We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunes Resort
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kotu
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have just returned from our second trip to dunes hotel,we had a really good holiday made better by the staff at the dunes ,as this is a small friendly hotel `where all the staff are very helpfull, led by the manager who is allways around to help if needed ,how many other hotels can you go to and the manager comes to your room to sort out the free safe within seconds of you arriving,best location in the gambia straight onto the beach lovely restraunts within walking distance and local taxis parked outside your hotel.Only one downside rooms are looking tired and in need of some updating but thats gambia for you,word of warning if you travel with thomas cook trips are very expensive and you are better booking through a local taxi try asking for bill or momin outside the gate both excellant tour guides

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christine1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crema, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Even though This hotel needs updating and the power cuts happened every now and then, the Breakfast is basic, but nice: bread, jam, watermelon, papaya, porridge, cheese, scrambled eggs... The staff is always very helpful, kind and polite and everybody knows everyone by name. The chefs are great! Pull area's nice, even though the swimmingpool's small. The beach is nice and the bar in the beach's lovely, expecially "black Moses", nice and kind. He can be a good guide, too. Only rooms aren't clean enough, unfortunately.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serenovariabile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Having booked 11 nights at The Holiday Beach Club - review to follow, but buyer beware! - we transfered ourselves to the wonderfull Dunes at our own cost after 4 Days.
The Dunes is an hotel with only 22 rooms, somewhat akin to a grand old duchess- seen better days but still full of charm and character.
The location is tranquil, staff friendly but not overbaring and the manager Kabba, an absolute star!
We were given a suite, which was by far the largest room we have ever stayed in, with ocean views.
Hairdryer, fridge, aircon, safe etc at this hotel are all free of charge.
Constant hot water, some of the best food in the Gambia (all at reasonable prices ie £7 for a fillet steak & £1 for a bottle of beer), great location, eggs etc to order at breakfast, entertainment 3/4 nights a week, access to a lovely beach, lovely pool and gardens.
Taxi to senegambia strip was 100 dalasi (£1) and takes 10 mins.
We found that the bumsters were few and far between in this area compared to senegambia.
All in all one of, if not the best holiday we have ever had!
Many thanks to Kabba and is team for saving our holiday, we look forward to seeing you all again in a few months time!.... rightyho.. off to check flights for April !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tandtheboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We've just got back and would definitely go again. Small exclusive hotel with 22 rooms. The rooms are clean and good for Gambia with tv and ac. The food is excellent and really up to standard of UK(apart from steak with is stringy). Our stomachs remained intact. The staff make this hotel. They are so welcoming and friendly. They DON'T loiter and ask for tips but i did give. Clean beach. Some polite hassle on beach. In fact every Gambia wants to be friends. They don't ask for cash but you'll be on a guilt trip not helping some. Nearey all Brits do.Its peanuts to us. Great hotel pool.free beds with towels.No extra costs.The manager is ace always checking everything is good for you.
THIS IS A LITTLE DIAMOND OF A HOTEL THAT IS BOUND TO DO WELL. Some Brits changed to here telling stories of hell in other local hotels.
THOROUGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jdbrown_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have just returned from the Dunes Resort Hotel, spending 2 weeks over xmas and what a fantastic holiday it was. Our first time in the Gambia but definitely not the last. Fantastic location for the hotel, we were given a downstairs room close to reception, room was in need of a little tlc but nothing too bad and it was cleaned every day with fresh towels and sheets. The gardens and pool area were lovely and quiet with a nice walkway down to the cleanest beach we've ever seen, plus a wonderful beach bar Julas with staff being so friendly (Ask for Ali Baba, you will be spoilt) Thank you to Kabba the manager and all the wonderful staff especially Ibrihim who very kindly invited us to his compound to meet his family, we were treated so well. The food was absolutely fabulous especially xmas eve when the hotel put on a buffet with party poppers/hats etc plus entertainment (although a little cheasy) but overall fantastic.
We also went into Sena Gambia to eat and socialise on several occasions being taken by the local taxi driver Karimo who waited for us to take us back at whatever time we wanted.
We went to see several places by a local guide Abddoulie who took us wherever we wanted, the river cruise was fantastic as we had the boat all to ourselves but the monkey park which is a must to see was the best, make sure you get peanuts first they love it, This was an altogether marvelous holiday and a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the dunes resort first two weeks in December 2012 . Stayed in a downstairs room and yes it was in need of a bit of tlc and a bit dark and gloomy but nothing a lick of paint wouldn't sort. However what it lacked in decor it made up for with the friendliness fantastic African welcome from kabba the manager and his team from the security guards upwards. There were no extras to pay safe, fridge and micron all included . Yes we had power cuts but as soon as the power went off the generators came on. Nice peaceful hotel with only 22 rooms and situated right on the beach. Clean beds beautiful thick white towels plenty of hot water. Also a small but adequate pool which was kept spotless. Breakfast was good and the chef cooked eggs any which way you wanted and lovely pancakes well as bacon, beans sausage cereals fruit and beautiful fresh bread. Mantra thanks to kabba for making my birthday so special after my daughter e-mailed the hotel. There were flowers in the room and on the bed, bottle of wine and a birthday card delivered by kabba and signed by all the team. The staff couldn't do enough for us and nothing was too much trouble. Special thanks to Lisa who does massage and beauty treatments for all her kindness. Would we go back to Gambia and stay at dunes - most definitely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunnydaze99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed for one week, plenty of staff who were very helpful just needs a bit of TLC ,good location for beach, usual power cuts got used to them, great country to visit, fantastic people. So nice not dress up all the time for meals. Weather was fantastic

Room Tip: Choose upstairs , ceiling paper thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martgibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotu
0.8 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Kombo Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
1.1 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 7 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smartline Palma Rima
Smartline Palma Rima
#5 of 8 in Kololi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Resort

Property: Dunes Resort
Address: Kotu Beach Point | PO Box 1003, Kotu, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kotu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kotu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunes Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Dunes Hotel Kotu
Dunes Resort Gambia/Kotu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing