We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well rested and well worth holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anjiamarango Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Nosy Be
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well rested and well worth holiday”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our trip to Madagascar was a last minute one over the festive period, however the resort selected was just what we needed after 11 months of hard work. The facilities were lovely and the room was amazing. It made you feel as if you were one with nature. The chameleons walked abut freely and the little green lizards have now taken my fear away of lizards. The price my husband paid for the resort was reasonable as well. The resort however much to my disappointment does not have hot water so a cold shower was the choice of the day. This meant a good hair wash would not happen, however we could get our hair braided for €6 which was a great alternative for the hot madagascan heat. The resort is owned by a french family and the son Igor took us on an amazing tour. The food at the resort is not good and on most nights i opted for fried chips. On a whole it was an amazing holiday. Don't forget to play with Tyrone the lemur as he loves to get this tummy scratched.

Room Tip: Select a room closer to the pool..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    78
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
92
195
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joburg
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've decided our trip to Madagascar is the best holiday we've had in years, and Anjiamarango is one of the reasons why it was such a success.

Be prepared for a quiet, idyllic setting except for the sound of the ocean, staff who are keen to make you feel welcome, your own very private wooden bungalow and gorgeous food.

Tasty and fresh pancakes with chocolate sauce for breakfast quickly became a highlight for us. At lunchtime we had zebu/steak roll and homemade crisps - devine. On Thursday night the restaurant hosted a barbque/braai - lots of seafood and steak, and for pudding the best chocolate cake ever.

We organised a few excursions from the hotel. The tour de l'ile was outstanding (it cost us 285000AR for two). We also did a trip to Lokobe to see lemurs (397460AR for two). Both trips included tasty seafood lunches. The hotel could even have organised a day visit to a cocoa farm on the mainland of Madagascar but we decided to have a quiet day at the hotel instead, taking walks along the coastline instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randburgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

So glad we trusted our intuition and research with this resort. Tucked away in the northwestern corner of Nosy Be away from the bustle of the crowd, lights, and noise. Excellent venue for a quiet retreat, great meals, attentive staff, scenic setting with big rimflow pool overlooking the bay. Bungelow was very clean, spacious, with waves lapping the end of the garden at high tide. Nice 3km walk to nearby village south of the resort. Was also able to hire schooter (13 euros plus fuel) at the resort for an interesting jaunt around Nosy Be. Staff laid out our bunglow for a special & impressive supper on our patio. Thank you Monique, Philippe and chef Roger for a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Anjiamarango is a hidden gem. We stayed there for 3 days on our honeymoon. The service, friendliness and helpfullness of the staff and management is out of this world. They really went out of their way to make this one of the highlights of our honeymoon. The honeymoon dinner on our patio was one of the best meals we ever had. We even got a couple of sharongs included. The rooms are spacious and very clean and you stay on the beach. The mangament helped us organize transport to go scuba diving nearby and every morning the taxi was there waiting. Anjiamarango is a real gem and great value for money and comes highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

First up under review are the resort's rooms ... by far, undoubtedly, no question - the best rooms we stayed in over our 2 week trip! Spacious, comfortable, romantic and secluded. The Resort overall is top notch and the staff and French family that run the show make you feel like part of the team and nothing is ever too much trouble.

While we were there we didn't swim in the sea because when the tide goes out (at least 200m), on its return its not the greatest BUT having said this Anjiamarango has a massive infinity pool that we spent hours in.

You are able to use the kayaks, bicycles and gym for free and it is easy and inexpensive to hire scooters for the day or 4 wheelers (with a driver) to tour around.

Definitely has our vote and we have added Anjiamarango to our Madagascar books of places to stay when visiting Nosy Be - ylangtravels.co.za.

Room Tip: There are beach rooms and then the rooms elevated on a hill behind - you can't go wrong with eit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bowlzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at Anjiamarango for a week in June - the hospitality was 5 star.My husband and I
were given a fantastic dinner on his birthday which was served on our private patio (as well as
a birthday cake) all at no extra cost - we were impressed! The bungalows are nice and
comfortable and spacious with a stunning view of the sea and the sunset every evening.
The beach is quiet without hawkers, which we did enjoy. The sightseeing trips I requested were
organised promptly with an English speaking guide when required. There is a reef a few hundred
metres from the beach so is easily accessible for snorkelling if you so not want to leave the
hotel. We had a tremendous time and thank everyone for making our holiday so special'
Sue and Norval, Johannesburg, South Africa

Room Tip: Not necessary, all bungalows have a view of the sea and a beach area in front of them, although it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've been fortunate to have travelled quite extensively, and have stayed at everything from 5* hotel suites across Europe and the Middle East, to backpackers lodges on the South African Wild Coast. After staying for 14 nights, I can honestly say that Anjiamarango is one of the best holidays I've ever had!

If you like loud music on the beach, discothèques, jet-ski's and constant entertainment then Anjiamarango is probably not for you - I'd suggest Vegas or Disneyland instead...but if you can appreciate all the wonders of the natural world, the sound of the ocean lapping at your bedroom door, and the sheer bliss of being 'unplugged', then you really shouldn't miss Anjiamarango.

We stayed in a traditional-style bungalow which was literally 10m from the water's edge, was immaculately clean and had its own private beach-garden. It was basic but very comfortable - cool showers were very welcome in the tropical heat!

Service and attention from the Gron family and staff was exceptional - this is a family-run resort that has been welcomed into the local community. Staff take pride in their service and dedication to guest comfort.

There is so much to do, or you could simply just do nothing and enjoy some down-time. Highly recommend the sport fishing, pirogue trip to nearby island, quad biking, snorkelling...and all the different flavoured rum available in the bar (although probably not all at the same time ;) As a keen fly-fisherman, I was absolutely thrilled to be able to catch giant kingfish (GT) right in front of my bungalow!

This truly is a special place of immense natural beauty - the sunsets are spectacular and the tranquillity unmatched. Go with an open mind and you will not regret it for a minute!

PS: Take lots of sunblock and insect repellent (you'll need it...)

Room Tip: Get a bungalow in "first position" - i.e. along the water's edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rravens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosy Be hotels
3.8 mi away
Le Grand Bleu
Le Grand Bleu
#6 of 32 in Nosy Be
482 reviews
7.2 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#12 of 32 in Nosy Be
262 reviews
10.9 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#10 of 32 in Nosy Be
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 32 in Nosy Be
441 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
#19 of 32 in Nosy Be
82 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel-Residence Au Sable Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anjiamarango Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjiamarango Beach Resort

Property: Anjiamarango Beach Resort
Address: Commune de Befotaka | Anjiamarango, Nosy Be 207, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nosy Be
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Be
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anjiamarango Beach Resort has a sandy beach of over 500 meters wide and offers bungalows with a verandah and a panoramic view of the sea. The complex has an outdoor swimming pool, a large pool and a small children's pool , A bar-restaurant and an outdoor Lounge Bar. The spacious, air-conditioned beachfront bungalows (16) and ventilated with sea view, (13) have a satrana roof (local palms) and parquet flooring. They are all equipped with a minibar and a safe. The private bathroom comes with free toiletries. Relax on the beach or by the pool. Guests can enjoy water sports facilities on site, allowing you to practice scuba diving and snorkeling. Animations are regularly organized. Free Wi-Fi is available only at the main building, restaurant, Lounge Bar and reception area. Anjiamarango Beach Resort is located on the island of Nosy Be, along the Bay of Befotaka. Fascene / Nosy Be Airport is less than 25 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anjiamarango Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anjiamarango Beach Resort Madagascar/Nosy Be

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing