beaches of Lake Malawi the lodge provides some spectacular views as well as amazing scenery on site. The early morning sunrise is something which everyone has to experience down at the Soggy Kwacha (The Beach). The Lodge Owners Sandi and Chris, as well as the staff, Kev, Prince and Frank provide the lodge as a whole very good, reliable and quick service as well as giving it a great family feel to the place with their communication and friendly nature! The rooms for the boys were outstandingly nice and a king size bed for 3 weeks wasn't too shabby either! I recommend the Ngala Lodge to anyone who visits Malawi, the long trek up from LIlongwe is definitely worth it for the amazing service, rooms,scenery,staff and views from Ngala which itself is full of amazing and beautiful people. 11/10 - I will be going back in a few years time myself, I can't resist!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidH25101995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ngala Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngala Beach Lodge

Address: Main Road | Ngala, 15km north of Dwangwa, Nkhata Bay, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Northern Region > Nkhata Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Nkhata Bay
Price Range: $186 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury accommodation and friendly personal service with stunning views of both the lake and Vipya Mountains. Ngala Lodge is one of the only places on the lake that offers a view of both sunrise and sunset over the water. The spacious accommodation will ensure comfort and privacy.The accommodation comprises: • 2 x Deluxe A-frames with private verandas which overlook the beach and lake and offer guests privacy and comfort and feature a private garden. Each room has en-suite bathroom, sitting area and coffee and tea station. 1 x Deluxe A-frame with 2 bedrooms, lounge area and private veranda. Also overlooking the lake this accommodation offers personal space and privacy. •6 x Executive Rooms with private verandas. All of these rooms feature en-suite bathrooms, sitting areas and coffee and tea stations. They overlook expansive gardens to the infinity pool and lake beyond.Our friendly trained staff will attend to your every need; we at Ngala pride ourselves on providing the highest levels of service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngala Beach Hotel Nkhata Bay
Ngala Beach Lodge Malawi/Nkhata Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing