We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow Cove Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Himrod
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Cove Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Himrod
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We loved staying at the Rainbow Cove Motel. We loved having the lake view right at our doorstep, and watching the sun rise over the lake. The bonfires were perfect for October! The owners were friendly and helpful, and overall we were 100% pleased. The restaurant served great food for both breakfast and dinner. We wish there were more places like this! -Two travellers from Pittsburgh

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

tiny little cove right on lake seneca -- beautiful spot for a cozy little retreat. Friendly people, peaceful atmosphere. There is a beautiful waterfront to walk along, great sitting spots, they have boats to rent, and at night a big bonfire was lit.

Restaurant had nice food and you can take a bottle from the local vineyards in for BYOB.

Room Tip: Stay on 2nd floor - ceilings are thin and you can hear footsteps above pretty easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxsiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We found this motel online and could have stayed for a week. It was peaceful and pleasant. We loved the surroundings:fireflies, campfire, gazebo, skipping rocks by the pier, the paddleboat, pingpong, shuffleboard, the pool, the field out back, sitting outside our motel door, the motel right across from the lake. It was just wonderful. The place is run by a helpful couple. He came and played guitar with my husband the next morning by the pool. It was simply magical. We all loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were traveling on an 1800 mile motorcycle trip with another couple and stayed one night at this motel. It was amazing, the accommadations, food and hospatality were exceptional. All that was missing was Patric Swayze. Thank you so much. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011camping2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed here as part of a USA touring holiday 25th May to 1st June 2011. The motel is on the east shore of Lake Seneca, part of the FInger Lakes in New York State.

The location is idyllic and the accommodation excellent. This is a family-run motel and the owners and staff provided a warm and excellent service. It is an ideal base to tour other lakes in the vicinity as well as reknowned state parks such as Watkins Glen.

We cannot recommend this motel and its location highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indicator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennellville, New York
Level Contributor
237 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

If you've ever driven down rt.14 from Geneva to Watkins Glenn on the wine trail you might have wondered to yourself, "I wonder what it's like to have a vacation place down by the water. That lake is so beautiful.There's no way I'll ever have that kind of opportunity." Well, you can and you should.Rainbow Cove really suits my fancy. It's on the water and seems secluded but only a 12 minute drive to Watkins Glen. The rooms are good sized. We had a porch outside our back door (rm25) and a view of that lake that was spectacular. They have an outdoor pool (not open yet) a game room with real shuffle-board and a pool table. The exercise room has a few cardio machines. Breakfast in the restaurant was good and inexpensive. They have a small motor boat to rent. This is a resort, but a small one with a very laid back style. The only complaint I have is with the beds. They were not comfortable at all. But that's really a minor quibble. The price is right too. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verybigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

Jeff and Helen are great host.............we meet wih many of our friends that we met over the years, and enjoy there company, over a glass of wine, or at the bondfires that Jeff makes for us at night.......The staff is friendly, and caring, the pool is delightful on a summer day, and just enjoying the view from our rooms, or from the dock relaxing with a cup of coffee.......We are sad as this summer we were able to visit 4 times, and our last year for going to Rainbow Cove, as they have put in a NO PET POLICY..........Our Abby is sad, but as the saying goes all good things have to come to an end.......so for those that will follow us, enjoy, relax, and enjoy winnery in the area, for there are many, in the beautiful Finger Lakes of New York State............

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himrod
17.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#2 of 4 in Penn Yan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
16.1 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
15.1 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Cove Motel

Property: Rainbow Cove Motel
Address: Rte 14, Himrod, NY 14842
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Himrod
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Himrod
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Rainbow Cove Hotel Himrod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing