We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ningki Nangka Restaurant

Ningki Nangka Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Kotu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hello - our ground floor restaurant is now fully open along with the beach bar and, of course the wonderful beach beds. The fish hut will be open during December. Good news is that we hope to open the top floor restaurant very soon - this has the most amazing view along the beach. Do come and see us and enjoy our restaurant and meet the team who want to ensure you have a fantastic time and enjoy the best food and hospitality in The Gambia. Lafi and the team.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Have been coming to the Gambia for 14 years and watched the place being built. Originally was to be Destiny nightclub but it is now a fantastic restaurant and sunbathing location. Do not be put off by the name - it is Gambian for a special dragon.
It is so clean - other restaurants should check out the toilets in particular.
We spent many days using the sunbeds which are very comfortable, well protected from any hasslers but if you want to purchase from the locals they are welcome to come to you. Lunch was inexpensive and plentiful so we often shared a french stick.
In the evening, we ate there 3 times and the food was brilliant. The chef trained for a while in Sweden and he has brought their standards to his kitchen. The staff are well trained in customer service and they do appear to enjoy their jobs. The inside restaurant is well planned and really a pleasure to sit in to eat. We only used the a la carte menu as we are not lovers of buffets or barbecues.
We will return next year and hope that the standards continue and that the owner (who we met twice) and managed to open the first floor too .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    89
    24
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Engaland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful new restaurant, fab views will become best in area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Only recently opened yet this restaurant is already popular and I am sure it will become one of the top in The Gambia. Located on the ground floor of the former Destiny's Club ( the big glass building on the beach) it has fabulous views and setting and a beautiful clean interior .
Excellent food, the chef has spent time training in Scandinavia, western Europe and Senegal - and he obviously had an accomplished trainer. The steaks are probably among the best I have had, including top French restaurants and Cruise ships - at one meal 5 people ordered steaks all to be cooked differently and they were all perfect and you must try the coconut king prawns starter. We ate here three evenings.and also had sandwiches and salad on beach afternoons. The sunbeds outside are comfortable and clean and you never get bothered. On our last day we chatted to the owner who has spent many years in England and Europe, he sets high standards for all the staff and shared his vision. I have no doubt this will become one of the best in Gambia.(Apparently Ninke Nanke is a mythical creature a bit like a dragon)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Curlycoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best restaurant in Kotu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

New to Kotu, what a gem! Great food and amazing location and l Ioved the overall design of the venu too. Excellent service, not expensive and so clean. Wishing the restaurant every success.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzymalento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant - easily the best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We went here 4 times during our week's stay the food was that good!
They do a good a la carte menu and on Fridays and Saturdays the do a Gambian buffet and a barbecue as well as the a la carte. I thought the a la carte was better.

The main meals we had were:
Mixed Fish Skewers which were excellent
Grilled Gambas - large prawns in garlic - my friend said they were unbelievably good. So good he had them twice!
Pepper Steak - I really enjoyed this, and think it was probably the best steak I have had anywhere.
Also highly recommended- Rice Pudding!

Service is fast and efficient and very friendly - following other comments the staff have really got the hang of it now. We found out it only opened in January this year.

The kitchen is in full view of the restaurant and looks very clean.

If these standards are maintained the restaurant will get very busy so it might be best to book.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Need to learn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Food was very good and reasonably priced, but they struggled to cope when restraint was busy. We dined with friends one evening and their meal was so late they cancelled it altogether. To be fair we returned the next day and the service and food was excellent. This place has not been open very long and they appear to be having some teething problems.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GatesheadDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ningki Nangka Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ningki Nangka Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing