We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun and comfort on a budget!”
Review of Silvanus Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hillsdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silvanus Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hillsdale
Anacortes, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fun and comfort on a budget!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nothing cookie-cutter here! This lovingly restored mid-century small motel sparkles with cleanliness, comfort, creativity, and charm! Sure, the rooms are small compared to current expectations, but your room opens onto a massive, private field, outdoor pool, patio chairs and hanging flowers! Sip your morning coffee or tea in real mugs and you plan you visit to plentiful sites of the Berkshire or the Hudson Valley. Your host is wonderful and extremely helpful--going out his way to really make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyed. Why spend $300 plus for a bed and breakfast when you could enjoy a flash from the past (but better--with lots of style and design! for just over $100.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanOntheGo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSteele, Owner at Silvanus Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
THANK YOU... you have many reviews; your comments count for a lot! We love "positive" guests - so much easier to please!!! Best of all, thanks for recognizing the "value". We think it is still pretty expensive to be here, but we are pretty good for the area. The goal is to have someone leave feeling like they got what they paid for. Happy guests = happy owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    27
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
24
55
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

at first glance "OMG the room it tiny"... but this place will grow on you... really. It's near everything and the grounds make up for the small room. By the end of our stay it didn't even seem tiny. Cute room. we made a frog a"friend" in the pool - honest it was hanging out with us. we really enjoyed this place.

Room Tip: rooms are small, but it's still a great value. All rooms seem about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank partygirlhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSteele, Owner at Silvanus Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Wow!!! This is another of those reviews we LOVE. You have reviewed tons of places, and you included us in your recommendations. This is an honor. Thanks for the candor too. Many guests have said they the have read our reviews and they know what to expect when they get here. This is a great service you provide. We hope you come again soon so that we and serve you some more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in mid august. We were so happy to find this place. The lodge is run by its owner, a trully nice guy named Steele.

We loved the room, the view, the peacefulness, the town, the bed, the early morning coffee, the TV, the small details like a huge bottle of water for 75 cents, the friendly disposition…If you are coming to Hillsadale you will do no better than the Silvanus...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaimeTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSteele, Owner at Silvanus Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Okay, my goal is to visit Puerto Rico within the next six months, visit your business there, and be the perfect guest - just as the two of you were. Then I'll come back and write up that perfect TA review as you have. If only all the world was so wonderful! Thank you, and I hope you come back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

my friend and i loved staying with steele andrews , a real gentleman - at his wonderful little lodge- - we are two women and felt safe and very comfortable - we happened to hit the hottest weather of the summer and we were so happy to be able to cool off in the sparkling clean pool - i love mid century anything and was immediately drawn to the lodge when i first saw the place - i know i will return and i feel like steele is a new friend - we were in the area because of the friends of the farmer festival and thoroughly enjoyed being able to explore hudson ny and great barrington mass in between the activities and relax and cool off in such a peaceful place - if you are looking for some slick boutique hotel this is not the place for you - but if you want to be in the area and prefer a little motel with some patina on it , clean and comfortable and a charming hotelier - this is the place for you - i can't wait to go back and i will -

Room Tip: just talk to steele about what you would like - it's a question of beds - i believe all the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSteele, Owner at Silvanus Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I've noticed that the nicest people seem to see things in a far greater light... I'm not sure we deserve all the kind words, but we accept them gladly. How do we find more just like you??? Someday we'll figure out a safe and friendly way to accept pets again... till then, we still hope you will return. Having guests like yourself is what makes this business fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Silvanus Lodge is reasonable, very clean, appealingly decorated, and in a perfect location-- green and quiet, as well as geographically central to the Berkshires and Columbia County attractions. We were very happy with everything-- and I should note that the owner kindly stayed up to let us in when we arrived much later than anticipated. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JATJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSteele, Owner at Silvanus Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
As it was nice having you here as well. Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor. The money is nice... but the kind words go a long, long way. Kind of makes up for those days that start at 4 a.m. and end at midnight. :) Please... come again, even late. Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very affordable place to stay! This lodge is just what we were looking for! the room was clean , decorated nicely , not tacky. Fresh roses in the room was such a nice touch.
Steele, the owner was very helpful on our 1st visit to Hillsdale,N.Y.
We look forward to returning to our Hillsdale Hidaway.
Don't Miss This Place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingried J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSteele, Owner at Silvanus Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Still waiting for your return! Glad you enjoyed the roses... we pick them up when they are on sale, OR when we have some special guests coming in. It was nice having you here and do hope for a speedy return. Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed there in May and were pleasantly surprised. It is an economical and charming place to stay-and relax. Although the rooms are not large- they are immaculate. They have cool, not cookie cutter, art deco eclectic furniture. The beds are super comfortable with feather pillows. The rooms have a refrigerator and the perfect basket of snacks (at very reasonable prices). We loved that it is a small hotel, but situated on a huge bucolic expanse of green grass and hills. We loved that the room has an outdoor patio and is a wonderful and quiet place to relax. Steele, the owner is so gracious and helpful. You get a sense of personal service, unlike any other place we have stayed. We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSteele, Owner at Silvanus Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! One thing we do lack is refrigerators in the guest rooms - something we would like to resolve someday. Limited space and electric in the vintage buildings can be a challenge sometimes. The best part of the motel is the area. There is a wealth of things to do for the adventurer that likes to go find things. It is never ending. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillsdale
7.9 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
661 reviews
9.1 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
370 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 10 in Great Barrington
178 reviews
16.4 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday House Motel
Holiday House Motel
#2 of 2 in Hillsdale
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvanus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvanus Lodge

Property: Silvanus Lodge
Address: 9350 State Route 22, Hillsdale, NY 12529-5009
Location: United States > New York > Hillsdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hillsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgy - yet friendly lodging, imaginative, wonderful country experience - peaceful and great for the happy adventurer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silvanus Hotel Hillsdale
Silvanus Motel Hillsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing