We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange place, but good value for money”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Mirage Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Mangochi
Restaurant details
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Strange place, but good value for money”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This place feels a bit like Las Vegas in Malawi. It is very big with camels, donkeys, hundreds of rooms and a kind of 'village square'. Although it is right on the beach, there is no access and I wouldn't go there anyway as it is very dirty there. But the kids absolutely loved the play area with the bouncing castles, jungle land, play ground and not least the fantastic kids swimming pool which I have not seen the like in Malawi. I would go again just to let the kids have fun there for a day. The rooms are extremely big and spotless with perfectly functioning aircon and a flat screen tv. Very good value for money although the place in itself is a bit strange.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 851LenaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tete, Mozambique
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

food quality and taste is awesome. Buffet system is good for less wastage of food and having variety.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bits85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
310 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hmm, it was ok”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lunch not so great, they got our order wrong; dinner was tastier but I had to select and reselect from the menu because they didn't have my choice... twice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Just an okay place, but the food can do with more creativity. The food tastes the same every day and every time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sun' n Sand Restuarant”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I definitely enjoyed the sandwiches during the afternoons and the friendly and attentive restaurant staff. However, if your order fresh meals, then you will wait close to eternity. If you really hungry, stick to the buffet!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Habitat-Afrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mirage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing