We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Night is Great”

Native Harvest Buffet
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Hogansburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Trenton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Italian Night is Great”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The buffet offers great selection of salads. Roast Beef is succulent and the made by request italian is to die for. Nice selection of sugar free desserts and they make a fabulous bread pudding. A must try for the price - Monday and Wednesday are half price for seniors and you can't beat that.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redrocket982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    52
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

When we went into the buffet I was surprised how small is was - if you want crabs legs you pay extra, the room with the food in needs a better layout too when its busy impossible to move around. Variety was basic plain food nothing special. I expected allot better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Could've eat more”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

The staff was nice, and it was not too over price, 20$/head on a saturday night. The salad bar was nice, the veggies were fresh, and we had a good choice of it. Everything I ate was good, jumbo shrimps were good, the prime rib was excellent (had 2 big slices), the ribs were a bit dry, but good, I also had a bit of salmon, which was overcooked, but savoury, they have a section of sugar free deserts and some fat free frozen yogurt. My girlfriend told me the turkey was excellent. There's more, but I couldn't eat anymore, they have pizza, pastas, fried chicken, everything a great buffet has.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathieu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Went for lunch”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We went for lunch and it was okay. The desserts were a disappointment, nothing was homemade. Ravioli was good. Typical buffet food. I heard after that the beef is good at dinner, so next time we'll d that. Prime rib I think? Overall not a bad experience. Wait staff was nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“was just ok”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

It has been a year since my visit there, so maybe things have changed, or maybe not according to some recent reviews. Anyway, here is my opinion.

I was in the area for two days, and based on a friend's recommendation, tried to go to the lunch buffet on a Tuesday, but the line up was huge and was not moving, so I ventured elsewhere. Next day, Wednesday tried again, this time I went at 11.30am thinking that earlier would be better, and yes it was better lineup wise; no lineup whatsoever, so I breezed in there, and for 9.99, was among the first to get at the so called and recommended lunch buffet.

It was not horrible, but there were some disappointments. As others have said, the salad bar is excellent, but that is really not hard to do. The disappointments were, among the hot foods offered, the ribs looked great, but were nearly impossible to separate from the bone, very tough, but the sauce was great, and if you were to satisfy with licking off the sauce no problem, but the meat did not come off the bone without a great deal of work. The scalloped potatoes;.. and this at 11.30 or 11.40 am or so, they were congealed, meaning that the top of them was not melted but looking very gluey. A serving spoon, perhaps by the person ahead of me, was standing straight up in the center of it. I took a spoonful, but later as I ate discovered it to be very cold.

Other things were not bad. I forget what the fish was,but it was ok, and the salad bar as I sad before was very good. For 9.99 it is a fair deal, but nothing I would recommend to anyone. Just a reasonable meal for the price. Also, as some others have said, the desserts are not special, lots of choice, and surely you can find one thing that is good, for me it was lemon meringue pie, and lots more choices, but just very ordinary and nothing to write home about.


Sorry, but my buddies said the buffet is excellent, and we will have to agree to disagree.

for me, it is decent value for the price, plenty to find for a satisfying meal, but nothing very special to recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovemydogs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Native Harvest Buffet also viewed

Hogansburg, St. Lawrence County
Hogansburg, St. Lawrence County
 
Hogansburg, St. Lawrence County
Massena, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to Native Harvest Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing