We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slushy!!”
Review of Miles Wine Cellars

Miles Wine Cellars
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Himrod
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take the path less travelled, feel "Miles Away". Let willows welcome you at this water's edge mansion. Enjoy estate wines, craft beers, vintage cafes and our elegant inn. Visit by boat for a truly unforgettable experience. See for yourself why National Geographic Travel calls Miles, "The most serenely gorgeous setting of any winery in the region."
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were ending our wine weekend and decided to make this one of our last stops. We had about had our fill of wine (if that's possible) so were weren't into another long sampling. They had beer for the guys and had a wine slushy with their Astoria wine...it was amazing and perfect on a hot, August day! They had some fun snacks and told us their ghost stories!! Such a beautiful place and an amazing view. We sat by the lake and enjoyed our slushies!

1  Thank Lindsay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 90 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We went to this winery for two reasons - the name Miles is our father's first name - and the location was down to the lake. The 'house' is beautiful and the view of the lake stunning!!!! The tastings were very disappointing. Of all the 7 wineries we attended - this one was by far the least of the the wine tastings. We received just a few drops of each selection - clearly not enough to even determine our likes. They also have a beer tasting - but it's done in wine glasses ..... really? It was just strange. Nice winery that could do so much more to highlight their strengths - hopefully they will soon !!!

Thank MaggieChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles W, Owner at Miles Wine Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

I hope you will plan to visit us again when the crowds are not so large, so you can get a more specialized wine tasting. Be sure to ask for the Lemberger, which won best red wine in New York or the Wisteria, which won best blush in New York. At Miles, whenever you would like a larger tasting, you need only mention it during your tasting and we are happy to oblige. We serve our beer tastings in our wine glasses for environmental and economic reasons. It saves on natural resources and keeps the tasting fee at a reasonable price. Thanks for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We went as a group of 8 women and were placed at the end of a very small bar that was already almost full to do a tasting. It was hard to enjoy the wine when you barely had room to take a drink. The view of the lake was nice.

Thank TACBAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles W, Owner at Miles Wine Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

I hope you will plan to visit again. The crowds are quite large during the weekends of August, September and October which can sometimes leave people with an unfavorable oppinion. For a more relaxed tasting experience, please visit any weekday or during the off season. Another good choice for truly personal attention, would be to book a private group wine tasting for you and your guests. Those are very popular because you can bypass the lines during the busy season and enjoy your tasting in a private room. Again, I hope you will plan to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Bring a lunch and enjoy the incredible setting! About as close to the lake as you can get at a winery on Seneca, with picnic tables available. Wines and beer available by the glass, plus some snack food. Wines are a bit hit-or-miss, but the setting is so lovely you won't mind. Taste them first, you can choose the one that's a "hit" for you! nb as of summer 2012 the only public restrooms are port-potties

Thank babystepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles W, Owner at Miles Wine Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thanks so much for your visit. I hope you will return often to watch us grow and improve. If you come soon you can still try our Lemberger and Wisteria, which were named Best Red and Best Blush in NY!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The view was pretty, but we went because in the 2012 Wine Trail guide, this was listed as having food. We stopped by for lunch and wine tasting. After visiting other wineries for lunch, we were very disappointed that all that was offered was premade roast beef sandwiches, in a refriderated case. We ordered a beer, which was only 1/2 filled in a 6oz glass (we were not sampling the beer, we ordered a beer). We were so disappointed, that we left without the wine tasting. The view was pretty, but just don't plan to go for lunch.

Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles W, Owner at Miles Wine Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Our cafe offers food Wednesday to Sunday through October. Our typical menu contains two kinds of homemade salads, salsa, hummus, trays of fruit, meat and cheese, a feature sandwich and cookies. It is made fresh and kept on display in our glass front fridge in our tastingroom. There is seating indoors or outdoors on our beautiful grounds. On the weekends, we typically offer something hot from the kitchen. This weekend, it is our Beer Boiled Brats w/our homemade Beer Mustard. All the food is homemade. We also carry about a dozen local cheeses and other local prepackaged foods. Our craft beers are $3.00 for an 8 oz. pour in a 10 oz. glass. I truly hope that you will give us another try. Come early in the day, when the selection is at it's best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miles Wine Cellars also viewed

 
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Himrod, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Miles Wine Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing