We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely quiet hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bakotu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bakotu Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at hotel in April 2013 for 10 nights.

I was a little apprehensive about this destination/hotel. Stepping into the unknown! I have to as we had the holiday of a lifetime and would so love to go back - soon!

Accommodation - We had a family room, which had a 4-poster double bed and bunk beds. Quite comfortable, clean and spacious. Bathroom basic, but again clean and spacious. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space.

Breakfast - It is basic, but very nice, bread rolls are lush. They alternate daily eggs or cheese and fruit. There is an option to pay for alternative, such as bacon, sausages etc. Tea & Coffee is nice too.

Staff are very friendly and very welcoming and helpful.

Facilities - Swimming pool is small, but big enough. There are plenty of sun-loungers, with cushions.

The hotel is in a good location, very short walk to beach, bars and restaurants. Sadly there is no evening entertainment, so we either took a taxi into Senegambia (the strip), which is around 10 min drive or in the hotel opposite, who had entertainment every evening - Dancers, bands etc.

Beach - To get to the beach you do have to run the gauntlet lol. Once past the restaurants, you come to a small market and the locals want to stop for a chat and of course what you to have a "look" at the items they are selling!

All the locals are really friendly and just what to talk to you. However, if you do not want to stand around chatting, then simply walk on, but do not be rude and/or ignore as they find this offensive. Simply acknowledge the locals and a no thank you will suffice - they just want to be your friend.

Trips - We would highly recommend Arch Tours in Senegambia (the strip) the owner, Abdul and his staff are fantastic. They really do make the trips enjoyable and the extra special. Check out the reviews on here.

Tours - arch-tours.com

Gambia was never on my list of destination, but I have to say this was a holiday of a lifetime an experience we will never forget, memories we will cherish.

We would highly recommend this destination and hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lisa_essex72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    189
    49
    11
    3
See reviews for
60
259
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here January 2012 for two weeks for our honeymoon and loved this hotel. Good breakfast, very clean and a great relaxing atmosphere including friendly, helpful staff. The pool was quiet and relaxing with a small bar to get snacks and drink. Short walk to the beach and restaurants. Overall excellent stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited this hotel mid-December, being among the first tourists after the rainy season. That was really felt on the beach, as it seemed everyone was desperately trying to sell us something. At one point we were so bored of being approached that we swore to stay at the hotel only, as it was so good and peaceful. (We actually did not stay only, there, thanks to our local tourist guide Ibu, who was really great and worth our trust all week).

Hotel area itself was refreshing, and we saw a lot of monkeys and even a ginat turtle there just by laying by the poolside. And after trying several other restaurants that were recommended, we found that the best restaurant, especaily for wine and seafood was at the hotel: Captain's Table.

Behind the hotel there is a nice path to riverside and a local golf course for sightseeing, and the hotel has also got some reserved chairs at the seaside.

Rooms were adequate, with a funny window system consisting of several panes of glass meant that while it was tight enough to keep the insects out it was not totally tight to keep the sounds out, so it might disturb a light sleeper near the pool at least. Or near the forest if you are more scared of non-human sounds. We slept happily during the night though. All in all it was tidy and the staff was friendly. It was Africa in good and bad.

There are bigger hotels across the street, so if you want entertainement and more activities then you can pop in there. Come to think of it, for families with kids maybe waiting to see monkeys is not enough for them to keep the parents satisfied.

Our most positive experiences during the trip were the hotel, Ibu the great guide, and weather

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pohjanpoika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have holidayed in Gambia 6 times, and stayed at this hotel twice. It,s a lovely little hotel, with great gardens, a lovely ambience. The hotel staff are fab.

. We had a family of monkeys visit us every day, even caught one of the youngsters spying through the window of our room to see if we were there.
The rooms are basic, and I am afraid are starting to look a bit shoddy...the walls are a bit grimey and could do with a lick of paint, as well as some repairs.
They are going to start losing points and tourists if they don't start maintaining the rooms .
The breakfast as most people have commented is rubbish, so I didn't even bother.
Tip: Dont bother getting your money exchanged in the UK, as there is a money exchange right next door to the hotel, on your right.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spuggylegs49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in March for three weeks, on a positive note the grounds are lovely and the rooms are what one would expect in Africa, basic and clean.
The staff are absolutely brilliant, (reception, bar, waiters/waitresses, cleaners, gardeners and bar staff at the Tiger Tiger bar) always working with a smile and we always felt that they were sincere in their friendship.
On a negative note and I'm sure it's not the cooks fault but the owners should be embarrassed with what is served up for breakfast, If you travel with Gambia Experience you can have egg and bacon at no extra cost, If you can call it bacon. It's no more than an after thought, a lazy gesture, a decent breakfast and this hotel would be very hard to beat.
Overall would we recommend this hotel? Yes, simply because of the working staff, they make the holiday an absolute pleasure! We would love to go back again, Gambia and her people are lovely.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back of the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brendan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Rooms pretty basic but clean and comfortable. Bakotu hotel is small and quiet, no TVs or music. There are other bigger hotels across the road if you want to watch the football or local bands etc in the evening but I'd still rather stay at this hotel. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. Decent restaurant for evening meals in the hotel and a few local restaurants located dead opposite if you fancy some variety - we found both the Indian and the Algerian served great quality meals. We would definitely return here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickandSueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

As a travel agent who books repeat guests here,i could see the appeal-a small,friendly reception,no lounge but a pretty bar by the beautiful pool area with good standard furniture,wood carvings,ponds and tropical greenery everywhere,and a resident family of friendly monkeys and wildlife.I emailed the hotel before with my room request and my request of an upstairs,sunny balcony room with open aspect was granted, nature all around,the room was spotless with flower petals sprinkled on the bed daily by the cleaner,Ikea furniture, comfortable bed and adequate small bathroom of a simple wet room style, and open wardrobe behind a curtain.Breakfast as everyone says is a very simple continental affair but its adequate,and served by friendly waitresses in the picturesque bar/restaurant area.Theres a lovely viewing platform at the back overlooking the creek,and exercise equipment and wicker sunbeds are scattered around the very pretty grounds,Accomodation is single storey accomodation arranged in pretty rows,or two storey accomodations containing 4 rooms,though balcony/terrace is shared,and i found the stairs up to my room unlit at night so i had to buy a torch to find my footing.It was very quiet in April and we were the last guests to leave on April 20th-such a shame the season is so short and many hotels and restaurants close.I enjoyed Ali Babas restaurant in the market over the road several times,great food and service,Sailors served good food too.And do use the juice boy Ebu on the beach by Sailors-beautiful fresh banana milk shakes and juices,and Awa on stall 20 in Fajara Market.If anyone needs a guide/taxi then i highly recommend Batou Manneh who is based in the taxi base-all my customers and friends use him,rates are good and great tours.Message me for his details.The boys in the street can be a bit tiresome wanting money,but smile,say no, politely and they will leave you alone.I visit the Gambia every year and have fallen in love with the people and culture,come with an open mind,dont expect European standards and you will love it,and you cant fail to fall in love with Kotu beach-beautiful.The Bakotu is a quiet, very pretty African style hotel,if its a more European style hotel with more facilities you need then the Kombo Beach over the road may suit better.

Room Tip: upstairs balcony rooms for better views and more privacy if you dont mind sharing the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newccentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.1 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Badala Park
Badala Park
#6 of 6 in Kotu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakotu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakotu Hotel

Property: Bakotu Hotel
Address: Kotu, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakotu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned and well established, Bakotu is a small, friendly hotel ideally located in Kotu between the beach and the golf course. Facilities include a small swimming pool, sun and shade terraces, reception, laundry, shop, restaurants and bars. Individually decorated rooms, with comfy beds and either terrace or balcony are grouped around mature gardens. The monkeys, squirrels and birds are great attractions. Ideal for those looking for something a little different with good value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bakotu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakotu Hotel Kotu
Bakotu Hotel Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing