We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but fine.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mole Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mole National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mole Hotel
Ottawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Basic but fine.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

It took a bit of time for our room to be ready. There's space to sit around the pool, get a drink at the bar, while you wait. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable enough for just about anyone. A/C started rattling so we used the ceiling fan instead. Water tends to stop running here and there but there are buckets of water in the bathroom for when this happens. There's a solution to everything, so no worries! Make sure to order your meals well in advance, and then expect for delays before getting a so-so meal. Ha! Totally worth it to visit the park.

Room Tip: Try to go during the week. There should be less visitors, and hopefully the service will be faster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizoubazinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    67
    55
    19
    9
See reviews for
29
36
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Its extremely true what people are saying, you DEFINITELY are paying for the park, not the hotel. And they are definitely taking full advantage of the fact that there is nowhere else to stay in the area, and so they know they can get away with low standards.

First of all, there is limited running water in the rooms, I believe the shower only work from about 4:30-8:30 in the morning and a few hours in the evening.

During our stay at around 11pm all of the power went out, lights, AC, everything, when we went to ask the hotel guy he said that the district turned off the power and that there was nothing they could do. They had a generator which had also 'broken' which I'm not sure I believe as after several complaints from my group it started miraculously working again. It seriously felt like lights out in a prison. Not the sort of treatment you expect when paying to stay somewhere.

The rooms were clean, just in need of a modernisation.

Staff were kinda rude at times, but not sure whether it was just the language barrier.

The biggest thing was that in our room, my boyfriend went to put his phone on charge and on touching the little screws the hold the socket to the wall, he received such an electric shock, such that he had never felt before. After suggesting he tell the hotel staff, he quite rightly said that there was no point as they probably wouldn't do anything about it. This was true for every socket in our room, I wouldn't have touched them with a barge pole, they all looked REALLY old and were hanging out of the walls.

The pool was sort of clean, but not to UK standards, but that's pretty much the same wherever you go in Ghana.

You have to pre book your meals otherwise god knows how long you would be waiting. We always booked our dinner at lunch time, told them what time we wanted it for and it was generally there on time.

It was pretty good at times, for example, after a complaint and walking back to my room at night there was an antelope just chilling right near my room, as the animals can go wherever they like (don't worry, there is armed security at all times). The safari is amazing, made it worth it when you can get like 10 ft close to an elephant. However, having seen it, I would never go back, as the accomodation side of things was such a stressful experience.

Also, if you get travel sick, knock yourself out before the journey. Its a 2 hour ride down a dirt road that throws you all over the place. Also, make sure your car is up to it. We had big vans and blew the same tyre twice on the way out. TAKE IT SLOW!

Room Tip: I heard there was a campsite? I would strongly suggest you use it as the hotel should probably be sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mole National Park hotels

No Woman's Land
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

When travelling to Mole National Park, you need to be aware that you are visiting the ONLY motel in the area, staying at the place that basically has a monopoly and therefore doesn't need to try very hard. You may pay for a hotel, but what you are actually getting is a hostel and the money you pay is really for the amazing view you have from the terrace and the proximity to the park.

When you look at it this way, you can get over your initial annoyance at the prices and what you are getting for them, and enjoy your visit to what is still a "hidden gem" and a very cheap national park, especially when you compare this to what it would cost you to go see national parks in East African countries.

You get a dorm bed with a mattrass (no bedding when I was there) and no running water at the lowest price. If you want to pay less though and get more for it, you can probably find fellow travellers on the public bus and share a room between 5 or 6 people (they aren't very strict regarding how many people they allow in a room), which amounts to more comfort and less money paid. If you can trust other people that far, but to be honest, I don't see how sharing a private room with strangers is different to sharing a dorm.

This pretty much sums this remote place up: No running water, bad, overpriced food, overpriced drinks, no service, no one at the reception for most of the days. But a terrace with a spectacular view of the park, where you can enjoy a beer and watch the sunset, and stop getting pointlessly annoyed with this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RoadTripperAug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our bus was 5 hours late, so we arrived at Mole Hotel at approx. midnight. Nobody's reservation was actually reserved, and when it was our turn the only room left was a more expensive room with AC (which, we mostly just used the fan). Make sure to eat before your bus trip, and bring food and (especially) water along. When we arrived, several folks asked to buy water and the receptionist simply said, "no." Luckily we had enough for overnight, and a water filter to lend to others if absolutely needed.

When you do buy water or drinks, buy them at the park's information center. The funds support the park more directly (according to a park ranger), and prices are significantly cheaper.

Breakfast is complimentary (if before 10), but the staff is willing to let you eat after ten since they are aware of the morning safari...breakfast is decent eggs/toast/coffee or milo or tea.

The food is standard, but expensive by Ghanaian standards (similar to accommodation near National Parks anywhere in the world). People have complained that service is slow, but the staff expects you to order lunch at breakfast, dinner at lunch, etc. As long as you order and specify a time, the food comes in a timely manner.

The motel rooms are standard (clean!) and overpriced (we paid $120 for 2 nights in a triple with AC). Our toilet was not working, but staff was quick to fix the problem when we asked. This is the one and only place (the motel) that we used a credit card in Ghana (we were there more than a week ago and I still have not been charged, which hopefully won't be an issue). The view from the hotel is excellent, and the pool is great!

The park itself is worth the trip, see "attractions." The park fee has increased to 20 C per person (foreigners). Make sure you bring enough cedis. 5 C for Ghanaian nationals. Keep this in perspective, since most Ghanaians earn less than $2/day and most cannot afford to ever visit Mole.

Note: the motel is a separate concession within the park. It is also possible to visit Mole on a day trip, if you are to coordinate your own transportation. I would recommend getting there very early for the best experience and wildlife viewing.

I highly recommend the 7 AM walking safari. The guides are hit and miss. We went with Osman, who was excellent and informative. The other group complained that their guide hardly spoke and seemed to be making up information (he also turned out to be hypoglycemic). On our walking safari, we saw elephants, baboons (watch your belongings), monkeys, numerous birds, antelope, etc. We did not pay for a driving safari, and was told by other guests that it is not worth the money.

It is also worth your time to visit the Mole museum. It is small, and there is no fee (donation based only). Zaquiri/Zakaria (spelling?) is the head park ranger. At first he seemed aloof, but he was only giving us time to make our own opinions of the museum and ask questions. Then, he was dynamic and enthusiastic. He is an excellent resource regarding Mole National Park and Ghanaian culture as related to conservation. 

Despite the rough bus trip and substandard hotel, the trip to Mole is worth it! Would recommend sharing more expensive (but more reliable) tour van opposed to taking the Mole bus, especially if you are on a tight schedule.

Room Tip: Rooms vary greatly. The rooms with AC are unnecessary and more expensive, but they may be the only o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah-Ryan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slykubi, Manager at Mole Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are very grateful for drawing our attention to your concerns while you were in the Mole National Park recently. We reservedly apologise for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay.

We wish to inform you that Mole Hotel is a government property and there are plans far advanced to renovate and modernise it to a world-class facility. We admit it has taken some time to do this.

We however wish to draw your attention to the fact that the ranger you talked to was promoting the business of his wife who sells water and other drinks at the information center. Besides providing water free to workers of the Park, the Hotel pays 5% of its accommodation revenue to the Park management as bed-rate tax. We also pay, on monthly basis, 15% of our total revenue to government as Value Added Tax.

We promise to rectify the minor problems, and in its standard state, continue to keep the rooms clean as well as provide your meals on time as long as you order in advance. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Even though it is difficult to reach, this is a location that it makes it all worth while! The views, especially at dawn & dusk, are beautiful, the staff are very welcoming & helpful and there is a large choice of lodging possibilities. It is next door to the Mole National facilities and is currently the only lodging opportunity within the park though there is talk of a new hotel being in the planning stages. We stayed 2 nights in the "Deluxe Chalet" which cost approx. 40 euros and, based on standards of this part of the world, this is a fair price. The most important fixture was the fridge which is very important when the temperaures reach over 40 degrees! The only small criticism would be the manager's handling of a small problem with the shower.

Room Tip: If your budget can afford it, choose a deluxe chalet. The view from the balcony are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sangcailloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Having travelled alot of ghana the dorm room in mole motel was the best! Sooo clean... The price was slightly more but did include a good breakfast of omelette, toast and tea. The swimming pool was VERY clean and the view was outstanding. Staff were friendly and very welcoming... Could not fault the hotel at all! I would recommend it and come back time and time again. Basically u can't stay anywhere else in mole!
When it comes to the tours, the safari was great the walking safari was great but do not camp in the park unless you have EXTREMELY warm clothes and good ground mat. We ended up having to get a taxi back to the hotel as we were unbelievably cold. So the tour guide I think should of made sure we had sufficient blankets as we did not understand how cold it could get even though we had slept outside before.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

In touch with natural fauna and flora within a serene environment, great scenery but room amenities needs improvement. Also good attendants at all service points. Finding animals in their natural habitat

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alhaj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mole National Park
286.7 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 8 in Cape Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afrikiko River Front Resort
2.6 mi away
Zaina Lodge
Zaina Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mole National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
292.0 mi away
Aqua Safari Resort
0.0 mi away
Lake Bosomtwe Paradise Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mole Hotel

Property: Mole Hotel
Address: | Damongo, Mole National Park DM84 WGD, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Northern Region > Mole National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mole National Park
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mole Motel is a one-star rated facility located in the Mole National Park, northern Ghana. It is a private limited liability company and quasi-government owned. It is governed by a five-member Board with a resident general manager. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mole Hotel National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing