We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must if you visit The Gambia!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katchikally Crocodile Pool

Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Bakau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must if you visit The Gambia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was our second visit to Crocodile pool. We went last year too. We enjoyed both the visits. To walk amongst and touch the Crocodiles is amazing! Whether your nine or ninety you will enjoy it. And what great photos to show family and friends, when you get back! It only costs 50 dalasis to get in too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ledhead20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    181
    80
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Visited Twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We visited the first time with a guide from outside the Ocean Bay hotel. Jagen Leigh walked us through the museum and gave great explanations to all the displays. He then let us spend plenty of time with crocodiles including making sure we got to sit in the most perfect place to have a drink whilst viewing the crocodiles.
We visited a second time on the 4 in 1 day trip with ARCH Tours. They gave use adequate time with the crocodiles but we did not go in the museum so I am glad we had been the day before with Jagen.
Thoroughly enjoyed both visits.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 190722Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had a guide from the hotel and just paid him a tip. We walked from Ocean Bay through the township to the Crocodile Sanctuary and that was eye opening as well. 50 Dalasi to get in and nearly 100 Crocodiles to see really close. They were quite placid as they had been fed earlier but they did move around. we were able to touch them and take pictures and even shake their 'hands'. They protect the newly hatched crocs so there are loads and they have no enemies,

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blacktrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Went with our guide Lamin Bojang from cape point

Isn't a huge attraction but the museum whilst small is incredibly interesting with some great photos.

The croc pool itself is fun and we saw probably a dozen crocs and touched one ( cue comedy photo of us looking terrified)

Small donation for upkeep is asked for near the pool but seriously if you can't spare a quid then why bother!

Helpful?
Thank anon100123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

An enjoyable was to spend an hour. Only cost £1 to get in. Had a look around museum which was quite interesting looking at costumes worn for certain tribal ceremonies, and local instruments. Learnt about local area and culture. Saw an incredible Elephant tree and felt like Tarzan climbing and swinging on vines. Crocodiles were great and not every day you get to pet a real croc. Saw lots of birds and other wildlife. Would recommend a visit. Also enjoyed the walk to Katchikally, through local streets, interacting with the local people and experiencing their every day life.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katchikally Crocodile Pool also viewed

Banjul, Banjul Division
Kotu, Banjul Division
 
Banjul, Banjul Division
 

Been to Katchikally Crocodile Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing