We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute must for anybody searching for that something extra special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nemasu Eco-lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nemasu Eco-lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute must for anybody searching for that something extra special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for a few nights in one of the king en-suite lodges at Nemasu early in the New Year. We found the establishment completely by accident, having decided to take a stroll north along the coast for a couple of miles one afternoon from our original organised accommodation. So glad we did!

Ascending from the beach we both gazed up at the large bar/restaurant area that separates the round houses from the sea. We looked back at eachother, both wearing large smiles. "This is bloody lovely".

The layout of the dining area is great. You have a superb panoramic view of the garden leading out onto the Atlantic coast. Swing seats around the central bar offered something a little bit different and kept you entertained. The beer is reasonably priced considering your surroundings. The food was much the same and had a nice blend of western 'classics' (steak and lobster on 24hr preorder), along with the typical Gambian dishes served all up the south coast. But the real deal clincher for me was the smell of real coffee, something which can be quite difficult for a first time tourist to find on the less touristy southern Gambian coast. We were definitely coming to stay here now!

Booking was simple. I asked for the number of Greg the owner and checked availability with him via sms a few days later. "Not a problem, come on down".

We felt welcomed when his wife, Hilary, greeted us for lunch when we first arrived at Nemasu days earlier. And I'm glad to say that this theme continued for us. We chose the king en-suite, wanting to treat ourselves a little having spent the last week in an austere but perfectly pleasant tree house just down coast. The space was more that we expected and with all night lighting and running water it was like we had started a completely new holiday! The only downside was a slightly leaky loo, which I put down to a simple teething problem that many new builds will have.

The whole time we were there we both felt so relaxed. We both needed a break after Christmas; Gambia and Nemasu certainly recharged our batteries.

We saw familes having a great time there and even lone travelers. But if romance is also your thing, then Nemasu will harbour the perfect environment to let it flourish.

We will definitely be going back this year!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rorz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
61
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The round houses of Nemasu lie on a slope where a small jungle dips down to meet the Atlantic Ocean. The sight and sound of the ocean is ever present and just one of the many reasons why I love this place. I have spent many hours in the restaurant/bar area sitting on the swings that replace bar stools talking to the staff or other guests, completing a work assignment or just gazing out over the ocean. The food is great - fish straight from the fishing village just down the coast and fresh vegetables from the village. But what synched it for me were Greg's amazingly inventive and delicious cocktails made from hibiscus flowers and the fruit of the boabab tree. All this is delivered by people who are clearly determined that you have a great time. And if that's not enough the rooms are lovely, each with examples of art and crafts collected from the Gambia and other parts of Africa. And all this on one of the most beautiful and quiet beaches you'll ever find anywhere in the world. What is there not to absolutely love about this place?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBBojang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Thanks to all at Nemasu!
If anyone is thinking of a holiday/experience with kids(or with out) Gambia is great and Nemasu is home! We spent around 10days there on and off.. We were drawn in like part of the family, our 1 and half year old was in heaven charging about freely with us having total trust that there was always someone there keeping an eye out for him or entertaining him! The staff and all we met in Gambia are incredibly warm towards children!
Nemasu is a very peaceful place and I can't recomend it highly enough!
If you go, ask them to try and arrange for Yankouba to come and play, he is a Cora player(traditional local string instrument) and singer and definately worth seeing.
The beach is very quiet with the occasional herd of cows sauntering by to watch the sunrise or set!
Hope you go! And enjoy as much as us! Weather to stay or chill out or eat!
Very welcoming!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnymaurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We did not stay at Nemasu, but the two days we spent there were complete paradise. The owners were incredibly friendly, the food and drink value was phenomenal and the conversations over dinner were fascinating!! It was one of the hardest places to leave that I have ever experienced. I absolutely loved it and I am planning to go back there as soon as I am able to!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Three of us arrived in the dark, not knowing what to expect. With a warm welcome, help with our luggage, and being guided to two great huts, we were happy! The staff were all incredibly friendly,
the food delicious, the beach idyllic and there were perfect waves for body boarding. We spent five happy days exploring the local area, and really couldn't have asked for anywhere better to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ended up here by accident after a mix up with our accomodation on the North coast but after staying here I cannot imagine why anyone would want to spend time in the crowded and hectic atmosphere of the Senegambia strip, when they could venture further south and enjoy the beautiful beaches and tranquility that Nemasu offers.

The eco-lodge is a complex of roundhouses set above a lovely sandy beach. The main bar and restaurant area is wonderful with swing seats at the bar and great sea views. The food was great and the drinks including baobab juice cocktails were brilliant. The owner Greg was an outstanding host and went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. The roundhouses were simple but comfortable and great nights sleep were had by all. We were only here for two nights before heading upriver but would have loved to have stayed for longer. If you are looking for a beautiful relaxing beachside location or a base for wildlife excursions then you could not go wrong with this special place. There were even sunbirds, hornbills and various other fantastic birds flitting around the terrace and the bioluminescence on the sea at night was breath taking.

Brilliant place......5 Stars from me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I'm in a way reluctant to write this review because Nemasu is really a hidden gem at the moment but in all fairness .... We called in at Nemasu for a drink and a meal and thought it was quite gorgeous. The food is excellent and great value - £100 bought a meal for 12 with drinks and a bit to spare. You have to wait a while for it but who cares with the beach right on the doorstep, sun loungers etc. We saw the rooms and they are great - very simple but elegantly done with lots of nice touches. The owner Greg is delightful and the staff all very keen to help.
Will be back for a stay next year

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunjur
22.7 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
21.3 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
22.9 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
19.5 mi away
Lemon Creek Hotel Resort
18.6 mi away
Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nemasu Eco-lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nemasu Eco-lodge

Property: Nemasu Eco-lodge
Address: Main Coastal Road | Madina Salaam, Gunjur, Gambia
Location: Gambia > West Coast Division > Gunjur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gunjur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nemasu Eco-lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the ONLY eco-lodges directly on the beach, in Gambia. The ONLY eco-lodge you can watch the sunset over the Atlantic from your room or in the restaurant. Private, surrounded by forest, excellent food & drinks, clean, comfortable & artistic. Read our reviews! Swim, go bird watching, drumming & explore African life in a super-safe location on the 'smiling coast' of Gambia. Sleep to the sound of the surf. Part of your payment goes directly to community assistance & saving local sea turtles. Even more reason to book! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Nemasu Eco-lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nemasu Eco-Lodge Gambia/Gunjur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing