We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ngala Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Limbas Hotel(Fajara)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveler rating
408
63
13
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
63
13
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgambia experiencethe penthouseboutique hotelatlantic suiteprivate gardendecking areahis brotherpiece of paradiseclay ovenbuilding workrestaurant stafffish marketspecial thanksgeneral managerlow tidelarge balcony
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 492 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2011

from the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and very wellcome, everyone is so helpfull, rooms very clean your mini bar is stocked up everyday, and as for the resturant food that was amazing, thankyou to johnathan and he's team, i always worry about food when i go away as i have crohons but no need here it was fantastic, the grounds are kept lovely, my husband likes to fish so he loved the beach, we went to see the monkeys, not to be missed but please don,t feed them, the crocodile farm is good but if you dont want to be hassled by gambans get a taxi, we didnt get taxis anywhere we enjoyed the walk but you have to be firm and say no, the lazyday boat trip is a lovely relaxing day out, as there are only 18 suites we spent our week with some lovely people but sadly we had to come home, hi to mo from behind the bar ,lovely guy,

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank k_joby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Ngala Lodge 29 Apr – 6 May 11. We were looking for a relaxing break somewhere hot. Gambia fitted the bill and having completed some research on The Gambia Experience website, we booked. We also benefitted from some inside-knowledge from a family relative who had lived in The Gambia for 5 years. When we mentioned we had booked a week at Ngala Lodge we were immediately told we had made a good choice.

My cousin wasn’t wrong. Ngala Lodge was an excellent location. Based on the coast the grounds are a mixture of tropical gardens and lush lawns that trail down to a secluded beach. We stayed in the Brabo Appartment (http://www.ngalalodge.com/brabo.html) which was clean, spacious and had all the features one would expect from a boutique hotel in The Gambia.

There were some difficult choices to be made during the day: lounge by the pool, walk on the beach or lounge in the shade. However, once a decision was made it was never regretted! Throughout the staff were able to cater for every need and had a unique knack of appearing just when a cold beer or snack was called for. In particular Denbo did an excellent job in ensuring that our stay was stress-free and thoroughly enjoyable.

The food was excellent throughout and served in a restaurant with superb views of the Atlantic. Jonathan the head chef was outstanding and even made me my favourite meal for my last night, despite it not being on the specials. Very reasonably priced and with a plentiful spread on every occasion we “ate and drank like Kings” throughout our stay. The staff were very good and the service was excellent.

If you feel inclined there are plenty of excursions to undertake and I would recommend that if you are staying at Ngala Lodge then you should make an effort to get out at least once during your stay. Just remember this is still West Africa and they do things differently there.

In summary, this was an excellent holiday and we would recommend Ngala Lodge to anyone visiting The Gambia.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vacations81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Booked this Hotel on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and yet again my fellow travellers got it spot on!
Lovely Hotel, beautiful rooms, great food and really obliging staff. the place is a quiet serene retreat from the madness that is Gambia.
This really is a place to chill out & relax, no music blaring by the pool. The evening entertainment is very low key and only lasts for about an hour. Which to me was great ....just enough. No children, plenty of sun beds a lovely balcony that overlooked the ocean. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank genavive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I have just got back. Read all the reviews months ago when we booked it. This is probably the only hotel in Gambia on the coast that would suit my wants - very few people, wonderful staff, stunning food, slightly remote from the hub on 'coastal strip'. Lovely sense of privacy. Wonderful use of first names from many of the staff. Went for a week - it was about right - in two weeks you would get bored here. Went with Gambia Expereince - extra trips outrageously expensive for what you get - but that is nothing to do with the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SurreyTravel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Having been to Kenya quite a few times we were a bit dubious of what Gambia would be like (half the price of Kenya !!!!!). We need not have worried - the hotel is excellent. No getting up at the crack of dawn for sun beds was a great bonus. The staff and management are very helpful and friendly. We ventured out one afternoon to the Cocoa Ocean resort as this was the other hotel we had chosen - so glad we didnt stay there!!!!

The Ngala Lodge is a true gem - we stayed for 11 nights bed and breakfast and had such a relaxing holiday we have booked for next year !!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jane1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews