We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our 4th visit and it didn't disappoint! The rooms have been updated, new towels and bed linen. We had a problem with our toilet flushing but our wonderful cleaner immediately arranged for it to be sorted. We stayed in block 1 which has a rubbish view of the wall but we do not go on holiday to stay in our room so it wasn't a problem as such, just disapointing! Our children brought a bug with them from England and the care and kindness shown by the staff was fantastic. Everything was throughly cleaned and soiled items washed and returned (sorry may be too much info but our mosquito net took a hit but we were able to continue using it!) . Poolside, the parasols were a bit dangerous as they were too light.
Breakfast was a good as ever and the egg chef does a fantastic job taking everyones orders. We paid by cash as we went along which is what we prefer. We sometimes went out for lunch but generally had a drink by the beach bar for happy hour. Juice boys and fruit ladies provide things which are excellent value.
Outside the hotel we always speak to and use the guides for our trips. Our guide is G-boy, Lamin Jallow and he took us to the crocadile pool, monkey park, vulture feeding and the highlight the lazy day cruise. It cost us £90 for 6 people which included lunch, drinks and fishing rods...we caught about 40 fish and split them between us, the captain and our guide and the hungarian restaurant cooked them all for out dinner! The other trips cost us £15 for a taxi ride apart from the crocadile pool which you walk too. The tour companies try to tell you not to use the guides outside the hotels but these guides have to be registered with the government (they have to pay for the badges) and now hotels are all-inclusive fewer people are coming outside which is a huge shame. The average wage in the gambia is around £20 a month, the staff within the hotel will also try to take you on a trip, please try to speak to the guys outside the hotel and use them for trips, you won't regret it.
We eat dinner outside the hotel and really enjoyd all our meals, we like the new one for the road, the smiling coast, surf and turf, taj india, the chinese and bella's hungarian, all brilliant value. Dodgy wine at the new one for the road but you can always have a beer :-)

Room Tip: avoid block one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelseagirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 964 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week during the Easter period and found it to be a lovely clean hotel! Our room had a sea view, we were actually right next to the beach, rooms where
Clean but not an eu 5*, still very apt for the stay. Food is very expensive as everything has 15% tax added due to it being a government run hotel, try taj Indian just across the road and the ocean clipper( part of the hotel but excellent food and huge portions... Surf and turf is a must!!) swimming pool was clean, not overcrowded as seen in some reports, friendly staff. Rates were 52 dalasis to the pound at reception. Would stay here again, if you want to take a
Tour guide, yusef from the taj Indian is highly recommended. We had a lovely day with him to the 'real gambia' very knowledgable and made the day very cheap for us :-) 400 dalasis for the day is a very acceptable tip for tour guides.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I went there alone the first impression i have was with the front desk i was highly welcome with big smile as if i was there before.I travel to many African country but the Gambia was special among them.The hotel service was fantastic the restaurant staff, pool attendant the sun bed and Front Office staff are all help. i will recommend that hotel to anyone want holiday in the Gambia. Please remember that the European standard cannot be compared to theirs if you put that off you will always enjoy your holiday.

Room Tip: It fantastic place for holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danjang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A really nice 3 star hotel.
Beautiful grounds, lovely pool area and in a really nice little resort called cape point.
We stayed in block 2, right beside the pool on a B and B basis.
Lunch was cheap and decent quality.
Happy hour from 5.30 til 7.30 was amazing. 50p for julbrew or glass of wine.
Pool area was really nice and we were always able to get sun loungers.
The spa is so cheap and very relaxing.
If in doubt, book it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celticdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have just returned with my family - children aged 13 and 11. Lovely staff, rooms fine and hot showers, great service, beautiful weather. The staff are great. They love football!. Lots for the children to do - swim, play pool, darts, table tennis. Some good trips out - all close - recommend south Gambia, Senegal (reservation is "okay"); ferry to Barra a must - chaos but a great experience. Use a local boat too - quite exciting. The local guides are keen to help but can be tad persistant but they SMILE! Take pencils, paper and football shirts for the local schools. This place is a must. I would certainly return and probably will. Book through The Gambia Experience who were also geaat.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms the best. We had a suite for 4 which was ample though. local beer very tasty. Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabby2186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I holidayed at the Ocean Bay over Christmas & New Year 2012. We enjoyed it so much that we returned for two weeks at Easter 2013 and weren't disappointed. We had booked through Cosmos as we did last time but on arriving at the hotel they had no record of our booking. The reception staff were full of apologies and promised to sort it out. Twenty minutes later the duty manager showed us to our room (right by the beach) and asked if it was satisfactory, it was. We saw lots of familiar faces among the staff, many of whom recognised us and remembered our names. We had a wonderful, lazy, relaxing two weeks and are already planning our next trip there as soon as possible. Last time we went on half board but this time we only went B&B which was better value for money we thought and it encouraged us to eat in many of the local restaurants (mostly good, one, the Chinese, never to be visited again.) We would definitely recommend the Ocean Bay to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in the Gambia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Visited The Gambia for the first time and have to say what a great time we had (I have travelled to many African countries on business previously).

Transfer from airport to hotel was only 30 mins or so and getting through the airport was pretty straight forward.

Greeted at the hotel with cold lemon grass tea (local speciality) and many Gambian smiles :-)

Hotel room was clean and spacious with plenty of power sockets (2 pin)

Bathroom and shower are a bit tired but the shower works really well and water was always hot - worth noting that the hotel will be getting a facelift from mid May and the bathrooms are on the agenda for updating.

Beds are very comfy as mattresses are new as is the bedding.

Breakfast in excellent and you will need to check in with Sulay who does a wicked omelette and poached eggs.

Beer is cheap c.£1 a bottle but check in with one of the waiters who will get you cold bottles delivered to your room for 35 dalasi a bottle (beer is lager called Julbrew 4.7 alc vol).

Many restaurants near by and would highly recommend Taj India, Calypso, Hungarian, Chinese and the on site Ocean Clipper but it is a little pricey compared to the others but the decor is nice and A/C always on.

Lunch round the pool is easy, good choice and reasonably priced.

Bring sterling with you and change in the hotel 50 dalasi to pound - really easy and less hassle than outside.

Guides - talked to them but never used one as everything is quite easy to work out and get round.

Pool - clean but quite cold but great given that average temp was 90 degrees.

Wifi - free all over the hotel complex but better reception in the lobby.

Sunbeds are fine, recommend tipping one of the pool guys to make sure you get the same beds every day (near the kids room in the corner is best, sun all day!)

All in all good hotel in need of a bit of attention which it will get this year!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Shane73Blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakau
3 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
4.9 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 17 in Serekunda
881 reviews
4.8 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#2 of 17 in Serekunda
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Kololi Beach Resort
Kololi Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Kololi
165 reviews
8.9 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bakau
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort

Address: Kofi Annan Street, Cape Point, Bakau, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Bakau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Price Range: $94 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Bay Hotel And Resort
Ocean Bay Hotel Bakau
Ocean Bay Resort
Ocean Bay Bakau
Ocean Bay Hotel Gambia
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort Gambia/Bakau, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing