We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, fantastic view, colorful garden”
Review of Le Grand Bleu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Grand Bleu
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Nosy Be
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
650 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, fantastic view, colorful garden”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is situated on a hill and offers a scenic view on the sea. The infinity pool is located in such a way that it offers the best possible view.
The garden is maintained very well and is simply very beautiful. The owners Guillaume and Magalie were always very helpful.
Also the food is very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    82
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
129
216
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The new owners Celine and Jacques moved from Nantes only a few months ago, and it is definitely Nosy Be's gain! Lovely people, great welcome and they can't do enough for you! The infinity pool is spectacular, the food is excellent and the place really has an almost family atmosphere.. The "beach walk" to the village is perhaps a misnomer, as it is more a scramble over rocks and wade through mud, but anyway worth the effort! Amidst the dodgy sex tourism of Nosy Be, this is definite and guaranteed exception and really worth a visit!

Room Tip: The basic bungalow is very good value at 30 euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katymailglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We flew to Nosy Be from Tana and arranged to be collected from the airport. The bungalows are simple, rustic and clean with wonderful views across the gardens to the sea. What really makes Grand Blu is Celine and Jacque, nothing is too much trouble and they are always keen to advise and help in any way that they can. Our French isn't very good but with our limited French and their limited English we did ok.

On the days that you’re not out exploring there’s a lovely pool to relax by where you can enjoy the view. Evening meal is delicious, there’s usually a choice of 2 starters, 3 mains, 2 accompaniments and 2 desserts. There’s a good selection of cocktails, wines and beer. There’s a small snack menu, consisting of rolls, omelettes etc for lunch times. I think the only thing I would change would be the breakfast which after a short amount of time becomes a bit monotonous especially if you’re not that keen on bread.

Jacque takes you through the list of trips available and you’re left to make up your own mind as to which ones you want to go on, no pressure is put on you at all. We went to Tanikely where the snorkelling was incredible, a full day with a good lunch included. We also went to Loboke, Olivio our guide was great – we saw Lemurs, chameleons, snakes etc etc and again another good lunch. We also went whale watching which was fantastic, we saw 5 whales, 20+ dolphins, swam with whale sharks and sea turtles – if you only do one trip then this is the one to do, we also had a lovely lunch at Sakatia. We hired a motorbike for 2 days to go off and explore on our own – we even found Petite Cascade, which was an adventure in itself and we took the kayak out for a morning.

There’s also a chance to indulge yourself with a wonderful massage, we had several during our stay and it was the perfect end to the day – you just need to make sure you get your name on the chalk board, it was very busy whilst we were there. Massage is €10, well worth it and as good as any I’ve had in London.

Access to the beach is via a tree lined walk and it takes about 4/5 minutes to get there, the only sad thing is you’re advised to not sit on the beach as there’s a problem in Nosy Be with sand flies, which is a real shame. We explored the beach at low tide as you can walk out pretty far.

Grand Blu is a great base to explore Nosey Be and the surrounding islands.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libran_Lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My girlfriend and me were for a week to Nosy Be and stayed in Le Grand Bleu. We didn't speak French we could communicate with Celine (one of the new owners) in English, she was really helpful during our stay in Nosy Be.
The place was quiet, the food was really good (I love fresh fished cooked directly on the fire!) and people in general was friendly and helpful.
One thing it made us to enjoy even more such a nice place were the excursions, for a couple who don't speak french, having the excursions organized by Celine was perfect, they are not the typicall organized trips with many people, they are trips organized by locals, but you can take those excursions directly from the hotel and don't worry about anything else (also the lunch provided on those excursion was amazing).
So what else you can ask? Excursions to beautiful islands, to see the city, to natural parks, etc etc, and when you come back after the day, you can take a swim in the pool in a relax and warmful environment.
Totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here from the 29 August to 1 September; the first hotel following our 15 hr journey from the UK. We were greeted at the airport by Jim, the hotel's driver. Within minutes of taking to the road, he pulled over to show us Ylang Ylang trees, and spotted a chameleon strolling across the road! On arrival we were met by Celine (hotelier) and a refreshing drink of fresh juice.

Our room was beautifully decorated, the pool clean and inviting. The hotel was a little quiter than we had expected with only 2 other couples appearing to be staying there. The food was lovely, although slightly limited in choice as the three courses available were repeated at lunch and dinner, and there is nowhere else to eat should you not like the options - in fact we tried to reserve a table at nearby Alexander restaurant to be told that they would only accept bookings of parties 6/8 people.

All in all our stay here was lovely; quiet and friendly (Celine and the waitresses, Jack not so much!) although we did feel that the food was overpriced for what it was. During the remaining 2 weeks of our trip we paid a lot, lot less for food, even on Nosy Be.

Certainly worth a visit, bring your wallet!

Room Tip: Our room was on the left of the main stairs, bungalow number 2. Very quiet, very very dark at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinders25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The new owners make this place a wonderful holiday experience and like caring parents they want only the best for you during your stay. The atmosphere, surroundings and views take your breath away each morning and the amount of excursions on offer make it an ideal base. The food is a delightful adventure as the chalk board is written in French and even though we didn't quite know what we were ordering, it only ever tasted divine! The French couple have exciting plans to improve even more on the appearance of the hotel and freshen and modernise, but they will only augment the appeal rather than remove the magic that is created there. Andilana beach ( Nosy Be's best beach) is only short taxi trip away, but we hired bikes from the hotel and cycled there which was a great way to see the way of life in Nosy Be- the people are amazing!
We stayed at Le Grand Bleu with our two teenagers for eight days which is an amount of time we would never normally spend in one place on a holiday, but we wouldn't have wanted any less time there, it was perfect!

Room Tip: Choose a family bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanessa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The only thing that could top the infinity pool, the comfortable bungalows with a dream view from the hammock on the terrace and the sound of the waves to lull you to sleep is the warmth and generosity of the owners for whom nothing is too much trouble. We only ever saw their faces smiling, despite us arriving without a reservation at a really busy time they worked hard to accommodate us! The food is delicious too! We came here for 3 days break from travelling around Madagascar and stayed 6!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosy Be hotels
8.7 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#10 of 32 in Nosy Be
208 reviews
4.2 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#12 of 32 in Nosy Be
262 reviews
8.2 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 32 in Nosy Be
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
#19 of 32 in Nosy Be
82 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel-Residence Au Sable Blanc
10.4 mi away
Manga Soa Lodge
Manga Soa Lodge
#16 of 32 in Nosy Be
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Bleu

Property: Le Grand Bleu
Address: Andilana | BP 407, Nosy Be 207, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Be
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Grand Bleu 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elected N° 2 of all hotels in MADAGASCAR with the Travelers' Choice 2017, Le Grand Bleu ** is the best value. The restaurant "The Turquoise" overlooks the 15 bungalows comfort, family, hikers and villa, which have the panoramic view of the sea; The bungalows hikers with the view on the tropical garden. Each bungalow offers 1 double bed, the family 2 bedrooms with 5 beds; They are ventilated or air conditioned with supp, with mosquito nets, shower hot water, WC and mini bar, mini safe for your safety, terrace with deckchair and hammock, very good comfort, renovated every year, woodwork and a nice decoration. A beautiful infinity pool with a panoramic view over the bay of the peninsula of Andilana awaits you and we can offer you all the excursions to do on the island as well as the archipelago: Nosy Komba, Tanikely, Iranja, Sakatia , Fanihy, Mont Passot, Radama, Mitsio Islands etc. Jacques and Céline also offer various activities: mountain biking, quad biking, kayaking, massage, diving, fishing ... Price of a hiker bungalow: from 30 euros per night for 2 people by booking directly. A restaurant that serves traditional and European cuisine, fish, seafood ... What a pleasant stay and retain many happy memories ... ... The only thing you will regret leaving this little paradise! They succumbed to the charm of this tropical paradise Nosy Be, so ... Why not you? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Le Grand Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Bleu Madagascar/Nosy Be

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing