We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort of OK”
Review of Mariam Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tamale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mariam Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Tamale B&B and Inns
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sort of OK”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Got stuck in Tamale and this hotel was suggested by someone that stayed here before. The hotel is sort of OK for this part of the world. Prices compared to what you get in Accra, then not too bad. Still high but OK. The room was clean and the food in the restaurant was also OK. The wi-fi works.

Room Tip: I took the most expensive "Executive Double" and it was OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
1
2
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I am not rating the (overpriced) lodging establishment but rather their restaurant. This is Tamale's only attempt at a fine restaraunt in turns of ambience and menu selection, which isn't saying a whole lot as there is not much here! The ONLY reliable air-conditioning in town. Tabel coths, cloth napkins, etc. The music is a bit loud and upbeat for the ambiance and there is almost always a football game playing quietly. Though expensive for Tamale, the restaurant is not nearly as overpriced as the hotel. The wait staff is quite good. After many meals I am afraid to tell you that some dishes are hit or miss. Burger is better elsewhere. I would recommend the hot and sour soup or the golden fried prawns for an appetizer. Far and away the best entree - the Iron Skillet. This is a stir fry that comes out sizzling to tableside on cast iron. A bit spicy for Western tastes but fresh and good. It is sizeable, more than what one person can eat. If there are regular diners in the room, then you will watch other sizzling skillets being delivered.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spicycouple22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgos, España
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

the hotel is average priced ultra-luxury price $ 80 minimum and $ 120 the same room but its pardes painted another color cleaning missing had a health problem decided to stay in a comfortable hotel with wifi to contact the health insurer that we had in the three days the wifi did not work
the deplorable staf, our trip was cycling with panniers and on arriving at the reception looked down assuming we would not pay those prices
I have pictures to prove your sorry state

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jmallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tamale hotels

Red Deer, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June of 2013 for the first time, though I have stayed in Tamale a number of times in other hotels. When we checked out, the lady I was traveling with was charged in US dollars rather than Ghanaian cedis, which is totally dishonest and unacceptable. I did not realize what had happened until we were on the road and it was too late to correct the situation. Also, be sure to check that the toilet flushes, the door locks work and the AC/fan are in working order. If you are paying 150 cedis for a double room, it is a pricier option but better accommodation than the Catholic Guest House or TICCS (but they are much cheaper). If you are paying US$ 150 per night, you are getting ripped off big time, as we were. However, I do want to make a point of saying the food preparation in their restaurant was really good, and I would certainly go back for the food, though likely not to stay.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre. It is north of town centre, just west of the Bolga highway so relatively...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gbg
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel have large and well equipped rooms. We were only here for one night and it felt a bit on the expensive side. But as mentioned in other reviews it is one of the best hotels in Tamale. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Mat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are not very spacious but neat and clean. Hot water is available as each room has individual geyser. Room service is also good . Reception staff is very helpful . Wifi works best in this hotel in tamale. Restaurant is very famous and the food is good . You can get both veg and non veg food here . Very hygienic . I think executive rooms are ok . The cost is bit too high as compared to tamale

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Infact i really enjoyed ma stay at hotel Mariam.the environment is wow,summer hut is cool and lovely and their restaurant is no place like home.their rooms are well furnished with sophisticated materials and to crown it all,their services is the best..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airviter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamale hotels
0.0 mi away
Asempa Lodge
Asempa Lodge
#2 of 19 in Tamale
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zosimli
Hotel Zosimli
#2 of 18 in Tamale
6 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ganaa Hotel
Ganaa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tamale
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Dawadawa Lodge
Dawadawa Lodge
#1 of 19 in Tamale
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nim Avenue Hotel
Nim Avenue Hotel
#10 of 18 in Tamale
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariam Hotel

Property: Mariam Hotel
Address: Off Tamale-Navrongo & Stadium Road, Tamale, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Northern Region > Tamale
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tamale
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing