We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diving Paradise.... AND MORE!!”
Review of Sakatia Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosy Be
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sakatia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Diving Paradise.... AND MORE!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2010

What a relaxing and friendly resort. Once again, we holiday to dive and our reviews are based on simple requirements, good diving, good food, competent staff and somewhere to wash and sleep.

Sakatia Lodge met all our requirements AND MUCH MORE. A beautiful setting, warm, very competent and friendly staff and management, well appointed,clean accommodation and stunning food. If fish is not your ideal food then the staff are happy to prepare alternatives for you. What a treat. Contrary to some other warnings, you MUST try the home made rum, ginger, lime, vanilla, coffee ++

Diving! it was fantastic, enhanced by the professional guidance from both Jacque José and Lappies. We were introduced to many species that we had never seen before. Sea horses, crocodile fish, short tail dragonfish, frogfish, giant tropical lobster (no I do mean giant) to name just a few. Jacque knows where to find it all and always adds a spin to the expedition, like allowing cleaner prawns to work on the inside of his mouth.(with a unexpected mouth full of moray eel)

There is good snorkeling directly in front of the lodge, plenty of white, fine sandy beach to play, walk or sleep on. The sea all around is FLAT and safe for play. The island is covered with foot paths for casual strolling or serious hiking. There are plenty of excursions to the other islands that include snorkeling, shopping, meeting lemur's etc.

The only problematic part of the holiday was getting there from South Africa. Air Madagascar have become a bit of a shambles so if possible, try and get a flight directly to Nosy Be and avoid the route via Tanna if you can.

All in, this was a stunning holiday, winter temperature's of 28 deg C and the sea was the same. We dived with 3mm full wetsuits for up 70 min per dive and at times 3 dives in a day. You MUST do at least one NIGHT DIVE while you are there. NITROX is available.

WELL DONE to the SAKATIA LODGE TEAM !!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vAardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    21
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
99
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Great family run lodge, outstanding catering - accommodated all individual preferences, personal attention. Very hot & humid during our stay. Scuba diving excellent with small group at sites to suit our groups interests. All equipment provided, setup and carried, and washed for us. Transfers efficient and on time. This is rustic accommodation, relaxing with a few dozen guests. Our teenagers had a ball meeting others, swimning, walking and hanging out together. No discos or parties, no crowds or markets - just a wonderfully peaceful holiday. The only negative was smoking in the lounge area and restaurant. Wear shorts as it is hot and you wade to the boat for the transfers. There are no cars on this tiny island. The lodge is right on the beach. Sea temperature was in the low 30's Centigrade and air in the high thirties!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewMCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2010

This is the most amazing place!!! The diving is outstanding as well as the lodge & hospitality. Jose, Isabella and Jacques are amazing hosts. We cannot wait to go back! The sealife was excellent and Viz was great. Jacques (Dive master) is professional, knowledgeable and entertaining.

We miss the excellent food and lazy evenings playing poker with new friends. One word of warning though. BE CAREFUL of José's home-made rum. Delicious but dangerous!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey_Wallbanger36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Sakatia Lodge is a very well kept secret. As divers, we had the pleasure of unspoiled reefs teeming with life, and a superb dive guide, Jacques, who knows the reefs and where the interesting sights are to be found - frogfish, seahorses, sea moths to name a few..... The owners Jose and Isobel are the most hospitable and wonderful people you could ever wish to meet - the attention one receives is personal, and Isobel does the most fantastic things with the meals - we did not have the same meal twice in 2 weeks!! The accomodation is more than adequate, and all in all an absolutely heavenly place to visit and stay, especially if divers. I would not advise children to go -not much to do for them - more of an intimate couples spot. We enjoyed our holiday immensely and did not want to leave!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecoDiver08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2010

From the moment we were picked up to the moment we left, this family run lodge amazed us with their warmth , service and attention to detail. The location is exquisite set on a small island that is off a larger island off Madagascar. With it's protected settings the sea is perfectly smooth 24/7 and ideal for swimming, snorkeling and scuba. It is a true piece of paradise ,as with limited number of rooms, you are guaranteed beautiful beaches with only a handfull of people on at any one time.

The food prepared by Isabelle was constant conversation, as she continuously impressed and delighted everyone with her creativity and ability.

I would highly recommend this for anyone who loves seaside escapes, including if you do as some of our group did, and prefer to read your book , drink cocktails and gaze at the beautiful surrounds. I highly recommend you plot your way to what we will be making a repeat destination.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uMalume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

The experience left me relaxed and wanting to go back. The lodge has a great family feel with the Vieira family running the lodge making each and every guest feel special and right at home. The staff is friendly and provides a great service. Special mention should be given to the mutual respect between the Vieira family and the staff, as every member of the staff is treated like a member of their own family. The diving center is excellent, even someone who has never dived before will be able to get an opportunity to explore the wonders of the abundant reeves that surrounds the island. The lodge is gay friendly and centrally located providing for short transfers to other islands therefore making it the perfect holiday location. I highly recommend a visit to Sakatia Lodge, it good value for money and priceless memories.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

Off Nosey Be, with an approx 15min boat trip. Sakatia island has no roads only paths so v indigenous and nicely rural. Lodge is small and great and appears to be the number one lodge to stay if diving which is the draw card of Nosey Be. Did not scuba dive (ex-diver) though the dive centre looks well run, quality, modern equipment including dive computers etc. Reports from other guests who did dive, was that diving is impressive, lots to see both coral and fish etc, and dive charters well run with the Dive instructor, Jacque (son of the owner) being very professional and helpful. Lodge is owned and run by a couple (José and Isabelle) who are always around always and ensure that everything works, and well run. V good food: standard breakfast of cereal, fruit, bread and eggs, and full three course dinner. Great staff and although English limited all are v helpful. Central lounge, dinning and deck chair areas with the various bungalows dotted around in the indigenous forest. There are ocean facing though these there is very limited difference between the view from these and the forest bungalows and main difference is size and hot water. Very secure area, no doors on rooms etc and can leave everything out etc. Bungalows (stayed in forest / garden bungalows) are “rural” but great fun, clean and all that you need. Thatch roof, wooden walls etc with clean bathroom and shower. No aircon though fan provided however all electricity is generator driven which switches off between 10pm and 9am so can get hot in rooms in summer. Mosquito net provided. There is a deck chair / lounge area which overlooks the beach with good views. It’s a great place for a few days before moving on, or for a longer stay if you are a diver, though the beach is average and you tend to stay on the deck chair area rather than sit on the beach. Good for diving, walks, day trips to other islands ie Lemur park etc.

  • Liked — Chilled, relaxing and well run
  • Disliked — Limited beach
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Roadster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nosy Be
6.0 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#11 of 32 in Nosy Be
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Grand Bleu
Le Grand Bleu
#6 of 32 in Nosy Be
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#10 of 32 in Nosy Be
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.8 mi away
Constance Tsarabanjina
Constance Tsarabanjina
#1 of 1 in Nosy Mitsio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
12.8 mi away
Manga Soa Lodge
Manga Soa Lodge
#13 of 32 in Nosy Be
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
5.4 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 32 in Nosy Be
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakatia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakatia Lodge

Property: Sakatia Lodge
Address: | Private Bag 272, Nosy Be 207, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Nosy Be
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sakatia Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Sakatia Hotel Nosy Be
Sakatia Lodge Madagascar/Nosy Be

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing