We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel & right on the beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palm Beach
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kotu
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel & right on the beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now and on every occasion I found it comfortable, clean and the staff were polite and friendly. The room was adequate having stayed at the B and C blocks. There is a tv in the room but unfortunately static and distortion is all you will see through the dated small screen. I like to keep abreast of news so this was an inconvenience rather than a disaster. There is no wifi. Security is good although bear in mind if anyone comes to visit you, they need I.D and are limited to the reception area and cannot accompany you to your room, unless you pay room price for them. Secure parking with security guard. The pool is never open at the start time so no early swim. The breakfast is basic but filling nonetheless. An altogether pleasant atmosphere & I would recommend it to those on a 2 star budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    258
    134
    71
    66
See reviews for
87
362
89
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Been to the Gambia 5 times so i know all about the hotels this was very poor only 2 towels in room would not use these to wipe a dog with them no fluff on them ripped & full of holes. The hotel management are out to rip you off £20 a week for a safe .I know there are power cuts in the Gambia & all other hotels get it back on aprox 5/ 10 min not palm beach 1 hour to walk a cross the car park to get the genorator going every day it went off . The hotel staff was great all friendly it was the management let it down .Breakfast was ok .Sun beds round pool broken we went on beach .i would say look for a diffrent hotel not the best !!!

Room Tip: we had b block noise go for c block quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kotu hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Before i give my review on the hotel i feel i have to inform anyone who is thinking of going to stay there is Beware of a guy who goes under the name of D J MOJAH who says he's a guide and will meet or beat any other guides prices and will give you a very good tour, walk away and go with someone else.Once he has your money you either get half the tour as he sends a friend to do it who hasn't a clue,as he's found another person to take out on a tour. or he doesn't put enough petrol in his car and you find yourself walking from your trip with him for a taxi.We paid up front for two tours and when we asked for some of the money back he kept phoning to say he was coming to the hotel with some of the money and even when he knew we where going home he phoned and just said bye.When told i would put it on trip advisor he just said him and his friend's would get a laugh out of it.So be warned.So now to the hotel,we have just come back from the Palm Beach and all i can say although the rooms are dated we had the rooms cleaned every day and clean towels and bedding every day,also was given a mosquito net which we had asked for.The beds at the pool could be replaced as most of them are sagging but there is plenty of table and chairs,and you also get a bonus of a Monkey who also likes being round the pool.The staff are very friendly,always got a smile,the breakfast is basic but there's cornflakes eggs,crepes, fruit,fresh bread and butter.The Hotel is on the beach and we ate lunch between 2 restaurants both very reasonable,one was called Kunta Kinte which serves a great steak baguette and the other was John Raymond that served lovely veg soup and fab fish and chips, both with live entertainment most nights, the hotel also has entertainment every night.felt very safe when we went for our walks during the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sally186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Just come back from two weeks at the Palm Beach hotel with my partner, we had a great time the hotel is not plush but every thing works, its not 5 star nor are the prices so its good value for money and the the staff are outstanding always happy and smiling and eager to assist you , the food in the hotel is basic and well priced, as is most of the food in Gambia. We did lots of trips with local guides , crocodile pool, monkey park and fishing villages are all easy trips and as my partner is a birder ie twitcher the hotel is on the beach and creek where bird life is in abundance there are lots of local guides to take you on walking trips . Our guide Omar Bah known to all as Bill Oddie knows them all even has the book with illustrations and will take you on any trips you wish to go to he can be found just outside the hotel or ask the staff on security at the entrance . We decided not to to go on Thomas Cook trips but book direct with local guides as the money goes to local communities and back to families.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are quieter due to staff starting work about 8:30 and calling greetings to each ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arthur340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

What a great location and hotel! Stayed several times over the years and I can only say that the staff are fantastic, the food from 'James' the chef and his staff is good! Mustapha is most helpful with the internet and does a great deal for the community, especially with football training. If you have never travelled to West Africa, please go with an open mind and don't expect 4* accommodation as you would in Europe. The hotel is tired, basic and could do with a re-furb but its clean. Rooms are cleaned and towels changed regularly. The breakfasts are simple and rather repetitive but plenty of coffee and freshly cooked pancakes. The hotel is absolutely fine as a base for exploring the Gambia. You get what you pay for in terms of hotels, but the staff you meet are lovely and will look after you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark_sarahBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We went to this hotel with an open mind, having been to Gambia several times before. Check-in was a painless affair and we were soon on our way to the cell, er sorry room (C23). It had a broken front door and a lock to match. After a sleepless night we went to reception and requested to change rooms, which took less than 15 minutes and we were moved to B32, a much better option.

After finding our feet, we met Numo & Mohamed the pool guys, who we later realised were very hard-working, however the same could not be said for some of the bar/restaurant staff who were very leisurely indeed. The majority of the staff in the hotel were happy and helpful and we had a good laugh with them. Rita, the waitress, however was a real gem and worked tirelessly. Top girl!!

Food was ok as long as you liked eggs, baked beans, toast and cereal but demand outstripped their ability to supply and guests were constantly kept waiting for these to be replenished. One day we ordered a ham & cheese toastie and some chicken wings for lunch. DISASTER! The ham turned out to be frankfurter sausage sliced, which is nothing like ham, and the chicken wings were just one step off being alive as there was still blood in them! Needless to say, after this we restricted our lunch to tomato soup which they couldn't really get wrong. Another annoyance was that on at least 4 occasions the hotel had no ice for drinks!! Unforgiveable, particularly when it ranged between 40-50 degrees daily. We resorted to buying a huge bag of ice cubes ourselves from Safeway supermarket on The Strip for only 40 dalasi to put into the hotel freezer for our own drinks, which the staff used when their supply ran out!!

During our stay we had the misfortune to be there at the same time as "children" from Winstanley College, Wigan who were on a Gambian Schools Outreach project. They appeared on most occasions to be unsupervised and out of control - sliding on the polished reception floor into guests without so much as an apology, putting their feet up on furniture in the lobby, trying to purchase alcohol under-age and then making a lot of noise very late at night/morning. The relief from guests when they departed was noticeable. They made us and other Brits in the hotel feel ashamed to be English.

We ate out every night, usually on The Strip and worthy of a mention was Glastonbury's Chinese and 2 Rays restaurant which were both real gems and great value for money. Also worthy of a mention, but for the wrong reason, was Jewel of India - we waited 1hr 45mins and all we had had was our onion bhaji starter. The place was only half full so how long would you have to wait if they were full?

Beware of taxi drivers - particularly the ones outside the hotel! Since our last visit they have become very greedy and aggressive with it. Save yourself a fortune by walking up the road a short distance and bartering with one of the green cabs there.

The room was basic but that's Gambia. Any problems we had were dealt with straight away but when we asked for hand towels, we were told that these were not provided and we would have to buy some from the market. It would appear that this appeared to the bed linen as this was changed in the entire 2 weeks of our holiday (blood-stain on the pillow case all duration). We enquired about a fridge for the room but it was far too expensive, so we opted to spend our money wisely on just a safety deposit box. This proved to be a very wise step to take as we noticed that "someone" had helped themselves to a packet of crisps and sweets from our room without waiting to be offered them, which will explain to the person responsible why they did not get a tip on our departure!

On the whole we had a good holiday, but roll on the next!!

Room Tip: Block A is pool side, block B in the middle, block C on the outside where there could be noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1sttimers011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I am a single woman in her late 50's and unfortunately this seems to imply I am on the look out for a young man. Male staff were constantly coming up to me and wanting to 'be my guide' in the end I just said I wanted no company, did not need a guide and to please leave me alone. This worked. Hotel is dated and basic but I only wanted somewhere to sleep, so booked cheap. location is very good, always had hot water, which I have not had in other hotels I have stayed at in the gambia. if all you want is a base then this is all you need.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maricha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.1 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Kombo Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
2.0 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Badala Park
Badala Park
#6 of 7 in Kotu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bakotu Hotel
Bakotu Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palm Beach

Property: Hotel Palm Beach
Address: Serrekunda, Kotu, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palm Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Kotu
Hotel Palm Beach Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing