We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Savannah House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Himrod B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
“A perfect experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Me and my family spent four days, three night at The Savannah House. We stayed in the suite which was immaculate and decorated beautifully. It was very spacious. It fit my 4 children and two adults. My kids also made a comment how nice the room was when we first entered it. The scenery from the room is amazingly beautiful. There is a deck outside the room so you can enjoy the view quietly or you can go outside to the grounds where there are many chairs to sit and enjoy in the company of the other guests staying at the hotel and enjoy the view. There is plenty of yard for my kids to run outside safely and have fun. Every morning there was coffee always available, which is a huge plus for me. A major piece of the trip was made perfect by the owners of the Savannah Inn. Pat and Brenda are always available for their guests. . As I would get my morning coffee We would talk to Pat and he would give us some history of the area and sites to see. Everything we visited was from his suggestion and we loved each site we saw. The owners strive on cleanliness and meeting each guests needs to the fullest. It is also a great place for a girls vacation. The suite is perfect for up to 6 girls and the location could not be better.

Room Tip: suite was a perfect room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We were very pleased to have this family stay with us. They had never been to our area before and they spent a good deal of time exploring it and we were very happy that they had a good time. They were a joy to have and were wonderful with the other guests. Their comments are very much appreciated and we expect they will return to continue exploring. With four kids there was something of interest for each of them and we enjoyed hearing about the fun they had each day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    48
    10
    12
    13
See reviews for
38
151
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lynbrook, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I spent Sunday, Monday and Tuesday August 18, 19 and 20 at this truly lovely, beautifully decorated, and immaculate inn. We thoroughly enjoyed the comfort of the accommodations from the bed, pillows, sheets to the soft tissues, soap, herbal teas, books, magazines and all the pretty, charming and thoughtful touches of Brenda and Pat. Candles are lit outside each window in the evening and the fireside chats are very inviting. It was just beautiful. We have never felt so welcome at any motel or hotel. Brenda and Pat make you feel you are visiting friends you do not see as often as you would like. They are very special people pleasers. Their suggestions for restaurants were excellent and made our time spent there so terrific. A very pretty place lovingly cared for by very fine people we instantly liked and felt as if we knew them prior to coming to Seneca Lake. We highly recommend Savannah House Inn and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We try our best to see that each guest has a great time - and we have really wonderful guests all the time - every year - and occasionally we have guests that are really special like these guests are. As soon as they arrived, they were engaging and very positive - and they shared that with all the other guests who were here at the time. Wonderful sense of humor. All the other guests who stayed with us at this time had a thoroughly enjoyable time because of your generosity, friendship, and kindness. Thank you for such a very nice statement about your stay, and for lighting up our lives for a short period of time. Hated to see you drive out the driveway. We're tempted to pay you to stay with us again, but we know you would accept :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in the Wildflower cottage in July for a long weekend and booked the wine tour package. The "cottage" is a clean single wide trailer with an extremely musty smell. We were aware that the second bedroom was small but were told that the bed was comfortable-there was no comfort. The furniture inside was les then comfortable and the furniture outside was nasty.

The website listed that the package included a wine trail PASSPORT we had to call the front desk when our limo arrived and they did have the passports. Pat said he had wine trail CARDS for us and they had to be returned to the office before we checked out. The cards were good for nothing and we had to purchase the passports on our own, The website did list that the motel rooms included the cards but we paid extra for the driver & passports.

Pat also told me in emails that he would provide us with some wood to start a fire, when we asked about it at the office, his wifely rudely told us no. When we got back to the cottage to prepare dinner the grill literally fell apart when we touched it and there was no charcoal provided (also listed as included). We decided to go and purchase our own wood, only to discover the fire pit was completely rusted out and unusable.

We left messages & sent emails while we still at the cottage and they were not returned. I sent a letter to Pat asking for our money to be reimbursed for the passports and included a print out of the package listed on the web site and our receipt. The only response was that they changed the wording on the web site. Do yourself a favor and don't book a package from them.

The location was great and we did not let this damper our weekend, we went into it not expecting anything fancy but with the amount of money we spent it would of been nice to at least be able to bbq our steaks. I am sure we will get a nasty comment back from the owners on here because that seems to be how they respond to reviews that are not favorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We try our best to exceed our guests' expectations every time. This includes providing complementary amenities such as our Wine Trail Card and free wood for the cottage fire pits. This guest had a very nice time but was obviously upset about two items that were free and not included in the amount charged - the Wine Trail Card and the firewood. In the case of the Card, they assumed they were getting a wine trail pass which is different and has a cost. They were given our card, but chose to buy the pass at their additional cost, and then wanted us to pay for it. We explained that we would not pay for the pass, which they disagreed with. This guest also came to our motel to pick up free firewood, but we explained that our supply was low and we couldn't provide the wood. Our wood supplier had not yet delivered a new resuply, which was unfortunate and beyond our control. As for the grill and fire pit - we did agree the grill needed to be replaced (even tho it was new in April) and we replaced it 2 months ago - but the fire pit is fine. Obviously we were not able to meet this guest's expectations which is a disappointment to us despite our best efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Pat and Brenda are wonderful host. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated.
The rooms are very close to the road and it ruins the beautiful view being awakened by the noise of traffic.
That and no morning coffee I think makes the rooms overpriced. Please if that is ok for you,do not hesitate to stay at Savannah House.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Suzcheco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We enjoyed having these guests and we're sorry that they had issue with any traffic going by. We are on the same road with all the wineries and other hotels and motels. The same traffic passes us all - except that many of our guests come here after staying at other places in the area because it's in the center of the Wine Trail, convenient to all the towns around us, and much quieter and more peaceful than the places in the towns, where the guests find that there is more traffic. These guests came during the week, when traffic picks up during summer. Nights here are very, very quiet, and our guests sleep with their windows open. It is so quiet that some of our guests create "white noise" because they are not used to the degree of quiet we have here.
We're at a loss about the coffee issue. We provide complementary fresh ground coffee and teas each morning for our guests. Many of our reviews cite this and how good it is.
Nevertheless, we appreciate this guest taking the time to do a review and the nice comments they made. We hope they return and try the coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family of four had the great good luck to stay at the Savannah House for two nights during a long road trip. We were tucked away into the upstairs suite, which instantly felt like our home away from home - think old-school lake side cottage chic. Brenda and Pat are by far the nicest inn owners we have ever come across, and they doted on our kids. I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: All the rooms are queen-size, save the one suite, so for a family or small group of friends, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
What a delightful family. We were very happy to have them and the fun and joy they brought to our inn. We're very appreciative that they stayed with us and that they took the time to tell evertyone about their stay. We have 6 kids and 15 grandchildren, and we enjoyed having these children. We hope they will return again and perhaps stay longer. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, CT, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed three nights here and were completely satisfied. This is a motel but the room feels like an upscale Bed and Breakfast than a motel room. There is no pool but it has a resort feel to it - with a swing seat, Adirondack chairs on the grassy bank, and from time to time a fire pit where the guest sit around and chat. Beautiful personal touches and decoration. Brenda and Pat - the owners - are charming hosts and very helpful.

Josie the cat keeps everyone on their toes.

Nice clean bathroom, but no toiletries or hairdryer is provided. There is a microwave and fridge, but no coffee maker in the room: there is free coffee and hot water for tea in the central office.

Travellers' Tips:
If you are here for the wine and not the Raceway - check the events calendar!
We ate breakfast at The Dairyman's Diner in Pen Yan about 10 minutes north and at the Crossing Diner (a little cheaper) about 5 minutes or less South. Both were fine.
We had dinner at the Eagle in Himrod just up the road and at the Village Tavern in Hammondsport (close to Bully Hill and Dr Frank wineries) - and would go back to both.
Savards in Watkins Glen for breakfast was meh, and the Senaca Harbor Station restaurant was nice enough but they are mostly selling the view (which is very good) rather than the food.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine. There is a suite available too, I believe. As this is a roadside motel there...
See more room tips
Green Features: Good green practices - hang the decorative notice on your door if you need the room cleaned, otherwise they leave it alone.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-from-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for providing so much detail about your experiences here. It is a big help to others looking to come here - and thank you for your comments about our inn. You were wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My son and I traveled to Lake Seneca for the NASCAR race and the Savannah House was the perfect spot for us. The owners could not have been nicer. The Inn was very comfortable. Each night a fire was made and a really nice atmosphere to hang outside at night and enjoy the outdoors. The location was perfect for us as it got us away from the race scene and close to places we could rent kayaks and enjoy the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLRob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
This guest and his son were great to have stay with us. We appreciate your comments and that you took time to share them with others. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himrod
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
20.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
13.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
3.4 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savannah House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savannah House Inn

Property: The Savannah House Inn
Address: 3927 State Rd 14, Himrod, NY 14842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Himrod
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Himrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Savannah House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savannah House Inn on Seneca Lake opened in July 2008, and is uniquely decorated in a southern cottage style décor. Our rooms are private, exceptionally clean, and our guests have commented that the rooms feel like oxygen, fresh air, and like home. They often say that their sleep was the best they had experienced in a long time. More than a bed and breakfast or the average hotel or motel, The Savannah House Inn offers the ambiance of a bed and breakfast with the privacy and amenities of a romantic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Savannah House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savannah House Hotel Himrod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing