We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crocodile Dundee?”

Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Bakau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We went to the pool with one for the guides as part of a 2 hours walking tour. This was the one place in Bakau where i would advise using a guide, getting there involved some back streets which would have been hard to navigate without local knowledge. The small museum was interesting and gave some details of Gambian history. At the pool you can stroke Charlie ( a 5ft croc) and see lots more in the pool. After visiting the pool get your guide to show you around Bakau, take note where the bars are and the Egyptian restaurant.This is where the fish are landed at 5.00pm each day, come back later and sit on the balcony,with a beer and watch .

Date of experience: February 2013
1  Thank yorkshire101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"small museum"
in 25 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 29 reviews
"fish"
in 31 reviews
"musical instruments"
in 14 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 7 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 16 reviews
"local guide"
in 13 reviews
"small area"
in 5 reviews
"open sewer"
in 6 reviews
"poor area"
in 6 reviews
"cape point"
in 9 reviews
"take pictures"
in 6 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 5 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 7 reviews
"the main road"
in 5 reviews
"taxi driver"
in 5 reviews
"stroke"
in 66 reviews
Filter

358 - 362 of 588 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Walked from our hotel which was an experience in itself, taken into a museum which was beside the pool first. This was mildly interesting but while you are there you might as well do it. The croc pool has crocs everywhere you look you can trip over them if you are not careful. The guides probably have plenty of knowledge but I left there not knowing much more about them than before i went in.

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank dears99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We first visited this attraction - a sacred crocodile pool - some 30 years ago. Then, you entered the pool by climbing down a metal ladder, stepped through the sleeping crocs, patted them and had your photo taken. Next time we visited, around 20 years ago, we were told that tourists could no longer enter the crocodile area. This time we were told the same at our hotel but decided to visit anyway, for old times' sake. In a green taxi, the return journey is 800 dalasi (£16) from the Sheraton. However by local yellow-and-green taxi, easily hailed from the main road, it is half that.

Accompanied by our taxi driver, we paid the 50 dalasi entry fee and looked though the wire mesh at the large number of crocodiles, some moving about. They were bigger than I remembered from previous visits. Then - oh yes! - we saw that some tourists had been guided into the crocodile area, apparently through a gap in the fence. I rushed over there and was indeed able to enter the pool surrounds and stroke a crocodile or two. Excellent. It is quite an experience because the crocodiles are big enough to do someone serious damage if they were in the mood for it. This is one of the better excursions available and a cheap few hours out by local taxi.

Date of experience: February 2013
2  Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very good and interesting visit once you got used to crocodiles roaming round the area. The museum attached to the pool was interesting and our guide was very knowledgeable about the musical instruments on display.

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank SuesPinner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Make time you will learn alot and see the crocs,
Only 2-3 hours from Hotel Ocean bay.
Ratty (Tour guide ) One off the best for this trip and you will come back with a smile on your face

Date of experience: January 2013
2  Thank t99joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katchikally Crocodile Pool also viewed

Banjul, Banjul Division
Kotu, Banjul Division
 
Bakau, Banjul Division
 

Been to Katchikally Crocodile Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing