We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Paradise!”
Review of Sakatia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sakatia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is our second trip to Sakatia after our first fabulous experience in Dec 2009. We boarded the plane and immediately spotted familiar faces - some of the guests from our previous trip - that's got to say something that we are all returning! Everything was as we remembered it from our previous visit - it was almost like returning home! We fell back into the Sakatia way of life immediately. We had the same bungalow as last time - perfect home from home. Jose, Isobella and Jaques were as hospitable, friendly,helpful and attentive as we remembered, the food was fabulous, we had a beautiful New Years eve buffet and saw the New Year in among new friends. Arina was back too - she is the dive master who helps out over December - always good to dive with her!! The diving was spectacular as always - 45 minutes spent with a manta ray will stay with me in my memory forever - a special dive! Did 13 dives - all in 30 degree water! Heaven!! Wish we could have stayed longer.... We will be back!! Loved every minute of it - a perfect break from the rat race of Johannesburg life!!

Room Tip: Ocean Bungalows have a sea view and hot and cold water, good value.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DecoDiver08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Sakatia Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 174 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2011

Just returned from Sakatia Lodge. Stayed for 7 days.Setting very good. Minimal electricity as generator is switched off twice a day. The beer is never cold.The person looking after the kitchen was sick and the food was poor as a result. The sandwiches provided on our fishing boat was terrible and charged at Euro14. This over and above the Euro 700 boat charge. I came away thinking, that this is a penny pinching operation.

We then transferred as part of our arrangements to the Nosy Be Hotel, for 3 days. What a difference, aircon, good buffets and excellent setting, including a pool. All right on the waters edge. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chrisp550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We came as a group of 4 after 2w of hurtling round Madagascar seeing birds and lemurs and the few bits of remaining original forest--and the lovely people-- and found that all those reviews were right-Isobella Jose and Jaques run a calm relaxed well sited small setup with very comfortable bungalodges with good ensuite facilities and views across the bay towards the rising sun. The food is excellent and plentiful and the staff brilliant. There was no being hassled on the beach and one could swim out to the offshore reef to snorkel or go off to dive sites with Jaques--or even have a lazy day on a pirogue dipping in whenever you got hot to have a peek at the coral and plentiful reef fish--Excursions could be arranged for fishing--visits to a marine reserve or you could just 'chill'--albeit a somewhat hot chill--A great open 'Boma' adjacent to the beach was a great place for a beer or a game of cards and the tastefully stocked tropical garden was home to visiting lemurs and chameleons---------Go there--You will not regret it!

Room Tip: All seemed to look out towards the rising sun over the mile of water that separates it from Nosy Be
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhys h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Ever since first visiting Sakatia lodge 6 years ago, when holiday time starts to come around again, there is no question as to where we are going. The perfect hosts Jose and Isabelle, on a perfect island far from any maddening crowds. Jose and Isabelle are always around to see to your needs, jacque is in charge of diving and tours, I don't dive but Tim will not go anywhere else, the reefs are in good condition, wrecks, fish, and one of the most competent dive schools around. the house reef for snorkelling is excellent, at low tide you can walk most of the way there!!The food is fantastic, ,most of the staff have been around for the past 6 years, that says a lot. the rooms gardens beach are all clean and constantly maintained, easy access by the lodge ferry to Nosy Be, but really who would want to leave!
Hilary

Room Tip: Wifi is available for a nominal charge
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hilarysouthafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Excellent destination to scuba fanatics. Lovely lemours every evening by the bungalows. Fab customer service on the surface and down delow :). WE RECOMMEND HIGHLY!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina_Petri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

If your idea of a dream vacation is a bungalow right on the beach, a calm bay for swimming, and good snorkeling directly off shore.... if you are comfortable with rustic but clean and attractive but unpretentious accommodations... if you prefer affordable rates over fancy cuisine...then Sakatia Lodge is perfect.

We came for a week but couldn't bear to leave, so we extended our trip an additional three days. We enjoyed the other guests; we loved being greeted each day by the beautiful, smiling staff. We spent our ten days barefoot and blissful. Each day we swam, snorkeled, napped in our beautiful villa that opens onto the beach, enjoyed drinks on the veranda before dinner, and fell asleep to the gentle lapping of the sea on the shore.

One added surprise. The dive master, aptly named "Jacques," is uncommonly good. He was attuned to our needs as older and infrequent divers. He loves the under-sea life and showed us new ways to interact with it playfully and yet respectfully.

This place is beatiful, simple and unspoilt. Our advice: come and enjoy it while it lasts!
Leah and Chuck FIsher

Room Tip: The "villa" rooms right on the beach are definitely worth the extra cost. The smaller bun...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Our group of 7 friends stayed here for 4 days as the final step of our Malagasy adventure.
the hotel is quite small, which allows for a very intimate feel. The location is a secluded tropical paradise. The beach was superb (With access to a great reef out front for snorkeling at low tide where we swam with sea turtles) and the views were spectacular from all locations on the grounds. There were an abundance of flowering & trees on the grounds that added to the wonderful secluded and tropical feel. They even had a family of resident lemurs that came to visit!
Jose, Edith and the staff arefantastic. they made sure that we were always well taken care of and very well fed!! The food was amazing!
We participated in the snorkeling day trip that was offered as well as the piroge tour of the island. They were well worth it. There was an abundance of healthy coral, turtles and tropical fish.
My fiance and I planned to have our "wedding ceremony" while we were there with our closest friends and the staff went above and beyond anything we could have hoped for. They suprised us by decorating the vila on the beach with fresh floral arches, created magnificent bouquets for us and set up a romantic dinner table on the beach surrounded by lanterns. They provided staff that took care of only us all evening and dinner included fresh oysters, snapper, prawns, smoked fish and they even made us our own wedding cake!
It is clear that the staff at the lodge wants to ensure that their guests have a wonderful time on the island. Additionally, it was nice to see that they were also concerned with the environment and surrounding communities. They recommended that we be cautious with our water usage and they supported the effort to build and maintain a school for the local village.
I would highly recommend this hotel you plan a stay near Nosy Be. It is definitely worth the 10 minute boat ride to Nosy Sakatia to spend time in a secluded tropical paridise!
I have not yet had a chance to sort through the pictures, but will post ASAP.

Room Tip: Ocean 3 or 4 have a spectacular view of the ocean!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosy Be hotels
6.0 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#11 of 32 in Nosy Be
213 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#12 of 32 in Nosy Be
266 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Grand Bleu
Le Grand Bleu
#6 of 32 in Nosy Be
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
Ravintsara Wellness Hotel
#19 of 32 in Nosy Be
88 reviews
5.4 mi away
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Palm Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 32 in Nosy Be
453 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel-Residence Au Sable Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakatia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakatia Lodge

Address: | Nosy Sakatia, Nosy Be 207, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Nosy Be
Price Range: $60 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sakatia Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sakatia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakatia Hotel Nosy Be
Sakatia Lodge Madagascar/Nosy Be

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing