We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
middx
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday and location”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel.We had an excellent time there.There is a mix of Germans,Danish,British and Dutch tourists.

First the positives:
Bakau is a lovely location with craft market and crocodile pool nearby.
The hotel has a big pool and plenty of sunbeds.
Good choice of food at breakfast.
Rooms are a good size.
The showers are hot and work well.
There is a large clean and sandy beach.
Generally staff are friendly and helpful.
There are only a few bumsters and the area is well-policed.
There are few mosquitoes.

Now the negatives:
The bathrooms definately need updating.The grouting is stained and the toilets sometimes flush and flush.We finally worked out how to stop ours!
We had a nice room with partial sea view but some face a wall.
We had one waiter,Esse who insisted on cash despite it being a cash free hotel.

We will definately be returning!

Room Tip: Check your room before accepting it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    443
    137
    36
    19
See reviews for
138
545
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We enjoyed several days of glorious weather at Ocean Bay hotel from 2nd - 13th March. This four star (Thomas Cook) rated hotel is at best three, but if you bear this in mind you won't be disappointed. Room and bathroom (including towels) were rather tired and needed updating and maybe made a bit more comfortable and cheerful - decent seating other than the beds! But our toilet flushed everytime and we only had one day without hot water.We enjoyed sitting on our terrace and watching the birds feed - the grounds, pool and beach area are lovely. Breakfast time was predictable but still enjoyable - the guy who cooked the eggs worked very hard and cooked your eggs any way that you chose, don't forget to tip him. Sadly the waiter and waitress skills were sadly lacking for such a highly rated hotel, it seems that they had perfected the art of looking your way and then totally ignoring the fact that you were sitting there. We weren't harrassed on the beach - if we didn't want to buy something we just politely said no. But we had amusing banter with Papa as he tried to flog us his wares - quite successfully too! Maria the fruit seller had her hooks into us from day one and we enjoyed several plates of luscious fresh fruit from her. We also enjoyed many refreshing glasses of fresh juice from Daniel and Alex, the Juice sellers. We were pleased that we stayed on a b and b only basis as this ensured that we experienced virtually all of the local places to eat, although the prices varied we didn't have a bad meal - except once - the food was lovely and the service very good - but alas the consequences were dire - all part of the Gambian experience! You will be approached every time that you leave the hotel, sometimes we required their help but when we didn't we just asked to be left alone and they duly obliged with a smile. If you need a friendly taxi driver go to Happy Corner and ask for Mandu - all fares negotiable. No need for excessive tipping when you think that the average daily wage is between £1 - £1.40, the Gambian people that we had the pleasure of meeting were grateful for any amount which we thought reasonable. We exchanged our money locally, not within the hotel but in the surrounding area and always received a good rate.
We once again had a memorable holiday on the Smiling Coast - relax and enjoy the experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_clerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week last week. Hotel, agree with all other reviews. Bit tired but clean and a good base for a good price. Gardens & grounds beautiful. People lovely. This was our 1st trip to Gambia and will return.
Money we changed ours up at hotel mainly, on the 1st night one of the waiters in the hotel did it for us so we could get on with our dinner (we had just arrived) very trusting of us - we didn't worry too much but he returned with the 50 delasi to the £ hotel rate (We think he might have nipped to Mr Bass to get 52 - but we didn't mind saved us worrying) We tipped him as well so he was an extra happy Gambian! People do say change your money at exchange near Mr Bass to get the extra 2 delasi but to be quite honest the hassle you get on the way with people trying to get you in their shops it wasn't worth it. You do get hassled from the front of the hotel wherever you go even if you have had a guide and mention his name - or say polite no thank yous - it is quite wearing every night but once your in your chosen restaurant it's ok and generally on the way back of a night no hassle.
We ate at the chinese, very good food, good wine & beer and the Taj was good as well big screen in there as well, so good atmosphere once again good food and wine. Our bills on both occassions were between 1000 - 1200 delasi with couple of hundred tip. We also had an amazing lunch at the Calypso, once again wine, beer and fried garlic prawns around the same. You can eat really cheaply if you want to but we enjoy food and wine so we spent a bit more - so it ended up a more of an expensive holiday that we first thought it would be. We also tipped well as we had good service and that's how these people earn their money. The hotel food was fine and good value considering in buffet you can each as much as you want for about £20. Wouldn't go all inc though as you would get bored with food selection. Breakfast was fine everything that you could have on offer was there. Service was good. Do check all your bills carefully though outside the hotels there were a couple of occassions where items were charged twice! Once pointed out they were soon removed though. Also ate at the Clipper, strange experiance as it was pretty empty and food was not that amazing but perhaps it was a one off.
We stayed mainly on the beach, the hassle you get there is a little less and we became friendly with the juice guys and sat with them having a chat. We used Opa there as our guide instead of the "official" guides out the front as he was less pushy and didn't try and sell himself. He took us to the fish market and the alligator park, and it was good and we are glad we did it but this is how it went for us.. walk to atm... hassle by lady dressing me up in sarong I didn't want, managed to get away but still felt sorry for her... walk to fish market really interesting guy showed us round that worked there and wanted a donation and to write in his book, fair enough 500 dalasi seemed reasonable...on past lovely little children in the streets asking for sweets - Opa told them off in Mandinka... alligator park 50 delasi each to get in then a donation inside of 200 delasi... onto some ones house to play the drums and be sold a drum necklace 200 delasi.... Finally and this isn't a complaint as we really enjoyed the whole experiance we asked Opa what he wanted for his guideing he said make me happy.... 1000 delasi...
The fruit ladies make a lovely plate of wonderful fruit and once you get talking to them they hope you'll leave them some clothes for all their famillies and babies. You have to always go back to the same fruit lady or juice person don't worry too much about remembering there name they have an amazing photographic memory and will certainly remember you!!
Gambian people are lovely - poor but very happy. The whole week did seem to become about money - begging - then The Gambian experience wanted donations on the way home... Then Monarch wanted some charitable donation on the Plane.
Happy Hours are worth going to both at the reception sitting watching front of hotel in the evening sun & down at the beach bar a bit later - it was quite chilly down there so do pack 1 jumper! I only had the jumper I travelled in but it was welcomed down at the beach bar happy hour.
Would certainly go back though now we feel we learnt a few things. Would definately go back to this hotel as well. Give Gambia a go it's a wonderful experience. Embrace the people they love to talk - just be aware that every day is hand to mouth for them. I'm hoping when we return Opa and the juice guys will remember us we spent a lot of time sitting at their bar sipping juice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallyhatesflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We're still on holiday at the moment at the Ocean Bay Hotel in Gambia (22nd March to 5th April 2013). The hotel is great and well recommended, but actually owned by the Gambiam government, so it does get a lot of state functions and support. The hotel next door closed recently and did not pay its staff when it went bust.
I think the employees at the Ocean Bay get a good wage by Gambian standards because of the government backing, and there are certainly a lot of staff on hand. I feel that the official guides that hang around outside the hotel hoping to get a bit of work from the tourists inside get a raw deal though. At first these guys seem a bit intimidating since they are very persistent when you step out side, and I'm sure this puts a lot off people off ever leaving the hotel, but why come to Gambia if you are just going to stay in the hotel and beach? It's best to choose one of these guides and the the rest will leave you alone when they know you're theirs! They may even give you a bracelet with your name on so the other guides will see that you already have a guide. They know exactly how much the hotel charges for the various trips (day trip to Fathala wildlife reserve in Senegal, 'Lazy Day' boat trip etc.) and will always give a better price and put a lot of effort in to please you.
You can tell that life is really hard for them 'on the outside' and once the tourist season is over there will be no work them. No benefit of welfare from HE President Jammeh here.

Room Tip: Not too near the pool or on the ground floor unless you want these locations for a reason. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lofty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

was there with boyfriend 12-19 of murch. weather was cool!hot at day and fresh at night. on the territory oh hotel bars, restorane, shop with suvenirs. big territory and good service om the beach. abour room-very good room with conditioner, minibar,big bed. minus only about-leaking shower and sink in the bathroom and towels had the smell of damp.
we had BB-only breakfast. more comfortable coz nearly several restorans and kafes. cool place during the beach-Calipso.
every morning -aquaaerobiks, every evening some shows near with sweemingpool.
turists from different countris-germany, niderlands, czech respublik, swees, englang ets.
else no so far from hotel Pool with crokodiled (+museum of Bakau)-super interesting, and Botanik Garden-boring.
so, im total hotel good for quite rest and relax!!

Room Tip: good choos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlinaOxana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from our first trip to Gambia, we stayed for a week and really enjoyed ourselves! The hotel was clean and comfortable, we had a deluxe room overlooking the beach which was very nice. The staff were very friendly, much like all the Gambians we met outside the hotel. We were B&B which I think was the best decision as I can highly recommend the Taj India restaurant, Bella's Hungarian and the Calypso Bar for lunch/dinner, all of which are a short walk from the hotel. There was plenty of choice for breakfast although the tea wasn't the best! We also enjoyed Happy Hour at the pool and beach bars each evening!

I can also highly recommend making use of a local guide from outside the hotel, Muhammed Jaw took us into Bakau to the croc pool, the market and also the fish market (go here at 5/6pm to see all the fishing boats coming back in!), it allows you to see the Gambians day-to-day life. We also did 3 trips through The Gambia Experience, and I would recommend 'waking up with the birds' although it's a 5:15am start, it gives you the chance to see baboons and plenty of birds at dawn.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is my second review of the Ocean Bay Hotel and what a diference.
Last time i was in block seven facing a horrible wall covered in black mould(see my last review)
This time i was in sea facing block five and boy what a diference thirty steps your on the beach,it is a deluxe room which i recomend every one to have .
Even the staff seemed more alert and a lot smarter (not sure if they had new uniforms) breakfast was good even got coffee which last time as a joke.
The staff are without exception the most friendly you could ever wish to meet,too many to name in person .
I used Gambia experience who are fantastic last time i used Thomas Cook who where ok (just)
So i have already booked again for later in the year .
So my advice upgrade to deluxe,go b/b as the half board or light inclusive is not value for money as there ate plenty of places to eat within a stones throw of the hotel and all very good(see my review of Frank's Hungarian Restuarant)

Room Tip: Ask for block five sea facing ,or any duluxe room ,do not go in block seven
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank severnup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakau
4.8 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,223 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
839 reviews
8.9 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
153 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
3.0 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort

Property: Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Address: Kofi Annan Street, Cape Point, Bakau, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Bakau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Bay Hotel Bakau
Ocean Bay Hotel And Resort
Ocean Bay Resort
Ocean Bay Bakau
Ocean Bay Hotel Gambia
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort Gambia/Bakau, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing