We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local food and best price in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Mama

Chez Mama
Ranked #20 of 44 Restaurants in Nosy Be
Cuisines: French, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: gargotte in stile malgascio
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great local food and best price in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We enjoyed this little restaurant in the village, delicious local food (shrimps with sauce + rice, fish or zebu), and for 6,000 per person, you can't beat that! Definitely try it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nomadictravelers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
609 reviews
508 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Excellent food - fair prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The local fisherman recommended this small restaurant to cook our fishes we caught on our fishing trip. At Chez Mama they really made the maximum out of our catch! Thinly sliced carpaccios with pepper, lime and oil as a starter and deliciously grilled fish for the main course. The price for the cooking was very reasonable and the service very attentive and friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chez Mama SCIPPA I BALATE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Chez Mama makes very good food in the most tourist area of the entire Madagascar and still is very very very cheap!
Well done Chez Mama, keep the tradition on!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zioslayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosy Be, Madagascar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Traditional Malagasy food at a very low price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Chez mama has been around for more than a decade. She offers traditional food which is prepared daily and is a very popular eatery for both tourists and residents. It is also one of the cheapest places to eat in Ambatalouka

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mama also viewed

Ambatoloaka, Nosy Be
Nosy Be, Antsiranana Province
 
Nosy Be, Antsiranana Province
Nosy Be, Antsiranana Province
 
Ambatoloaka, Nosy Be
Nosy Be, Antsiranana Province
 

Been to Chez Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing