We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilled beach resturant serving fresh fish”

SUNSHINE Beach Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 23 Restaurants in Bakau
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: African, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our lovely beach is relaxed, quiet and hassle free. Why not come and get your bodies tan on our sunbeds free of charge?We also offer the best Canarian-Spanish, Gambian and International cuisine at a very reasonable price in our garden or terrace.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chilled beach resturant serving fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely spot, well worth a visit. Chilled out atmosphere. Delicious food, try their homemade fish fingers.

They do reggae nights at the weekend which we unfortunately missed. We were told not to walk there at night due to lack if street lighting but you can get one of the tourist guides to walk you there safely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmMcDermid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Less Touristy :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We visited this bar and restaurant on a number of occasions, there were more locals than tourists here which is what we prefer, the food was good and reasonabley priced, we had lunch and a few drinks here one day and the bill was £10.00. We had an evening meal here aswell, for 2 courses and 2 drinks each it as just under £20. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaJane55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Bar in Bakau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you are staying in the ocean bay hotel the Sunshine Bar is only 10 minutes walk along the beach. Call in for a cold beer, or a light lunch. All the staff are very helpful,and like the rest of the country love to talk. we were there in the afternoon when the sun was hot, we just sat and talked over a drink, the Julbrew is less than half the price of the hotel. Many thanks to BB King and all the rest of the staff, if you don't go anywhere else give this little bar a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yorkshire101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you want to relax from a slow stroll along the beach then this is the place for you, it takes chilling out to another level. Great venue for a light lunch or just a cold beer. Excellent service from super friendly staff.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dears99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best canarian potatoes I've ever had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We found this place to be extremely empty which is a shame as the scenery is outstanding and the food is great. It is located on the beach with individual tables under grass huts. The staff are very friendly, especially Scott who will sit down and have a chat with you about what Bakau has to offer. We only had a snack in the restuarant but the canarian potatoes were great. Highly recommend to go here around 5pm when the sun is starting to set.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katya_d87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SUNSHINE Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Bakau, Banjul Division
Bakau, Banjul Division
 

Been to SUNSHINE Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing