We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nothing for kids to do"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hogansburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had to go in through the main entrance to the casino to check into the hotel. Entering this entrance with kids, you get some mean glances from other adults. The entrance to the hotel should be over more to separate the crowds, etc. The customer service is okay and could be a bit better. The casino could really cash in and make families happy if they were to open an arcade to have something for the other parent that stays with the kids and the kids to do (some casinos in Mississippi have done this!). Making one of their showrooms into an arcade may help them drum more business than they thought they could. A free breakfast would help them keep up with the competition especially the Comfort Inn right next door. Nothing too fancy. A breakfast setup like Best Western or LaQuinta could help them keep their guests happier and bring in return business. There is a need for a shelf over the toilet to hold extra towels and maybe a shelf in the shower to hold shampoo and soap, etc. The slot machines are a little tight. I didn't personally see any major wins while I was walking around or while I was gambling. We were interested in seeing Canada and Messena on this trip with the kids also which we did. We were definitely happy to eat at "Dairy Queen" which we hadn't done in over a year and a half. Hotel staff and room were nice. Would return in the future to stay with specials sent in mailings and if weather is nice enough.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the lower floors. The elevators can be quite slow.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tlutz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 558 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The Akwasasne Mohawk Casino hotel is brand new and it looks like it. We stayed only for one night but loved it. Make sure you ask for the AAA/CAA rate. The rooms are large. We stayed on the 7th floor which is the highest floor. Checkin in is at 4:00, which I think is a tad late in the day and check out is at 11:00, which is a tad early. The hotel was fully booked on Saturday and no late check out was available that day. The bathroom features a marble shower. There is a flat screen tv with high def channels, a mini fridge and ample room for clothes. There is also an iron and ironing board. The bed is comfortable but the pillows are brand new and stiff. The room lock features a brand new tap to unlock doorknob.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morholt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We wanted to do something for our anniversary the first week of August. A few co-workers had mentioned that they had gone to the Akwesasne Casino and really enjoyed themselves. We gave them a call and booked a room at the casino and headed out. We only live 2 hours away so it was just a nice getaway. Upon arriving I was very surprised at how new/clean the hole resort was (Hotel/Casino/Bingo Hall). We had a room on the 6th floor. It was very clean, King bed, refridgerator overall very nice. Casino was well laid out, help yourself pop machines and overall great service. Great selection of food choices (4). We ate at the Native Buffet for dinner
and the sports bar "Sticks" for lunch just before we left. Would go back again for a "Quick get away"

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ArnpriorBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Akwesasane Mohawk Casino this past week for 2 nights. My husband was doing some work in the area so I decided to tag along. The hotel is very nice & the rooms are reasonably priced. Everything was modern, clean & bright. The hotel rooms are all smoke-free, but there is smoking allowed in some parts of the casino. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. The sitting area in our room was rather small and it was awkward when watching TV in the evening. The satellite TV system in the hotel is terrible! It cuts in & out constantly. The hotel provides a good selection of bathroom amenities i.e. Shampoo, Conditioner, Make-up remover etc... I found the bottles were very hard to get the conditioner and lotion out of, I basically had to waste half of each package.

We ate at Sticks (sports bar) our first night & the food was "ok" and our waitress was very slow and unattentive, the prices were great though so it all balanced out I guess. The next evening we ate at the Native Harvest Buffett, it was also "ok", just your standard buffett stuff, it was also jam-packed with customers (it was Senior's 1/2 price night) which made it very cramped and busy.

I work out daily, so I was quite happy to see that the hotel had an exercise/fitness room, that is of course until I walked into it.... The equipment is not very sturdy and both elipticals make a loud clunking sound, the best part though is that the "fitness" room is directly above one of the smoking areas in the casino & so it absolutely reaks of fresh cigarette smoke (it comes through the wall vent). I was going to check out the spa for a pedicure, but they only do high-end facial treatments and massages etc... It did not seem very busy. If you are a non-smoker, you also will not appreciate having to walk past countless smokers sitting on benches at the main entrance to the hotel, it was not very "resort like".

The hotel is located in Hogansburg, NY & there is not a lot to do other than visit the casino, it's a very small town. The closest towns are Massena or Malone, NY and both are about 20 minutes away. Shopping is certainly limited, but there is a decent TJ Maxx in nearby Massena. There are no true grocery stores or pharmacies in Hogansburg, NY either. It's kind of in the middle of nowhere.

All in all this place is ok and if we are in the area on business again I would certainly stay there. I would not choose it as a "vacation or resort" destination though... It's really just a nice hotel attached to a casino.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sistersami1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you were a visitor or member of this Casino 7 or 8 years ago, you'll remember all the great things that made this Casino unique and fun to be at.
Then,the economy went sour! People didn't have jobs. People had little money to spend at the Mohawk and as a result, dealers and employees were laid off and the Casino was forced to make several cut-backs and changes that seemed to put this little Oasis in limbo.
But in the last year we've noticed some interesting changes. The Casino has held it's head above water and it has not only survived,but has made many new additions that seems to be bringing the crowds back.
They've added the Bingo Palace..several new restaurants,more machines..and a brand new 7 storey hotel that just opened,to service it's customers. The hotel is absolutely beautiful! Lots of American Native architecture appears everywhere and the rooms are out of this world. There is also a pool on the first floor with patio chairs and tables around it.
We stayed there on Monday night and were well received at the front check-in countertr by a clerk named "Richard" who was very pleasant and polite. He made us feel like family.
We checked out all the changes in the Casino and we are convinced that this Casino will rise up again as the economy gets better and the crowds will once again fill this lovely Casino.
There just a few things left to do .... THE GAMING TABLES NEED TO INCREASE TO THE AMOUNTS THEY HAD IN THE PAST...and the Casino needs to have a "food court" or small concession with food at a late hour for those who are hungry. We believe this will take care of itself as the crowds start coming back. Whether you win or lose...this Casino is on it's way back and will be stronger than ever.Check it out.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

very nice place hotel casino bingo really good restaurants good service
a really nice place to go seems to be lots of winners staff are very friendly and helful
in your request very good location just across from the canadian border

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beverly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Even though we stayed on a weekend, it was very quiet on our floor. The room was average in size as compared to other hotels and did include a refrigerator and a keurig coffee maker. The housekeeper was very willing to give us extra coffee which was very nice. The bed was comfortable, but not as nice as some of the hotels in which we have stayed. The check in experience was just ok, they had the wrong rate when we checked in, good thing we had our confirmation. The only negative comment is related to the elevators. They have to be the slowest elevators in history! For a brand new hotel, this was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hogansburg
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Massena
98 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
374 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
59 reviews
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 12 in Cornwall
220 reviews
18.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Malone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort

Address: 873 State Route 37, Hogansburg, NY 13655-1800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Hogansburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hogansburg
Price Range: $127 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort is owned by the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe of Akwesasne, NY. The Casino Resort property includes 130,000 square feet of gaming with more than 1,800 of the newest slot and video poker titles, a large selection of table games which includes a High Limit Salon, and the 540 seat Mohawk Bingo Palace. AMCR offers a variety of entertainment with Live DJ's in Cascades Lounge and Sticks Sports Bar & Grill features 16 high definition TVs and 12 specialty craft beers on tap. There are four dining restaurants which include the contemporary Native Harvest Buffet, the award-winning Maple Room Steakhouse, and Rapids Food Court. In addition, AMCR offers a 150-room hotel which features convention and meeting space, the relaxing Sweetgrass Spa, and an indoor pool. AMCR is the premier resort destination in New York's North Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing