We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Sister's Bachelorette Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Savannah House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Himrod B&B and Inns
Albany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Sister's Bachelorette Weekend”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Spent the weekend at The Savannah House in for my sister's bachelorette party. They offered a great package for myself and all of the girls in our group. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The service was great and the owners, Brenda and Pat, are so helpful and eager to please. They went out of their way to answer our questions and help make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbanyJSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We have many bachelorette getaways here and your group was a joy. All the girls were very friendly and seemed to have a good time, which pleases us. Perhaps you each will have the opportunity to return with your significant others. Thanks for being such nice guests and for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    48
    10
    13
    14
See reviews for
39
151
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night, May 27th, 2012. I researched a few places on line and chose this place based on the pictures and reviews. Much to my surprise they had a room available at the last minute and I was excited since my boyfriend and I don't usually have time to get away. When we checked in, we were pleasantly surprised by how nicely the room was decorated and it was very clean. Also had a mini fridge, microwave, and directTV. Pat recommended a nice winery and a restaurant for dinner, both of which were great. The chief complaint I have is that we paid $178 (tax included) for this room and the only thing they offered was coffee in the morning, not even a piece of fruit or a danish. A few other disappointments were that Pat had told us that sometimes they would have a fire and people would sit around the fire talking until midnight and that sounded like a great idea to us. While no promises were made, it seemed reasonable for us to expect this would happen since we had been told they had many guests staying that night and the weather was perfect. Needless to say, there was no fire that night. Maybe because it was a Sunday? The website also said there were spectacular lake views, yeah if you have binoculars. The lake could be seen, but it was quite a long distance away. The motel itself is located right on Rte. 14, it is a few miles from the lake. Overall, we were disappointed and will not be staying again. The website and reviews made the Savannah House Inn sound like a must have experience, but it was simply a pretty room for us to sleep in and if that was all we wanted we could have found that for alot less expense.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
We have a 2-night minimum, which we explained at the time of reservation - but the guest only wanted one night. After some discussion, we agreed to do one night, but at a higher rate. Our normal rate is $149/night - they paid $159 plus tax [$178.08]. They were also advised that check in time was 4:00pm - despite that, they arrived at 11:30am - shortly after the previous guest departed. The lake is not 2 miles away - it's a 10 to 15 minute walk - and we always advise our guests that we are not water front, but our property extends half way to the lake. This is the first time since we opened that anyone has made a remark like this. As for the fire, we always do the fire pit whenever our guests request one. All the wood, etc for the fire is kept by the fire pit, and many of our guests will help themselves and start a fire on their own. On the night in question, this guest made no request, and had stayed in the room, including dinner, which they had delivered. Given this, we felt that they did not want to be disturbed - and we do not knock on our guests doors for this purpose. Normally guests will tell us that they are interested in having a fire and we gladly do it. None of the concerns raised in this review were brought to our attention while they were here. After their departure, we found the room a mess, including towels that were so dirty, we had to throw them away. It appeared that someone may have used one towel to clean their shoes. This almost never happens here - in fact, our guests are so impressed with the rooms and the linens, etc, that they often make their beds before departing - not something we ask them to do - they just do it. Given that this guest highlighted how exceptional their room was, it's amazing that they would treat it as they did. Unlike these guests, who we made an exception for, our normal guests are consistently respectful and appreciative of what we provide. Their reviews reflect this. Needless to say, we are delighted that these guests who did this review have promised not to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We loved the atmosphere as we walked on to the property. We were immediately greeted by Brenda whose warm welcome set the pace for the rest of the stay. The rooms were impeccably clean and comfortable. The beds provided three great night of sleep and we both agreed that it was as if the beds were made of baby butts and angel hair. My girlfriend an I spent our nights either enjoying the comfort of the room, chatting by the fire with Pat and Brenda, our gracious hosts; or sitting out on the property bathing in the great view. Brenda's earth mother spirit charmed us and Pats bearish wisdom of the surrounding area kept us informed and at peace. We would recommend this inn to anyone who enjoys quiet nights in clean rooms, and a lovely atmosphere to relax in after a day of hiking or biking.

Room Tip: We had the pleasure of staying in the suite and the queen sized room. Both were of utmost quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHoke, Owner at The Savannah House Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
What a wonderful comment. Lauren and her significant other were a pleasure to have stay with us, as are most all of our guests. Up to this point we haven't commented on all of our 5-star reviews, but we decided to do so more often because of this review. Upon reading it, Brenda was brought to tears [of joy]. We do not do this to earn a living - we don't need to. We do it to make a difference, and the company of these guests plus their review is very fulfilling for us. We have wonderful guests - this is a great example of what they're like. Thank you Lauren - Pat and Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Area
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just returned from an amazing weekend at the Finger Lakes and the reason we had so much fun can be directly attributed to the proprietors of the Savannah House Inn, Pat and Brenda! Before we even arrived I sent an e-mail asking about the best bicycle store and Pat responded quickly and directed us to visit Geneva Bike Shop- an amazing place where we mapped out a cycling tour for the weekend. We arrived in the early evening to a warm welcome from Brenda. She escorted us to our room, the Salt Water Taffy room, decorated entirely in pink! My boyfriend did not seem thrilled but everyone laughed about how he would fit in like a bull in a china shop. Brenda certainly has a knack not only for decorating but also for gauging personalities and making everyone feel so welcome! She took one look at us and could tell that we were low key and directed us to a few local haunts in Himrod which had extremely good atmosphere and food! Don't miss the Himrod Eagle and the Dairyman's Diner-make sure you try the buckwheat cakes(locally milled in Penn Yan)
I could not stop raving about them! We had a blast exploring the lakes and wineries and spent quiet evenings watching the sun set over the vineyards across the way. Upon our departure Brenda gifted me with a bag of buckwheat flour (!) and warmly hugged us goodbye. I almost shed a tear when we pulled away, feeling like I was saying goodbye to family. They even sent a short and scarf I left in the room back to me. We can't wait for our fall foliage trip! Hopefully our friends will join us this time at the Savannah House:)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchieNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed in the motel part of Savannah House. Although it looks like an ordinary motel from the outside, Brenda has decorated the rooms with care and inspiration. The colors of the room, choice of linens, and other decorative touches create an atmosphere -- in addition to the fabulous view from the back window -- that is soothing and very pleasant indeed. The grounds are lovely and the whole area is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watervliet, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I rented a lake house on Perry Point through The Savannah House for my daughter's wedding weekend on Seneca Lake. The house was exactly what the pictures showed on the website. We stayed in a large four bedroom house that was right on the lake. From the living and dining rooms all you can see is the lake. The view was breath taking. The house was spotless with all the amenities of home. All of the bedrooms were good sized and the master bedroom has its own bath. We were very comfortable and would recommend the Savannah House to anyone looking for a great place to stay on the lake. By the way, the hot tub was an added bonus.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We all really enjoyed our stay at Savannah House Inn last November 2011!! It is charming place with a beautiful view. The owners Pat and Brenda make you feel like you are home with their touches and try to appease to your needs every moment.

They start your mornings with the most delicous coffee and teas and they end your day with a cozy fire so that we got sit with our friends... all 16 of us! They reccomended wonderful eating establishments and of course the vineyards.

The rooms are incredibly clean and very cozy for two. We stayed in the sute and so that our friends can come share breakfast with us in our big kitchen and living room.

If there is any concern or any need you might have... Pat and Brenda sure know how to accomidate you!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himrod
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
20.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
10.9 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,203 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
3.4 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savannah House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savannah House Inn

Property: The Savannah House Inn
Address: 3927 State Rd 14, Himrod, NY 14842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Himrod
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Himrod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Savannah House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savannah House Inn on Seneca Lake opened in July 2008, and is uniquely decorated in a southern cottage style décor. Our rooms are private, exceptionally clean, and our guests have commented that the rooms feel like oxygen, fresh air, and like home. They often say that their sleep was the best they had experienced in a long time. More than a bed and breakfast or the average hotel or motel, The Savannah House Inn offers the ambiance of a bed and breakfast with the privacy and amenities of a romantic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Savannah House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savannah House Hotel Himrod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing