We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fanta's Folly
Nearby Hotels
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
African Rainbow Resort(Busua)(Great Value!)
$42
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Takoradi Select(Sekondi-Takoradi)
$168
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Planter's Lodge(Sekondi-Takoradi)
$114
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Takoradi Standard Hotel(Sekondi-Takoradi)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellar Lodge(Sekondi-Takoradi)
$92
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abuesi Beach Resort(Sekondi-Takoradi)
$43
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melody Hotel(Sekondi-Takoradi)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
26
16
6
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
16
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe food is greatsandy beachesthird visitlocal fishermenbeautiful beachpalm treesphilippeturtlesfantasaccommodationtakoradicoastoceanluckbugslodgeparadise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 56 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A lovely place for a quiet weekend. Fanta's is just a half hour or so from Takoradi, but feels a world away. The stilt rooms (we stayed in the end one) are tastefully designed and have a great view and natural AC from the sea breeze. The sound of the ocean crashing outside is lovely - though if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs!

The food and friendly owners are the highlight here. We had Cassava fish carpaccio, lobster in cognac sauce and barracuda in white wine sauce - all delicious.

There's good walks in both directions up the beach. If you turn left onto the beach and walk in the direction of Takoradi, there's an interesting rock formation covered in plants and birds and beyond this is a small fishing village, where all the kids will run to meet you and will probably want to hold your hands as you walk around their beach. In the other direction is Butre (you have to cross the river) but before this is another lodge and also a little vegetarian garden restaurant (Green Zion, about half a kilometre up the track behind Hideaway) run by a rasta man. It's good for a banana pancake and lemongrass tea.

To sum it up, Fanta's is a really, really quiet place - suitable for lounging for a few days with a book and a beer, but probably not much fun for small children or backpackers. Busua will be better in these cases. The beach is also, like most in Ghana, very rough waves and more suited to a bit of frolicking than any serious swimming.

I can't wait to go back in turtle hatching season!

Room Tip: The stilt room at the very end is newly built and very tasteful, with a beautiful view of the beach.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Advantages: Room is well decorated; the sandy beach is superb; the food is very good; the owner and his wife are friendly
Inconvenients: Room was given without any single towel despite having asked repeatedly for it; lights in the hotel are not enough in numbers specially near the restaurant, and not bright enough in the room; too many waves and pollution to go swimming ; not a single activity available in the hotel or around the hotel (forget it if you are travelling with kids)

Room Tip: each room is facing the sea. The ventilation is coming from the wind and this compensate the lack of climatisation.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katmandou06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had a great experience here. Philippe and Fanta do a wonderful job. Their kitchen is top notch. Fanta hand rolls pasta daily. Their seafood is incredible. The breakfast is decent but the coffee is perfect. Lovely candlelit dinner. Perfect secluded beach. Butre is my personal favorite beach in Ghana. They could certainly improve the cleanliness of the rooms. I can see how hard mold and bugs would be. But overall a lovely experience. Far away but worth the experience. A wonderful jogging beach also.

Room Tip: some rooms are better than others, i think they have built more so check
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaVMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great small hotel which is fairly basic but has everything you need. An amazing beach with no hassle and the owners are very friendly and do everything to make your visit enjoyable.
The food is really good with plenty of fresh fish and pasta.
We were very luck and saw lots of turtles laying there eggs on the beach and Fanta has a great set up ensuring the eggs are safe. I would go back in a flash

Room Tip: Choose a room on stilts to get the sea breeze as natural aircon
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SurreyDeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We decided to stay here because of incredible reviews from friends, but were very disappointed in the end. The rooms looked nice at first glance, but there was a lingering smell of mold and sewage. While in the room we constantly felt damp. The rooms don't have hot water, which isn't an issue as many of the places on the coast don't, but the water here came out of the tap and shower brown. The rooms don't have ac, which again many of the places on the coast don't, but the room did have a ceiling fan.

The beach was covered in trash...more so than the other places we stayed on the coast. The food was exceptional sometimes (the pork dishes were phenomenal!), but the food was below average other times. Fanta's wouldn't have been as disappointing if we hadn't already stayed at much nicer places for much less money. Fanta's also didn't include breakfast, which was included at our other hotels. I say hotels, but I really basic mean beach hut accommodations. If you are in the area, go the extra distance to Axim...it'll be worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bretro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews