We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up Close!”

Khama Rhino Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Serowe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Up Close!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

With the current threat to all rhino, this was an interesting find. You are able to drive around on your own and there are many rhino to be seen. It was heart-warming to see them so comfortable with vehicles around and that they are obviously not nervous. What a wonderful initiative to have the Botswana Army responsible for the rhino's safety. Can't think of a better use for an Army!! The chalets are 'rustic' but comfortable and the food was adequate. Sitting in the dining area or having a drink at the bar and watching the elephant and other wildlife at the waterhole was a treat. After all ..... we were there to see the animals and not for fine dining or five star accommodation.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CTownian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    75
    25
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, SA
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Night Drive”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We camped here as a stop over to the Pans. We camped in site B1 which was in a lovely area. Bit of a hike to the ablution block - especially in the pitch black but nice site to pitch a tent.
We had the sedan which was a problem - although they advise that all accommodation is accessible by sedan, we did need to be rescued by a bakkie at one stage. From the campsite, you cannot access the restaurant/ bar after six so require all food and drink to be with you.
We went out on a night drive. Not cheap but absolutely fantastic. Driver and guide were great and spotted all sorts including an aardvark. Knowledgeable and fun - probably the best night drive we have been on. Huge credit should go to the guides.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CHH-pretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good experience.”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

It was a good experience to visit this place, especially in the light of the threat to rhinos currently -it's a good initiative. As far as the chalet is concerned, don't expect too much. It is quite rustic, and thread bare. Don't expect too much from the food at the restaurant either, the hamburgers were like shoe-soles! But, when we chose oxtail for dinner it was delicious! They served it with very good maize porridge and the waitress was very charming. The staff at the reception was also extremely friendly and efficient.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great place to relax and enjoy the surroundings!”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The rhino sanctuary is located off the Orapa road from Serowe and is about 25km from the Serowe turnoff. The sanctuary currently covers around 4,300 hectares,however I understand that they have recently acquired more land adjoining the existing.
I have stopped at the sanctuary on a couple of occasions in chalets and have not been disappointed. Although I drive a 4x4 I would think that most of the sanctuary is available to 2 wheel drive vehicles. If you are someone who enjoys looking at game and in particular rhinos you would not be disappointed by your visit.
There is a restaurant however I would recommend self catering during your stay.
The chalets are reasonably basic but do have all the required facilities and are comfortable enough.
This is a place that I never tire of visiting!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Campsite”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Our time at Khama Sanctuary was enjoyable. We were only there for 1 night as part of an overlanding tour.

The campsite was clean, provided power points, flushing toilets and hot showers.

We also went on a game drive. The 4X4 were in good condition, the guide was extremely knowledgeable and we plenty of Rhino (including a baby!!).

Would recommend Khama Rhino Sanctuary as a worthwhile detour on your way to the Delta!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank valued09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khama Rhino Sanctuary also viewed

Maun, North-West District
Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Central District
 
Moremi Game Reserve, Okavango Delta
Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Central District
 

Been to Khama Rhino Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing