We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“african village hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
African Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
london
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“african village hotel”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

if your looking for luxury this hotel is not for you .....i stayed here in december 2012 it was a great exsperance food was ok.......plenty of night life on the strip....just keep from wow night club its full of hookers........the hotel is clean and staff are really nice can't do enough for u

Room Tip: dont go there try other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levelhead2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    50
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
8
37
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Gambia and our 2nd to the African Village - we went with The Gambian Experience. We flew with Monarch and I was very impressed with plane service and food.

Hotel
On arrival to hotel it looked the same and this time we stayed in a sea view suite. There was a smell in our room through out our stay which we could not find the source of, rubbish was in a large bag outside our window and remained there with a collection of empty larger bottles until we left. Some days our bed was not made and the sheets were not changed, they were old worn frayed and had holes in them.and the bed mattress just sank in the middle. the pillows were hard and wafer thin.

The shower was good in that there was an individual water heater in room so no problem there but it is a hand held shower with nothing to hook the shower into this can make washing your hair etc difficult. the taps and toilet flush and all door handles were rough with wear and looked grimy. The wardrobe was so bad we kept our clothes in our cases.

When we stayed here last approx 4 yrs ago the place was basic and worn but clean and cleaners were around the hotel daily moping and etc - we did not notice the same level of activity this visit in fact i did not see a mop!

Food was OK again not as good with less breakfast choice than last visit and service was classic GMT (Gambian Time) - i.e. slow but cooked from fresh.

Structurally we notices a lot of large cracks on balconies etc and the wooden veranda outside the restaurant overlooking the sea was bowing and some joists were missing. We choose not to sit out there! We also noticed management staff on laptops writing reviews!! so be aware not all of them are from real tourists.

As for the area we noted there a more cafe's and bars and mini markets some were good some were not but it was nice to have the choice. Bumsters are still there waiting on beach and outside the hotel they seemed to work in groups this time and appeared much more organised. I was pick pocketed by one in local bar. Also be wary that they are still doing the come visit my family cam and the I'm a happy man just married come and meet my wife.... They are also planting drugs on tourist and calling police who are corrupt and you have choice of on the spot fine of approx 5k sterling or prison 3 years.

Gambia is 90% Muslim they now have stick laws against inappropriate behavior homosexuality is one of them (I was with my civil partner - we have been together almost 15 years. The president has made it clear he will not accept civil partnerships and has threatened to behead (he brought the death penalty back last year) any Gambian gays. To be safe we had to tell people we were sister in law and be aware of our body language which sullened the mood a little. Last year 18 Spanish tourists were arrested for being gay and kept there for 6 months before charges dropped.Their current leader had announced to his people the cure for AIDs is to eat a banana!

Prostitution was still everywhere - in a seedy bar outside young youths were outside dealing and inside women (Gambian girls) dressed in next to nothing, these men spoke with white tourist men and off a girl would go with him, they also came into the hotel and some were very young - teens. Bear in mind that drugs and prostitution is illegal there also Muslim women would cover up and wear something on their heads etc. There are also older white women some in their 70's with young men same set up but they work freelance.

We went to Gambia this time to cross over border to Fathala reserve in Senegal and had a FAB day via The Gambian experience who kept us safe and gave us the experience of travelling on ferry etc without the risks. - see pics.

Conclusion
This was a out last visit to the Gambia until current leadership changes, if you go there get a licensed guide or travel with a tour operator and do not believe all your told. some locals are nice hard working people but the tourist trade had attracted a less savory element and many of of them are not even Gambian. I would not recommend this hotel because it is falling apart, there are many other hotels in same price range with higher standard of cleanliness etc. Ignore bumsters once you give them eye contact they stick to you like a leach, one guest felt he was being stalked and was unable to leave the hotel. Unless you are single straight looking acting gay man or lesbian avoid, you leave yourself open for all sorts of allegations from opportunist bumsters who can get money reporting you for misconduct etc from police once you paid the high fine. Keep your belonging in a safe - one hotel tourist couple had their room ransacked and over 2k stolen.I would recommend Monarch airlines and Fathala game reserve.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is even more basic than I expected from the reviews, but after just 3 days here I'm loving it! It wouldn't suit anyone who wants luxury or extreme cleanliness, but for those who want a real African experience well away from the main tourist resorts, it's perfect. There are 12 African style round hut rooms which look very attractive, but unfortunately the other basic rooms are more like a barracks! Long rows of one storey rooms facing each other, with no view except a glimpse of palm trees. Although they have 2 beds, these are used as single rooms, which is very useful for single travellers as you don't have to pay a supplement. I haven't seen the larger rooms, which are probably more comfortable. The single rooms have a fan, 2 armchairs, large wardrobe and small bathroom with hot water shower. They're quite shabby, but linen and towels are beautifully clean and can be changed as often as you want. The hotel has a delightful pool, attractive restaurant and a lovely terrace overlooking the sea. The best thing for me is that a long flight of steps leads to a sunbathing area just above the beach, which is secluded and private, with a bar, massage available, and a shop selling beautiful local clothes, bags etc. The beach itself is covered at high tide, but a pleasant place to stroll on the sands at low tide, though it's dangerous for swimming due to rocks. The buffet breakfast is quite simple but good quality and you can eat as much as you like. There's a wide choice on the menu for other meals, at a very reasonable price. The evening entertainment is superb, I have enjoyed 3 nights of wonderful Gambian drumming and dancing by excellent musicians, and the dancers wear traditional and colourful costumes. They have Gambian style entertainment 7 nights a week, not to be missed!

The hotel is situated in a small typically Gambian coastal town, with a busy market selling everything, a lovely craft market, plenty of restaurants and cafes, and a great friendly atmosphere. It's just a short walk to the Botanical Gardens which are beautiful and very calm, and you can walk further on to Cape Point and its huge magnificent sandy beach, lovely for swimming. From the hotel you can also walk through the sandy streets and alleyways of the town to the famous Sacred Crocodile Pool, a great experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel to unfussy single people who want the real Africa, and enjoy meeting local people.

Room Tip: For economy, choose the smaller rooms for singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank smallspender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We didn't have too much expectations about the hotel. We booked the hotel through our Finnish travel agency. We booked the best room (sea view apartment) and weren't disappointed. Just don't book the cheapest room in the hotel, take one of the sea view rooms or the apartments. The atmosphere and service at the hotel were great and if you book the sea view room, you will get the best view over the ocean in The Gambia. The hotel restaurant was ok, but you can also find good food nearby the hotel area in Bakau.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room or a sea view apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vesku V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Gambia........a holiday like no other. Ive stayed in a few hotels over the years in The Gambia this one is the smallest and most basic who ever it ticks alot of boxes and if you're on a budget you wont go far wrong in this place.

In Bakau a few mile out the the ''tourist'' trap bbut a short cheap taxi ride if you want it, African Village is clean, secure, friendly and the food aint bad either. Choice of in compond huts or a nice sea view room, huts are dearer but if its just the 2 of you get a sea view room, great view and nice and quiet. Great little private beach also a decent enough pool.

Particular liked breakfast as you can sit out on the restaurant balcony overlooking the sea in the lovely sunshine.

Not as big or showy as many of the hotels in Gambia but the price reflects that if you want a cosy place just to chill in thats quiet without loads of people this is the place, bargain!

Also there is a supermarket up the road if you go out and turn left however as its Gambia expect to find a friend or 2 on the way, to be expected thou just smile and enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pej78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Staff and food good. A way out from night life but taxi will take you their for D150 very cheap.
Rooms need referbashing along with parts of hotel but cannot complain for the price. We checked 3 rooms and the 4th we excepted. Went in Ramadam so every thing shut but still had a good time. Only seemed to be 3 in hotel but still good service and breakfast was realy good.
Nobody on the take at hotel but once you leave expect to be asked for money, taxes etc but this happens all over Gambia. Worth it's money and you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Have a look at other rooms until you find one you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ern13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

If you're looking for a place in Gambia that is clean, excellent value, friendly staff and a nice swimming pool - then this could be just what you're looking for. It isn't 5* and it doesn't pretend to be, you will know by the price you are paying it is very inexpensive.
I was travelling alone so they kindly upgraded me to one of the larger ocean view rooms with a private balcony so it was a lovely place to relax and read a book or two.
The rooms are clean and the linen changed as often as you want. They don't bug you all day long - you get that once you leave the confines of the hotel! - and I felt safe and secure throughout my stay.
Breakfast is buffet style and adequate, there's fruit, cereal, bread and some form of cooked eggs each day - the made to order omlettes are fantastic!
Interestingly the exchange rate given by the hotel was the same as the rate at the banks, except for one day when it was actually better than the bank rate!
The staff were very helpful and always willing to do their best for us guests and the artisans down on the hotel's 'private' beach were lovely - they didn't harrass you but waited for you to show an interest in their various artwork, and Maria gives great massages and beauty treatments in her little treatment room on the beach.
From what I could see it was child friendly, elderly people friendly, couple friendly and singleton friendly too. A great place to base yourselves and explore Gambia and Senegal.

Room Tip: Definitely try and get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakau
0.9 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
4.0 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,221 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Lemon Creek Hotel Resort
2.1 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Village Hotel

Property: African Village Hotel
Address: 98 Atlantic Boulevard, Bakau, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Bakau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bakau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — African Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your African Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Village Bakau
Hotel African Village
African Village Hotel Gambia/Bakau, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing