We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Nearby Hotels
$57
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveler rating
309
483
149
39
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
483
149
39
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr basscape pointsmiling coastfruit ladiesbeach barcrocodile poollocal restaurantsmini barjuice boyscalypso restaurantdeluxe roomshower cubiclegreat holidaybed and breakfastlocal guidelocal schoolgambia experience
Filter
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

In all our many trips to Africa and this being our third trip to The Gambia, we feel we know what to expect, and this includes great, friendly staff who will do whatever they can to help. Sadly, this is not the case at the Ocean Bay. Like an earlier review, a number of women on reception are formidable,rude, unsmiling and dismissive of queries and requests. It doesn't get much better with the waiting staff, who have ignored my wife on a number of occasions when asking for bottles of water, and service is generally done in a off-hand, brisk manner with no smiles etc, I could go on. This doesn't apply to all the staff however, the pool guys are lovely, great with the kids and friendly as are the reception bar ladies. One of the biggest issues, is the complete lack of towels, everyday, we have had to ask for the towels, when they eventually come, usually around 17:00. I have stayed over 180 nights in hotels this year, and never been told to wait until later in the evening for towels. We have not seen a hand towel or bath matt for a number of days despite asking, and being promised on a daily basis we would have them. There seems a lack of any management presence/visibility on a daily basis and feel this might improve the situation as the staff seem to be doing whatever they like. On a plus note, the rooms are spacious and decor is good, but our toilet flushes continually when used, only stopping after 10 mins or so on average, and was so bad in the first room we had it wouldn't stop at all, hence room move. The area around the hotel,is obviously suffering the economic downturn and is very quiet, go to the Senegambia strip if you want a better choice or bars and restaurants. It is a shame, as this hotel could have been good if not let down by the areas mentioned. We won't be coming again, and I would not recommend it either, and if anyone from the hotel reads this, I am still sat in room at 17:30 on the 24th December having to share a towel, and wont be making your carols as I can't shower. We are sadly here until the 4th January, but would prefer to move hotels.

Room Tip: Any in another hotel
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SchoolofScience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Ocean bay Hotel classes it's self as five star but in reality it is only worth three star's
I am basing my review on bedroom 715 i cannot comment on other rooms.
Check in was fast with a cold flannel and a lovel glass of refreshing lemongrass tea,a good start .
My bedroom was a standard room which is badly in need of an update ,horrible dark funiture old fasioned t/v but clean and quite large,the toilet would not stop flushing ,and when it was fixed,hardly flushed at all,but worse of all my bedrom overlooked a white wall i asume the block which covered it was mouldontop of the wall was broken glass then on top barbed wire ,it looked more like a prison ,to be fair if you ignored the wall and looked over you had a see view,i was lucky as i had a first floor bedroom the people below would only see this horrible wall,thats block 7 block 1 which i saw was near the staff canteen which i guess could be noisy and again over looked a wall so i gues i was lucky at least it was quite.
The food i found was bland fortunatly i was BB and i recomend this to ever one as there are plenty of places to eat out side the hotel and very good they are to,a main course with a drink was about £5 which was the average price every where,except for the hotel
Breakfast was your typical hotel breakfast not fantasic but not terrible plenty of choice.
Trying to get a coffee was an art form,first you have to get the attention of a waiter,there trained not to look you in the eye,then if your lucky they come over,heaven help you if there is know cup on the table as then the go away never to be seen again the same applies with milk,when i was there they had a lot of people from the hotel school (free labour) so they did there best but there seemed no one there to show them what to do.
Entertainment was standard Africian fair
The good points location fantastic but better still and what made my holiday was the staff .they call it the smiling coast and it's true,i cannot praise the staff enough which made the short comings of the hotel not to matter so much.
To sum up great location wonderful staff in need of an update,food could be better but would i go back .bet your life i would

Room Tip: Try and avoid block 7 and block 1
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank severnup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just returned from two weeks holiday at he beginning of December 2012 at this fantastic hotel. (Our fifth stay).

The hotel is spread out over several blocks and the grounds are spacious and well laid out.
The standard rooms are not in as good a location as the deluxe ones which are nearer the beach and larger. We have stayed in both types and prefer to pay for an upgrade to the deluxe ones because of the location and having more room. All rooms are cleaned daily and kept to a high standard.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis as we prefer to eat out at night. Breakfast is more than adequate, caters for all tastes and there is a good selection of hot and cold food.

Day and night time entertainment is provided but as we did not use these facilities we can not comment on them.

The hotel is right next to the large beach where free sun beds, towels and sun shades are provided. All are well spaced out.

Turn right as you go onto the beach and you will find the fruit juicers, ask for Solomon who will press you a freshly made fruit juice of your choice, delicious.

Next are the fruit ladies who can provide you with plates of freshly sliced fruit of your choice.

A little further on and you will find the professional bird watchers, ask for little David who will provide all your bird watching requirements.

You can also fish directly from the beach or take a boat out to sea and maybe catch a barracuda.

Immediately outside of the hotel you will see the registered guides to show you all the sites either locally or further afield, ask for Mamou as he has vast experience and is very knowledgeable.

There are a great selection of places to eat within easy walking distance but we would recommend turning left out of the hotel and going to Bella's about 100 metres down the road, the food is delicious and vey reasonably priced. After your meal head back down the road to Mr Bass for a bit of entertainment.

Overall this hotel and its location take a lot of beating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PATRICIAandKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We Stayed at the Ocean Bay from 26th November for 11 nights. We arrived late afternoon after a 6 and a half hour flight from Gatwick with Thomas Cook. We were greeted with a cold flannel and refreshing Lemongrass drink. Check in was fast and efficient.

Our Room was clean and comfortable and any issues we had were fixed straight away. We stayed B & B and although you can upgrade locally to Half Board or "All Inclusive light" I wouldn't personally recommend this as although the Cape Point area is relatively quiet, there are plenty of Restaurants to choose from locally at reasonable prices and only a short taxi away is Senegambia which is more lively.

We did have Breakfast every morning and there is a good choice of cereals, juices, fruit and cooked breakfast. Tea and Coffee service can be a bit hit and miss but you can help yourself from the table next to the toaster. Unfortunately I can't comment on any other meals as we always eat out of the hotel

The hotel is on the beach and it was easy to grab a sun bed on the odd day we relaxed. There's only a couple of beach sellers and they were quite friendly, well policed by security and nowhere near as persistent as other places we have been. If you spend some time on the beach do go and grab some fresh juice from the boys at their bars. We can recommend "Fax" who runs the first bar to the right of the hotel. He always had a smile and seemed genuinely pleased every time we bought a juice from him.

Our holiday was made extra special though by the people we met. Especially our new friend Lamin "Moonlight". He works as one of the official guides outside the hotel. He offered to take us for a walk round the local area on our first day and talked about lots of things to do either walking distance or short taxi ride away.

By the time we came home he had shown us the Monkey Park, Crocodile pool, Fishing port and a local School, as well as trips further afield to Serrukunda market, reptile farm and Paradise beach and over to St James Island. He even took us to a local village football final (an amazing experience).

Overall The Ocean Bay Hotel and cape Point were a perfect base to get out and explore The Gambia. There are a lot of places to see in the world but we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Stayed in Block 6 perfect view of the beach
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MargateTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Fist time visit to the Gambia. Thew birds wake you up in the mornings but its a pleasant wake up. The breakfast was quite good with a huge variety. I find it hard to believe anybody can complain. Come out of the back of the hotel and onto the beach. Go left for some Juice from Justice or right for some fruit salad from Maria and juice from Mr Fax. If you go out the front you will be followed. Get the help of a local guide. You will get a load of bull from them from time to time but they can stave off other bums. They can become annoying over time by repeating them selves about how they enjoy us coming here and how they need money. If it gets too much ask them politely to leave you for the rest of the day and thank them. Give them 50 D which is about £1. You can exchange English notes when coming out of the front of the hotel turn right. His name is Mr Fixit. You get a better rate then here. He gave us 52:£1. We got 47 at best. Go and see Mr Barry the bird man as somebody has already suggested. He get to the hotel at 5pm on Saturday and Sunday i think. Ask him about other tours. Overall a great place to explore.

Room Tip: Fist time visit to the Gambia. Thew birds wake you up in the mornings but its a pleasant wake up. The breakfast was quite good with a huge variety. I find it hard to believe anybody can complain. Come out of the back of the hotel and onto the beach. Go left for some Juice from Justice or right for some fruit salad from Maria and juice from Mr Fax. If you go out the front you will be followed. Get the help of a local guide. You will get a load of bull from them from time to time but they can stave off other bums. They can become annoying over time by repeating them selves about how they enjoy us coming here and how they need money. If it gets too much ask them politely to leave you for the rest of the day and thank them. Give them 50 D which is about £1. You can exchange English notes when coming out of the front of the hotel turn right. His name is Mr Fixit. You get a better rate then here. He gave us 52:£1. We got 47 at best. Go and see Mr Barry the bird man as somebody has already suggested. He get to the hotel at 5pm on Saturday and Sunday i think. Ask him about other tours. Overall a great place to explore.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews