We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Fajara
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveler rating
488
72
21
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
488
72
21
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool gambia experience the penthouse atlantic suite decking area private garden boutique hotel his brother piece of paradise clay oven daily specials restaurant staff huge bed sun loungers small hotel building work the general manager
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 590 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Outstanding
Fro the welcome to the whole stay, just brilliant. Staff are excellent, food is very good, all locally sourced and fresh, rooms are spotless and nothing is too much trouble. Manager is incredible to help and coach staff, and would recommend to anyone. A genuine gem.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank fizzy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Thank you Fizzy for sharing your appreciation of Ngala's rooms, cuisine and staff ambiance.
A gem, thank you, we will take that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Just spent 10 days at Ngala. Once again, a truly wonderful experience. Jonathan runs a tight ship which shows in the quality and service received. The staff are so helpful & friendly, we really can’t fault this Hotel. We had a beautiful light & airy suite, and let’s just say, I feel as if Van Gogh is my new best friend! Keep up the good work.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mylkehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Thank you L&DB for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to see you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

We have stayed at several hotels in The Gambia over the last 12 years, none of which are in the same league as Ngala. This was our third visit to this hotel and can't wait to return next year. Everything about this hotel is high quality: Spacious, well furnished rooms, interesting gardens, crystal clear swimming pools, superb food and the wonderful staff.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank neilbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Thank you Neil for your comments. This is what gives us the best satisfaction is to see you returning to Ngala and appreciating the atmoshere we are trying to create. We look forward to welcoming you both back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

The Ngala Lodge is an exceptional hotel. The old colonial building that was transformed into a hotel fulfills everything that‘s promised on their webpage.
Service is personal and everybody cares about the wellbeing of the guests.
The suite in which we stayed (Macondo) was spacious and the bathroom exceeded (at least in size) every bathroom we‘ve encountered in hotels until now.
The whole site is filled with little details (mostly sculptures and pictures) that give the tropical garden a special look.
If you want to stay there be sure to book half-board as the restaurant is serving excellent dishes and certainly deserved at least a mention in the Michelin, if not even a star.
We spent an unforgettable week there and if ever we‘re going to return to The Gambia we‘ll stay at the Ngala Lodge.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank nachtigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Thank you Yann & Fabienne for your lovely comments and recommending the restaurant. We look forward to seeing you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

Our first trip to The Gambia and thanks to the beauty of Ngala Lodge, the staff, facilities and cuisine, it was the best holiday we have ever had. As soon as you step inside Ngala it is like stepping into paradise, a unique and luxury experience.

Ngala has the most amazing staff that completely look after you. It is difficult to mention all the staff but Peter (owner) and Jonathan (manager) have created an amazing environment and team of staff that ensure you feel like you are in paradise. As for the food, it really is fine dining at its very best, simply exquisite - thank you all and we look forward to seeing you all again.

Room tip: Higher floors have panoramic views which are breathtaking
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PagettT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, General Manager at Ngala Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2020

That is our aim, Tina & Malcolm, to see you back with us again soon.
Thank you for your comments of appreciation.
Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews