We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful mountain hide-away with great food and brathtaking landscape.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Namizimu Forest Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mangochi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Namizimu Forest Retreat
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful mountain hide-away with great food and brathtaking landscape.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The lovely couple who run the lodge have created a beautiful mountain hideaway that has a ery warm and homely feel to it. The food is all homecooked and the rooms are beautifully decorated - as is the whole place. Set in the mountains, the views are gorgeous and it's the ideal place to get away for a couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara-Namizimu, Owner at Namizimu Forest Retreat, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments.

I really enjoyed your visit and look forward to having you here again one day for more feasting in the woods! I've been experimenting with that roast chicken recipe and its getting EVEN BETTER!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent 3 days over Easter in this lovely place. The scenery and the amazing views from the hill behind the lodge make it a great place to visit and do some walking. The accommodation is basic. I would have liked more light in the evening and would recommend the use of a strong beamed torch. The only mirror to be found is one by the sink on the khondie. However the outdoor bath by the pool and the secret showers on the rocks are lovely and have solar heated water. We had 3 small children with us and while they loved the pool one does have to be careful they don't fall off the edge!
Tara and Dave were great hosts and the meals were good especially the breakfast granola and pancakes.

Room Tip: With small children the rooms in the main house are more practical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkMarkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Namizimu retreat is an ideal place for all those who need to “recharge their batteries” after a hectic/frustrating week in the city or who just want to get away from it all. Be assured that you will return home in good spirits and with a clear mind even if you just manage to stay there for a couple of nights.

Nestled in the middle of the forest, our en-suite room was clean, equipped with the basics and the bed was covered by a rectangular mosquito net which definitely added to the sleeping comfort. While our solar shower only provided warm water during the day, our hosts Tara and Dave offered us to use the fire-wood heated bath in the main house at night.

One of the main attractions for us was the nearby natural spring which provides a steady and clean supply of water to the lodge. Here you have the rare possibility in Malawi to drink water straight from the tap and feel good about it afterwards.

Tara and Dave make you feel at home instantly with their friendly and uncomplicated behaviour. We also enjoyed their flexible breakfast time which is a big plus for all those who enjoy a lie-in.

Some of the things that could still be improved include placing lights along the pathways at night from the main house dining area to the outlying rooms. This is especially useful during the rainy season when the paths are slippery and one can easily fall. In addition, the lighting in the main house living room could be improved to cater for those guests who would like to read before going to bed. We found it a bit too dark during our stay. Last but not least, the prices of some drinks from the house bar could be reviewed as they are currently a bit steep.

All in all, we had a relaxing and memorable stay and would definitely recommend Namizimu retreat to our family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the very special Namizimu retreat in November 2012 & had the delightful pleasure to meet Tara & Dave. It's hard to describe in words the feeling you get in this place, but I'll try. It is serenity at its best; placed in an absolutely stunning environment. The place is entirely off the grid thanks to Dave's dedication to being self sufficient but saying that, staying there is not hard work as it can be at some of these sorts of places - it is a pleasure. The food was delicious & made fresh on site. The work they are both doing to sustainably support their local village is fabulous and admirable. If you stay, a piece of your heart will always be there. I personally need to get back there there as soon as possible. It's a secret gem hidden in beautiful Malawi.

Room Tip: Just explain to Tara in advance why you are there & she will ensure you are well catered for, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I visited the Namizimu Forest Retreat last summer when I was visiting a friend in Malawi and traveling around the beautiful and unique country. Tara, who runs the Retreat is warm and welcoming (you feel right at home). She grew up in Malawi and is good relations with the local community. In other words she is a FOUNTAIN OF KNOWLEDGE for all of your questions about Malawi and Malawians.

The grounds are incredible...truly breathtaking views of the Lake and surrounding towns and forests. Time seems to slow down when you are here... you can hang out in hammocks, by a fire pit, take a dive in the pool, read a book and enjoy being in surrounded by the sites and sounds of Malawi's flora and fauna.

I really want to go back to the Namizimu Forest Retreat one day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quepuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Namizimu is a great place to get away from everything and everyone for a day or two. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the food is fantastic, the management very laid-back, and the hikes up the hills behind the lodge provide stunning views across Lake Malawi and into Mozambique.

Minor drawbacks: (a) the beautiful natural rock pool that was advertised on the website (and which was one of the main reasons for us to go to Namizimu) hadn't been maintained in a while and thus was full of algae, slippery and not really fit for being used (justification: "it takes a lot of extra water to clean the pool and we can't do this every week" --> that's fine, but then you can't advertise it as a major feat of your location that is available to everyone who goes there). Also, the area around the pool looked a little bit like a construction site (a little cleanup might help).
(b) the solar showers do not hold a lot of warm water (probably enough for one shower, the next person will have it cold), which is fine during the hot season but in colder weather this is something to consider.

All in all a very pleasant experience. Seems like the management just needs some time and experience to iron out the small glitches.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

A unique and stunning place, a place to escape and relax and to be looked after by wonderful hosts Tara and Dave. The views from the rocks at sunset are mind blowing! We can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and comfortably furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mangochi hotels
0.0 mi away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#1 of 18 in Mangochi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mangochi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Makokola Retreat
The Makokola Retreat
#1 of 3 in Mangochi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namizimu Forest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namizimu Forest Retreat

Property: Namizimu Forest Retreat
Address: Mangochi - Chiponde Road | P.O.Box 12, Mangochi, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Mangochi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Mangochi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful and private sanctuary, set in untouched mountain woodland, south-east of Lake Malawi, with stunning panoramic views and a natural environment which hosts many unique plant and animal species. A network of well-maintained paths within our owner managed 16 acre estate gives easy access to incredible picnic locations and scenic walks. Individual needs and requirements can be catered to and group/events bookings are also welcome. We are easily reached from Lilongwe or Blantyre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Namizimu Forest Retreat Malawi/Mangochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing