We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Malagasy”
Review of Chez Mama

Chez Mama
Ranked #21 of 60 Restaurants in Nosy Be
Cuisines: African
Description: Gargotte In Stile Malgascio
Restaurant details
Description: Gargotte In Stile Malgascio
Reviewed October 15, 2014

If you want to know what good Malagasy food is, Chez Mama is a solid place. A bit rustic for some but I'll take it.

Date of visit: October 2014
Thank JohnQ232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 48 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

We enjoyed this little restaurant in the village, delicious local food (shrimps with sauce + rice, fish or zebu), and for 6,000 per person, you can't beat that! Definitely try it!

Date of visit: December 2013
Thank nomadictravelers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The local fisherman recommended this small restaurant to cook our fishes we caught on our fishing trip. At Chez Mama they really made the maximum out of our catch! Thinly sliced carpaccios with pepper, lime and oil as a starter and deliciously grilled fish for the main course. The price for the cooking was very reasonable and the service very attentive and friendly.

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jamesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Chez Mama makes very good food in the most tourist area of the entire Madagascar and still is very very very cheap!
Well done Chez Mama, keep the tradition on!!!

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TimbuktuCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Chez mama has been around for more than a decade. She offers traditional food which is prepared daily and is a very popular eatery for both tourists and residents. It is also one of the cheapest places to eat in Ambatalouka

Date of visit: September 2012
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mama also viewed

Hell-Ville, Nosy Be
Nosy Be, Antsiranana Province
 
Antsiranana (Diego Suarez), Antsiranana Province
 
Nosy Be, Antsiranana Province
Nosy Be, Antsiranana Province
 

Been to Chez Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing