We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Savannah House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Himrod B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our winery vacation was definitely enhanced by our stay in the Savannah House's beautiful jacuzzi tub suite. The room was clean, spacious, very nicely decorated and conveniently located in the middle of the trail. We loved the lake view from the balcony! Many thanks to Pat and Brenda for the wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Try the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We appreciate your review and that you took the time to share it with future guests, and we enjoyed having you stay with us. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 273 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

I enjoyed our stay at the Savannah House Inn, The rooms were extremely clean and very tastefully decorated. The property was pretty, with nice views of the water at a distance, but no access. The proprietors were helpful with everything we requested and with information. The rooms were adequate, but not spacious. We could fit out bikes in, but there wasn't a lot more floor space.

I have only good things to say, but fundamentally this was a motel that was very well maintained and had some flair because it was nicely decorated. It was really not an Inn with the charm of an Inn. While we had a perfectly nice stay, and I would stay here again, this would not be on my list of a place I would love to come back (the area for sure, but not the motel).

There was a coffee service later in the morning (around 8 or so), but nothing else. It would have been nice for them to put out some fruit, muffins and other assorted cold things (maybe a few yogurts) for a breakfast. That would have added a nice touch. Who wants to have to get up and go to breakfast instead of just relaxing a bit.

The other issue was internet access. We were in a room toward one of the ends of the motel. Sometimes we had to take our pcs to the center of the strip and sit outside the office to get access. So if you really want good access 24/7, you might want to request a room closer to the center of the strip, near the office. I doubt that noise would be an issue in that location.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle, near the office, probably have better more consistent internet access, if that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyFunnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We feel this reviewer did try to be fair and objective, and we appreciate all the very nice comments that they made. They also were very nice and enjoyable guests. At the same time, they appeared to be more comfortable in more upscale accommodations. We disagree with their comments about our wifi. For some reason they were having difficulty with it, but no other guest in years has had difficulty with access. In fact 3 years ago, we boosted the signal to all our rooms and it is possible to sit outside in the picnic area and access the system - at least 100 feet beyond the end of the building. We are very straight foreward about what we offer, and provide many helpful photos for those trying to decide on a stay with us. We make it clear that we do not provide food - but we do provide fresh ground gourmet coffee and tea each morning at 7:30am - and we have often provided more later in the day at our guests' request - always complementary. Breakfast is available at a wonderful place about 8 minutes from us. It's also very reasonable and all our guests love it. Again - we were very pleased to have this guest stay with us and we know that in the future, for another $100 - $200/night, they can find the type of accommodations in our area that they would enjoy. Meanwhile, we offer the highest quality accommodations in the Finger Lakes for the cost. Our reviews speak for themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Savannah House Inn was perfect for our family vacation. It was quaint, beautiful and very private. The lake view was terrific and we all loved to gather around the fire pit. Pat, Brenda, Ditka, Winston and Josie were like family, so friendly and they provided everything that we needed. The rooms were extremely clean and the different color themes and assessories were very pretty. We would definitely stay there again!!!

Cindy

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennsylvaniaHecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

We were delighted to have your family stay with us for your reunion. The time we spent with you and your family reminded us of why we decided to do this business. You couldn't have been more gracious and friendly. Your review is very much appreciated and we hope you continue to visit us in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My Wife and I along with two other couple booked a stay at The Savannah House Inn for a tour of the Finger Lake Region. Upon arrival I was shocked to find the AC units were floor models instead of window units or central air. It was a warm weekend and that required the unit to run and it was very loud and made it hard to sleep. The A/C in he suite was simply too small to cool off a room of that size.

I also noted that the pine trim in the rooms that were painted white was in bad need of another two coats of paint. The bathroom was extremely small and cramped and no traditional complimentary small bottles of shampoo or conditioner were offered or in the room; this is a normal amenity found in all Hotels/B&B's I've ever stayed in.

Although this is listed as a Bed and Breakfast; DON'T plan on getting breakfast here...there isn't one offered. In fact if you are early to rise plan on driving 3-4 miles to get a cup of coffee there isn't a pot in any of the rooms but the suite. The suite has a coffee pot but no coffee or filters. Although if you asked for it they did provide it. Forgive me but I would think if you have guest coming you'd want to be sure to simply provide that or make sure it was there so your guest don't feel as they are imposing on you by having to ask for it.

Although over all we had a good trip the common amenities were lacking. However, if you asked for it they offered it. For the price some things are just expected. I would stay here again but I would stay away from the packages. You can find plenty on your own and there are plenty of to do near by.

Room Tip: The Suite is way too hot and the AC is not big enough to cool the entire suite. In the other rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Naturally we are disappointed to receive this review. More than that - we are completely surprised, because comments and behavior by these guests during their stay was exactly the opposite. We agree completely with the writer - we are not like every other motel and hotel or B&B. Over the years since we opened, our greatest attraction for guests has been our uniqueness - owners on site seeing personally to the guests needs 24/7. At least one of these guests was a returning guest from the same time last year. Upon their arrival, we were told by this group that they were here because of the wonderful time the group last year had. During their stay, we interacted frequently and sometimes at length - much of it dealing with suggestions for dinner and directions to various locations/places in the area. We arraged for a 6-hour wine tour, which these guests raved about when they returned. When they went to the restaurant we suggested for dinner, they advised upon return that the restaurant suggestion was "spot on". The second night they decided to cook out on our smoker/grill [which we provide charcoal and lighter fluid gratis]. They raved about their experience with the cookout and the fire pit afterwards. Last year the returning guest and her girlfriends stayed in the suite and a couple of queen rooms. Nothing has changed except more decorating, which all the guests love. Each of the rooms is decorated in a southern cottage decor/shabby chic - and the white wood trim is done purposely as part of that style of decorating. The writer is correct - we do not provide the typical small vials of shampoo, etc. Instead, we provide full size bars of quality soap and liquid soap - but shampoo and tooth paste, etc is available should a guest forget theirs. We do this because, in our experience, most people these days are bringing their own, but we keep some handy for those who are without. Again, the writer is correct - we use floor model A/C units. We have excellent base board hot water heat, which our guests love, and we didn't want to tear out this system to install forced air ductwork which is a haven for bacteria and germs. Anyone who knows about us knows that we have the highest rating in this area for accommodations - and have the cleanest rooms of any place in the Finger Lakes. We also didn't want to spoil the integrity of the building by using window units, which are unsightly and noisy - and block the wonderful views from these rooms.. The writer is correct about breakfast - we do not serve breakfast - we provide fresh ground gourmet coffee and tea. Our ad points this out - that breakfast is provided off site at a wonderful place a few minutes from us. As the returning guest knows - we provide this coffee and tea each morning from 7:30am on. These guests, however, went out on the first morning at 7:00am and found some coffee locally. To accommodate them the next morning, we offered to give them enough fresh ground coffee for 2 pots in the suite - plus half-and half, and sugar. We provided an electric skillet and other items so they could prepare breakfast in the suite. I'm not familiar with any hotels, motels, or B&B's that do this for their guests. Throughout the second evening, as the guests were cooking out or enjoying the fire pit, they were asked several times if there was anything they needed or that we could do for them. We provided whatever they requested and they said over and over what a wonderful time they were having. In addition, there is a 2nd A/C unit in the suite if needed, and no one asked for it or mentioned having any discomfort. Last summer, during peak season, with nearly 100% occupancy, we had 10 weeks straight of high temps and drought - not once during that stretch did anyone feel they needed the 2nd A/C unit in the suite. On the morning of their departure, we had plenty of conversation with each of the people in this group. They were very, very complementary. The men and women even got out of the car voluntarily to give Brenda a hug and thank her for a wonderful time. Not once in 2 days/evenings did anyone in this group of 6 come to us to point out any concern they had, other than they would like coffee at 7am. We enjoyed our time with these guests - they seemed like very nice folks. This review is the last thing we expected. By comparison, we also had a family reunion of 14 people the same weekend. Their 5-star review appears next to this one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Pat and Brenda definitely bring Southern hospitality to the Finger Lakes at the Savannah House. They greeted us like family and treated us like family during our stay. As first time Finger Lakes visitors, we were very happy with our location on Lake Seneca (within walking distance of a few wineries and close to many more by car). We made s'mores in the fire pit that Brenda lit each night and enjoyed the beautiful views of the property out back. Pat gave us great recommendations for places to eat and wineries to visit. We definitely recommend staying here for clean, Southern inspired rooms and a great location. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Having lived in Philadelphia at one time, we are always happy to have guests from there, and to be able to share experiences of the city. You were wonderful guests, and we enjoyed our time with you. Thank you very much for your very nice comments, and please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Savannah House Inn was exactly what we needed- clean, convenient, reasonable. Our suite for the four of us had more space than we expected, gorgeous views, and Pat and Brenda were super friendly and hospitable. We didn't realize the dinner included in our package was actually at a great local restaurant, and the futon was a little uncomfortable. We appreciated the hosts warm welcome, recommendations, and beautiful accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannonFoshiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

It is great to see your comments about your stay. You certainly were a lively group :) We're very happy that you all had a great time, and we appreciate very much that you took the time to share your experience with those considering staying with us in the future. We look forward to seeing you all again at various times with your significant others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Thank you Pat and Brenda.You are wonderful people.Very clean and cozy place to stay.Will be back in the fall for our 3rd stay at your cottages.Beautiful view of lake from kitchen while having our breakfast.Our dog Rexy gives two paws up for Wild Flower cottage.Roxanne and Tony

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxanne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

If Rexy enjoyed it at the Wild Flower, that's all that matters :) It's always nice to have you return and to have your friendship. We are pleased that you enjoy our little jewel so much - and that you take such good care of it. Thank you for your wonderful comments. It means a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himrod
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
20.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
10.9 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
213 reviews
13.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,253 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savannah House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savannah House Inn

Address: 3927 State Rd 14, Himrod, NY 14842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Himrod
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Himrod
Price Range: $111 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Savannah House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savannah House Inn on Seneca Lake opened in July 2008, and is uniquely decorated in a southern cottage style décor. Our rooms are private, exceptionally clean, and our guests have commented that the rooms feel like oxygen, fresh air, and like home. They often say that their sleep was the best they had experienced in a long time. More than a bed and breakfast or the average hotel or motel, The Savannah House Inn offers the ambiance of a bed and breakfast with the privacy and amenities of a romantic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Savannah House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savannah House Hotel Himrod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing