We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
78
28
9
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
78
28
9
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel lunch and dinner tree mosquitoes bungalow madagascar island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 124 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

They gave us to eat pizza with mold and never apologized. Unacceptable for a 4 star hotel ! Also the breakfast is full of flies .try to have it really early cause later everything is with flies ! Not good

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Kafou1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavintsaraH, Responsable relations clients at Ravintsara Wellness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2019

Dear guest,

Warm greetings from Ravintsara Wellness Hotel

Thank you very much for taking time to rate our services. We take note about your remarks. When you have been at the hotel with your group as you remember after your complain immediatly we took all the measures. Your comments are very important for us because it help us to know what we can improve.

Thank you

Best regards

Ranto Ranaivo(concierge)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2019 via mobile

The tropical garden is beautiful, nice pool, the rooms are comfy and have air conditioning. Nice view from the restaurant area.

The food is atrocious in both choice and quality, which is a huge problem when you’re staying in a resort, don’t know the area well and depend heavily on their cooking. Breakfast is ok at best, and for lunch and dinner menus do not often specify what you are about to eat (e.g. mysterious menu items such as “Sea Treasure”, or “Trend 2019”, or “African Queen”). If you ask restaurant staff about the ingredients they don’t seem to have a clue, probably because their level of English is questionable (or maybe lack of training, or just interest). If you have any dietary requirements or allergies, you are in big trouble here - avoid at all costs. The food is also poorly cooked and borderline dangerous in my opinion, and for that also ridiculously overpriced.

Customer Service: imagine the super cheerful American style of customer care, then go to the opposite side of the scale... and welcome to Ravintsara!

Aside from a few exceptions staff look sad and miserable as if they would rather not be there. Asking anything seems to be a nuisance for them, and they accommodate your requests as if they were doing you a favour (particularly the male staff at the bar).

The wi fi connectivity isn’t great, after a power cut (happens regularly) everything stops working, including the phones in the rooms. Staff are very slow at resolving this issue, it just doesn’t seem to be a priority for them. Strangely the phone starts working immediately if you go complain at reception, yet it will remain offline for hours if you don’t.

Communication is a big problem if you don’t speak French - they often pretend to understand what you say, which can create some strange misunderstandings... for instance, I was quite ill one night (I can’t say for sure if it was the food or the malaria tablets, but it started a few hours after the first meal I had there) and we went to reception to inform them that the phone in the room wasn’t working. The lady at reception responds by saying that we should call her if we needed anything (!)... missing the point that the phone wasn’t working in the first place. So you often go around in circles like that because of comprehension issues...

In the end we got the feeling that you need to adapt to this place and their way of doing things quickly, or it will be trouble otherwise. And if you see previous reviews, it’s also clear that the food is a serous issue for this place (yet the manager chooses to respond defensively to such reviews, rather than doing something about it).

Overall this place needs a lot of work before it can be considered anywhere near a 4 star resort. It certainly looks past its best, and it could also do with a bit of renovation is some public areas, but addressing the food issue should be a priority.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank a_facchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavintsaraH, Responsable relations clients at Ravintsara Wellness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2019

Warm greetings from the Ravintsara Wellness Hotel.
Thank you very much for taking time to rate our services. We regret that your stay wasn't as you expected, especially regarding the food. Your comments are very important for us, as it helps us to know what you really appreciate and what we can improve. Therefore all measures for each department were taken to insure best services.

Thank you

Best regards

Ranto Ranaivo(concierge)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

We stayed at the Ravintsara for a few nights at the end of our honeymoon in September. The room was spacious and modern, the setting was idyllic and the staff were attentive. The on site massages were also great, as were the day activities we arranged through the hotel - horseback riding on the beach and through the countryside was a particular favorite for us. Unfortunately though, the food was mediocre at best - the main restaurant had a small menu of mostly western and fried food, and the food on it consistently wasn't cooked well at all.

We would definitely recommend the resort as somewhere to stay, but you're probably better off finding most of your meals somewhere else, until the restaurant finds a better chef.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scott8675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavintsaraH, Responsable relations clients at Ravintsara Wellness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2018

Dear guest,

Warm greetings from the Ravintsara Wellness Hotel.
Thank you very much for the time you have spent in leaving your comments. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the menu at the restaurant Ravintsara Wellness Hotel wants to make certain that meals we serve are really fresh. We don't make lot of food's stock and we make a daily suggestion which changes every day.

Thank you

Best regards

Ranto Ranaivo( concierge)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is situated perfectly on the coast with a picturesque backdrop of blue waters and tropical islands. The bungalows are spacious clean tidy and surrounded by pristine gardens giving it at a feel of an eco lodge. Staff are polite and attentive always looking to make sure you’re needs are catered for. Food in the restaurant was fresh and delicious my only comments would be in the evening I felt the bar area needed a little more soul. After travelling from Antananarivo by car we wanted to unwind, relax in luxury and get involved in a couple of mini adventures. All boxes ticked and would definitely recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank richardeA9060DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavintsaraH, Responsable relations clients at Ravintsara Wellness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2018

Dear guest,

Warm greetings from the RavintsaraWellness Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking time to rate our services. We are glad to know that your stay in our property was more than your expectations. Thank you for your recommendation.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back for your next trip in Nosy be.

Thank you,

Best regards

Ranto Ranaivo(concierge)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

This is a great hotel with a 'jungle' setting right on the beach. The food was great, the service was excellent. There is some seafood and great local dishes. The whole hotel looks like it's made out of trees, even the roofing is made out of tree leaves thatching. It's hot and humid here, which makes diving into the pool or the Indian Ocean very enjoyable. The only annoying thing were the mosquitoes. But that's nature.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank baiketlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavintsaraH, Responsable relations clients at Ravintsara Wellness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2018

Dear guest

Thank you very much for the time you have spent in leaving your comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and promise you to give you the best of us to make your stay as much enjoyable as possible.

Hope to see you soon!

Best regards
Ranto Ranaivo(concierge)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews