We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveler rating
189
133
27
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
189
133
27
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel to stay nice hotel ocean view gardens are beautiful hotel is situated nosy sakatia private balcony the air conditioning hell ville fish pools infinity excursions madagascar island paradise sea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 363 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2019

The property is set is beautifully manicured gardens that slope gently down to the beach which has soft clean sand that leads you into a calm,clear sea.It is perfect for swimming.The food at the restaurant I thought was very good. Everything was freshly prepared and well presented.The breakfast wasn't given the same amount of attention I thought which was a pity because what was available was good.I had lunch a couple of times at the Hotel and I thought that was equally good.Price wise I thought their food was very reasonable.Some guests did complain about the service level in the restaurant but I think that was more of a language problem. if you don't speak french then you will struggle.Some of the staff are more fluent in English than others so you just need to find out which ones then they are really helpful and friendly.

i really liked my Ocean facing room.It was very spacious,quiet and comfortable and once you managed to work the air-conditioning unit with the ceiling fan then it was cool and pleasant.I thought that the bedding which was always clean need a upgrade as it was

The choice of swimming pools was a bonus and these were always clean and fresh.I went on three of the day excursions which I thought were reasonable and included a good lunch.

i had a look at three of the other hotels in the area and thought they weren't has attractive and certainly weren't as friendly.i would go back to Vanila Hotel in the future.

Room tip: i stayed in one of the Rooms with an Ocean View on the top floor at the end of the building.It was quiet and spacious
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeremy310565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helene S, Responsable relations clients at Vanila Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

Dear Jeremy
Thank you for having chosen the Vanila Hotel & Spa for your stay, and taking the time to share your experience. And for these warm compliments that reflect the effort of everyone!
Generally speaking you appreciated much your holidays with us! We are making sure in everyday to offer each guest a personal welcome and attention.
We note your remarks on the imperfections of the breakfast. However our breakfast is an international breakfast all-you-can-eat buffet composed as follows: Fresh local fruit juices, tea, coffee, milk (warm or cold), chocolate, infusions Seasonal fresh local fruits, seasonal fresh local fruits salads Sliced homemade sandwich bread and bread rolls, mini homemade Viennese pastries (croissants, pains au chocolate, pains aux raisins) homemade cakes, sponge cake and Magdalena’s All sorts of homemade jams, honey, butter, nutella, sugar, 2 sorts of cereals Eggs cooked as wished (boiled, omelets, scrambled, fried) Ham, cheese, onions, fresh chives, gerkhins etc..
We understand that all tastes are in nature but we do consider your opinion.
We want constantly to improve improving in order to satisfy the taste buds of our dear guests.
DearJeremy, please keep in mind that it will always be a pleasure to receive you for another stay on the island and we will do our best to get your holidays .. a holy moment..UNGORGETTABLE
Best regards
Helene Stefenel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019

Vanila Hotel is a large resort/hotel/spa and the staff bend over backward to ensure guests are happy, but in some ways its size is its downfall. If you are coming as part of a group, this is one of the few places that will be big enough to accommodate you. There are multiple pools, two restaurants, a large property, and a superb west-facing beach that offers beautiful sunsets and a view of Nosy Sakatia, with shallow, flat water that stretches for a few hundred meters to sea - if you're a swimmer, this is paradise. However, the air conditioning is not up to par in all the rooms, and a number of the rooms are struggling with an ant infestation. The restaurant is almost trying too hard - the food is trying to be fancy but there really isn't any "regular" food that isn't trying to be gourmet; and the prices for the restaurant are pretty high for Madagascar. Service can be a challenge in the restaurant - again due to the facility's size, On the other hand, the downward sloping gardens with lush vegetation and plenty of places to enjoy the sunset, the large, clean (except for the ants) and spacious room are wonderful, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank TAZMPictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helene S, Responsable relations clients at Vanila Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your compliments and taking time to write a detailed review about your stay.
We were quite dismayed when reading your comments regarding food, feeling trapped with ants and staff service
Ants and air conditioning: it seems that a thorough inspection of the 56 rooms premises have been done by you during your stay to find out that the air conditioning didn't work in all the rooms!!!!! What is very surprising is the fact that we didn't have any bad feedback from all our guests at this time!
As far as we are concerned regarding ants, we do our utmost to get rid of them, but when visiting a subtropical country you must be aware that if you leave food (even in their packaging) in your room, they may be delighted to find a grocery shop around.
Food: apparently you had a bad experience with the food; we fully understand that the food did not match your tastes; yet there are 2 restaurants including one with its snack menu opened all day long
We are aware that during the Eastern season some mistakes must have been done but your non-objective point of view or opinion go totally against the majority of the customers, meaning approx 100 people who, according to their appreciation sheets we give at the end of the stay, praise the staff kindness, effort and attention to them. The service of the hotel is one of the strongest point of the hotel, unanimously recognized but everyone has its appreciations
Please know & note that we took note of your comments, justified or unjustified, as we always want to go further with quality and even giving training to our employees if required.
Best Regards
Helene Stefenel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

This hotel exudes charm from the moment you arrive. The staff is friendly, the entire space is full of charm, the views are amazing, the landscape/gardens are beautiful, multiple pools, and the rooms are wonderful. The location is a bonus. Sunset here are memories in the making. When staying here you feel relaxed and truly on vacation. The staff is most helpful and are always happy to assist with whatever need you have. I highly recommend booking a stay at this hotel snd spa.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank yuosefa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanila-Hotel-Spa, Responsable relations clients at Vanila Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Dear guest,
Thanks so much for your beautiful review and thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay!
We are glad to read you had a so perfect experience and a beautiful souvenir of Vanila Hotel & Spa and specially with the staff;
These warm compliments reflect the effort of everyone! We are making sure that every day we offer each guest a personal welcome and attention.
Keep in mind that it will always be a pleasure to receiving both of you for another stay on the island and we will do our best to get your holidays... a holy moment & UNGORGETTABLE one!!!
We wish you a long & lasting & happy new life together & come back anytime! :)
Kind regards

Hélène STEFENEL
Responsable marketing & communication

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019 via mobile

nice hotel. Nice people. Nice food. Unfortunately the garden and the way to the rooms are very dark at night making it difficult and even dangerous for old people to reach their rooms at night. The excursions proposed by the hotel are very expensive if you add the tips to the guides and drivers. But in all it is a very pleasant place to stay and enjoy Nosy be.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank essma2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2018

Pros:
I was here for a few nights and came straight from the Nosy Be Airport. Picking this hotel was very last minute. I am a travel sales specialist and came in with no expectations. The food was fresh every day and they had phenomenal freshly made juices. For dinner I had fresh prawns the size of my hand that costed fairly reasonable. Their infinity pool overlooking the ocean was amazing especially when the sun was setting. Going to the beach and swimming was a little difficult, especially when the tide goes out a few hundred yards. It was extremely relaxing and refreshing to stay while I continued my travels.
Cons:
There are 3 circular infinity pools that are on three levels next to each other. When I was there, they were not open and pretty dirty. Vanila Hotel & Spa also have a restaurant adjacent to the hotel which you need to make reservations early and is a little expensive.
BEDDING!- The bedding for me was okay, not the best but was very clean and quiet from the surrounding visitors.
BE SURE TO BRING SUNSCREEN!!! since they do not have any at the resort.

OVERALL:
It is a great hotel to stay for a few days.

Room tip: Stay around the pool area if you don't like to walk far. Also bring bug spray for night time and sunscreen!!!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank joshn713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanila-Hotel-Spa, Responsable relations clients at Vanila Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2019

Dear Josh
Thank you for your compliments and taking time to write a detailed review about your stay.
We are glad to read you had a so perfect experience and a beautiful souvenir of Vanila Hotel & Spa.
We will be more than happy to receive you again at Vanila Hotel & Spa and next time please do not hesitate to ask at the reception to clean the swimming pool for you because apparantly on all the feedback we had from our guests during this high season, they don't seem to have the same point of vieux as yours. :)
Wishing you and your relatives a 2019 Happy new year!
With thanks
Hélène

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews