We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Run and eat!”
Review of The Clay Oven

The Clay Oven
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Fajara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Clay Oven has been open for 24 years, established in 1991 by Vimal Shah. The restaurant has two menu's, a well established Indian menu and a recently well tried Chinese menu. The Clay Oven takes pride in quality and excellence. There is a large dining area with a semi circular bar, and an outdoor dining area on a wooden deck surrounded by a palm garden and bar. All making a great ambience to dine in under the stars. "Our own belief is that a truly fine meal is enjoyed not once but three times - in anticipation, in consumption and in remembrance."
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Best meal in Gambia. Effective and friendly service, excellent food and good value for your money. We was a group of 7 persons and we all agreed on this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tovemidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal S, Owner at The Clay Oven, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2015

Thank you for your kind review! We pride ourselves on our food and service, and we're glad to hear that your party of 7 had an enjoyable time at The Clay Oven. It was a pleasure to have served you, and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Vimal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for The Clay Oven
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

We visit The Clay Oven every time we visit the Gambia and we are never disappointed. The staff are very attentive and the food is excellent. We have experienced some horrendous Indian restaurants around the World and i am always nervous about visiting Asian restaurants when not in Asia but would highly recommend this one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank derick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal S, Owner at The Clay Oven, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2015

Hi Derick, thank you very much for your review from all of us at The Clay Oven! We look forward to seeing you again in January! Your kind words helps us to maintain our high standards throughout the year, and for many more years to come.
Kind regards,
Vimal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Well what can I say? It takes three things to make a perfect meal.
1, The Setting
2, The food
3, The service
On all three counts we give the Clay Oven in The Gambia 100% rating, thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal S, Owner at The Clay Oven, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2015

Thank you for your kind words! I have passed your comments on to all of the staff here at The Clay Oven - we hope to see you again soon!
Many thanks,
Vimal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Never miss an opportunity to visit and sample real high quality food. Food is superb and unlike other places its non greasy. I visit at least twice each holiday and recommend the food and service. Staff are excellent and more than happy to ensure your visit is an enjoyable one. Worth every dalassi!!

1  Thank Landa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal S, Owner at The Clay Oven, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Loranda,

Thank you for your very kind review! I have passed your kind words to the staff, who are very thankful! We believe that Indian and Chinese food can be very healthy, and excess oil can be very detrimental to the flavour of the dish. We are happy that you enjoyed your meal, and look forward to seeing again!
Kind regards,
Vimal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This will be the third time eating here and we always make a point of booking when we visit the Gambia. Beautiful food, fresh ingredients and good service. Not the speediest of meals, especially on sizzler night which is also a good option - but as the food is cooked to order sit back an enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ziggy1Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal S, Owner at The Clay Oven, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Ziggy

Thank you for writing a review! Your comments give us the confidence that our food and service is at the level that you would expect it to be. Our Sizzler Night is a great option on Tuesdays, however due to the busy period service may slow down still ensuring you of the best tasting food. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! We are glad that you enjoyed your meal.
Kind regards,
Vimal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clay Oven also viewed

Fajara, Banjul Division
Fajara, Banjul Division
 
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to The Clay Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing