We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crocodiles on the loose”

Pinner, Middlesex
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Crocodiles on the loose”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very good and interesting visit once you got used to crocodiles roaming round the area. The museum attached to the pool was interesting and our guide was very knowledgeable about the musical instruments on display.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuesPinner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    187
    85
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skegness
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lot of history”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Make time you will learn alot and see the crocs,
Only 2-3 hours from Hotel Ocean bay.
Ratty (Tour guide ) One off the best for this trip and you will come back with a smile on your face

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank t99joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique experience!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I greatly enjoyed visiting the crocodile pool, having only seen them in zoo's and wildlife parks this was a completely different experience.
When you arrive there is a museum about Gambian culture, which was really interesting - everything from tribal juju's to musical instruments.
The crocs all looked happy and content, a few were sunbathing when we were there and we got to stroke and have our photographs taken with one of the crocodiles. A must do if you visit!

Helpful?
Thank Royalchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin..”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Just lots of crocodiles in a pool.. You can touch them and have photos taken which is nice, there's a museum before they take you in, we did this as part of a day trip and wouldn't have gone there off our own backs

Helpful?
Thank Vickyannex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stroking the crocks”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Katchikally Crocodile Pool was one of the best places in Bakau. The place would have been a little bit difficult to find without the omw guide but whit the blue shirted local guide we found the place easily and were not troubled by the bumsters. The whole Katchikally park was amazing, the guide was telling us about the history, stories from the late years and how the crocks sometimes run away to the near by woman garden. That made us look behind our back at the jungle trails. The pool itself wasn't really big but there were many crocks. I did't stroke charlie even tough I was quite scared. The price to get to the park was peanuts so I really recommend it to everyone. Take water with you because there wasn't many places to buy it inside the park.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaSuFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katchikally Crocodile Pool also viewed

Kotu, Banjul Division
Banjul, Banjul Division
 
Banjul, Banjul Division
 

Been to Katchikally Crocodile Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing