We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff- lots of issues though”
Review of Nosy Be Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nosy Be Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Nosy Be
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2008

I've just got back from the Nosy Be hotel where we spent our honeymoon.
It's a beautiful hotel with nice rooms, a great pool and despite what the other reviews have said, a pretty great beach.

HOWEVER...

-We reserved a bungalow and instead were given a standard room which the hotel insisted was a bungalow despite not being nearly the same size as the other bungalows there.

-On the second day my mobile phone was stolen from inside my room. It could only have been stolen by the maids but the hotel refused to take any responsibility whatsoever.

-My wife and I both got food poisoning that left us confined to our room for over half the holiday. We only ever ate at the hotel's restaurant.

-The drinks served at the bar seemed very unhyghgenic - there being dirt covering the bottles.

-The restaurant menu is very limited (if you don't like seafood or are unwilling to get food poisoning, you're going to starve... Like we did for three days.
They don't offer any kind of snacks either.

-The electricity was constantly failing... This was not a regional problem as the lights from the other hotels along the beach remained on during these blackouts. Moreover, so was the internet and the Visa machine.

-The drinks were vastly over-priced

-While the bathroom was nice our toilet was disgraceful- the toilet seat was stained with urine.

Despite all these problems, it really is a beautiful hotel and you'll never find a beach that empty anywhere in Europe. If you are planning to stay there, make sure you check out the menu before you go... and bring a few tins of beans with you just in case!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ntmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 167 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2008

My family and I went to the Nosy Be Hotel, and I was very impressed. The food was delicious and the staff was very friendly, they don't understand much english, so comunication was 1 of 2 problems. The other thing is the beach; it can't be called a beach, because there aren't any waves. It is actually just sea that pulls back 1km in the morning and comes back in the afternoon, it isn't very deep and you can walk across to the island that's across on low tide. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, even the food was well prepared and the hotel uses every natural resourse possible, which was inspiring. The excursions was great, my favourite was Nosy Tanikely, an island to go snorkling. Overall the hotel is top class and can compete with most hotels in Mauritius!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CyberTraveller1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We stayed at the Nosy Be Hotel in December and it is truly a beautiful and clean hotel - very quaint with lovely Malagasy staff. However, my bags never made it on the flight to Madagascar so I was bagless for the total duration of my stay in Madagascar. I tried several times to contact the airline, but it was difficult as the owner of the hotel (a French lady) showed absolutely no interest whatsoever in helping me at all. It was only when another French lady showed up on the Wednesday, did things change at the hotel. The new lady helped me to find my bag (and even though we didn't find it, she tried very hard), the beer was suddenly colder, even the owner lady came to ask me how my food was at dinner! I will definitely go back to the hotel again in the future, but for a short stay. The beach is terrible, the owner not too friendly and helpful, but the rest of the staff were wonderful!

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank genetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2007

Beautiful hotel with tropical gardens. Remote from villages accessible by taxi. Food and drinks in hotel very expensive. Restaurant menu little choice.
I travelled with a group and everyone got sick throughout the week. This was most certainly due to a lack of hygiene in the kitchen and especially the bar. The hotel management claimed to be using filtered water for ice cubes and that all used water was safe. I witnessed the lack of hygiene in the bar while staff was fixing cocktails. Very expensive stay which wasn't very enjoyable due to tourista.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WorlddiverBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: tutte, ognuna ha una sua particolarità
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edyTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank invovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elma R, Propriétaire at Nosy Be Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Titouetzaz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosy Be hotels
3.2 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#13 of 32 in Nosy Be
269 reviews
1.6 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#11 of 32 in Nosy Be
219 reviews
7.2 mi away
Le Grand Bleu
Le Grand Bleu
#5 of 32 in Nosy Be
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
#20 of 32 in Nosy Be
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 32 in Nosy Be
461 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel-Residence Au Sable Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nosy Be Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nosy Be Hotel

Address: Bp 209 | Hell Ville, Nosy Be 0207, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nosy Be
#7 Spa Hotel in Nosy Be
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Be
Price Range: $109 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nosy Be Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Nosy Be Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nosy Be Hotel Madagascar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing