We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not be disappointed”
Review of Sakatia Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosy Be
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sakatia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from an unforgetable visit to Sakatia Lodge. Our room- an Ocean View room, was great. Comfortable beds and a fan, beautiful local cut- out hand made cotton curtains in front of windows and doors. ( I loved them so much I took a taxi to Hell vile to buy some from the market) Also bought spices- vanilla, peppercorns, saffron, cinnamon, star annis and nutmeg from the food market. While you are there visit the Maki T-shirt shop and have a Three Horses Beer from the pub next to the Maki Shop. And then you need not spend any more time in the hustle and bustle, because Sakatia can't be beaten for tranquility, good food and very good diving! The food is very special, Try the smoked fish platter for lunch and dinners range from a buffet of local dishes to crayfish and prawn platters! We could not wait to see what was on the menu for our dinners and we were never disappointed. The diving was superb- good variety - from a wreck to muck diving where we spotted the pygmy pipe horse...... we saw dolphins and even a whale. Very professional Dive Masters Jacques and "D" made sure everybody had a good and safe diving experience. Good snorkeling around Sacred Mountain. The staff at the resort also needs to be singled out as they are very friendly and honest, we did not need to lock anything away. The only negative aspect in our whole experience was travelling on Air Madagascar! They change their time tables, re- route flights, do not load half a planes luggage, what a disaster!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilse43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 179 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Sakatia Lodge is by far the best place I have stayed in all of Madagascar. Let me start with Jacques....he really does go out of his way to make each and every person's experience memorable. You can tell he loves his job and he is extremely good at it. My friend befriended him online prior to our arrival. He knew we were on a budget and actually booked us rooms at a less-fancy, cheaper hut down the beach, with the caveat that we could use the lodge's facilities no problem. There was never a question asked about us hanging around their beach. Furthermore, each and every staff member made us feel welcomed.

I really cannot say enough about this place. It truly is paradise, esp after the hassle and frustrations of Nosy Be. I do not dive, but, per my travel mates, it is not to disappoint.

Thank you Sakatia Lodge for an amazing respite from Nosy Be.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisaED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were so glad we found this place. After spending a few nights on seedy Nosy Be it was great to get away. The rooms were great and the place had a relaxed vibe - we didn't lock our bungalow for our whole stay and we knew all of our fellow islanders by the end of our three night stay. The owner and staff were really friendly and the diving was great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

After 10 days of hardcore trekking around the rainforests of mainland Madagascar, we were hugely excited about resting on the secluded island of Sakatia, and Sakatia Lodge. We were not disappointed at all. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome, and we relaxed instantly. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and will go to great lengths to assist you in planning your day, arrange transport, find somewhere to have lunch etc. They were not overbearing in anyway. The waiting staff are very polite and looked genuinely happy, which all contributes to the laid back, holiday atmosphere. The private beach is beautiful, and there is a house reef which is home to many beautiful tropical fish. We took a kayak around the island, visited other secluded beaches and saw three huge green turtles. We also saw dolphins one morning. Although we didn't dive, the facilities looked excellent. Snorkel hire was free for guests. The rooms are comfortable,tasteful and clean. The food is exceptional, and represents excellent value for money. It is also very easy to stay at the Lodge as they except visa, euros and dollars, as well as the local currency. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

As a tour operator, we seldom get the opportunity to hop off our butts and visit the places we sell to the public with such confidence. I recently rounded up the team for a full-on Mada exploration, to visit one of our top destinations as a tourist; Madagascar. We were fortunate enough to spend 5 nights at the gem of all gems… Sakatia Lodge.

The personal service and attention to detail, the welcoming atmosphere and homely vibe, the private beach and exquisite water, the opportunities to explore Nosy Be, surrounding islands or towns such as Hell-ville with ease, or just park off and relax makes for a holiday combination to be admired.

The staff was exceptional, the accommodation is incredibly cosy and comfortable and not to mention safe and secure. One of the nights we were there we had a buffet that we absolutely could not get enough of.

Sakatia Lodge is a “must –stay” on our recommendation list for your complete Madagascar Holiday! Well done to the team from Sakatia Lodge as we had only great reviews on the plane trip home from other guests that had stayed with you these past two weeks. Ylangtravels.co.za

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nature Bungalows - super comfortable with all the basics, including hot water. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowlzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Fantastic place very very relaxed and friendly. Wonderful family run with great dad and son Dive Masters, just very relaxed good food, good dives and do what you want to do. Really very good place to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Sakatia for 10 nights mid-May 2012. My Wife and I have travelled to many countries around the world and have never found service to match what we recieved at Sakatia Lodge. From the very first welcoming phone call as we arrived at the airport late at night to the pre-dawn packed breakfast before departure we were treated like VIP's.

The setting of the lodge with its own private cove and adjacent sacred mountain was perfect for an absolutely peaceful holiday. The rooms are comfy and serviced daily - we stayed in Ocean View cottage no. 3 which was great. They have no airconditioning but during May we did not need it. The Ocean View cottages are not at the beach itself but up some steps with the porch overlooking the lodge, tree tops and the sea in the distance.

We had informed Sakatia beforehand that we are vegan and asked if they could cater for us. On arrival we were delighted with the delicious 3-course vegan meals they presented so beautifully every evening. Every meal was different and so tasty - we were so impressed with their creativity and knowledge of how to cater vegan. Thank you to Sakatia - this absolutely made our holiday!!

We were fortunate to be at the Lodge during a quiet spell so had the priviledge of diving alone with Jose most of the time. It was fabulous to have such short boat rides to wonderful dive sites and the boats used are extremely easy for dive exit and entries. We did an unforgettable 100th dive at the wreck off Tanikely - if you get the opportunity, do it!!! The diving visibility was not as clear as we had hoped but we did enjoy multiple hour-long dives, with Jose pointing out amazing detail which we would have missed had we not dived with such a knowledgeable (and fun) dive master : ))). We were very impressed with the wonderful condition of the coral and the many varied types we saw.

All our excursions were arranged by Isabella or Jose - everything was made so easy for us. We did a daytrip to snorkel at Tanikely (well worth it) and a trip to Nosey Komba.

For a peaceful and relaxing holiday with great diving and fantastic food, topped by the best service imaginable, we highly recommend Sakatia Lodge. We were glad we had booked a 10 day holiday as we had seen previous people stating that a 7 day visit was too short. We tend to agree!

Sakatia, thank you!!!

Room Tip: Ocean View 3 was great - lovey and spacey. Ocean View 4 is a little higher up and the furthest away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vegieholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosy Be hotels
4.7 mi away
Le Grand Bleu
Le Grand Bleu
#5 of 31 in Nosy Be
513 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#12 of 31 in Nosy Be
283 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
#18 of 31 in Nosy Be
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#11 of 31 in Nosy Be
224 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nosy Be Hotel
Nosy Be Hotel
#16 of 31 in Nosy Be
175 reviews
12.8 mi away
Manga Soa Lodge
Manga Soa Lodge
#17 of 31 in Nosy Be
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakatia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakatia Lodge

Address: Nosy Sakatia | Nosy Sakatia, Nosy Be 207, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Nosy Be
Price Range: $61 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sakatia Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Sakatia Hotel Nosy Be
Sakatia Lodge Madagascar/Nosy Be

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing